We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Martin's Brugge to your Saves list
Martin's Brugge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
blackpo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently stayed in the Martins for 3 nights and the location was excellent. I don't know the exact price as it was part of a travel/hotel package but as the package represented good value, then I guess the price was approx. £100 per night for a double?
The hotel is located right behind the Belfry and therefore about 200 metres into the main square. The reception staff were very friendly and the rooms were a good size and very comfortable. Breakfast was a fairly standard continental affair but good enough to set you up for the day. The bar opens at 1700 and there is an happy hour from 2000-2100 when all drinks are half price - a real bonus in Bruges where prices in the Square are pretty high. However, on the night that we went in, the barman was very poor and out of keeping with the rest of the hotel staff.
Our only complaint is the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room and this may be one of the reasons it is only a 3 star hotel?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    883
    234
    73
    24
See reviews for
196
995
38
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, super friendly, sparkling clean, everything in walking distance. We loved our stay at this hotel. Fun and relaxing. No hesitation recommending this hotel ..quiet except for non stop bell ringing from towers.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, id
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location is right behind the market square and bell tower. Room was comfortable, I would recommend not to open the window because the mosquitos will come in. I was bitten many times and had a horrible night, but I would recommend this hotel, no problems otherwise.

Room Tip: Keep your windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in Martin's Brugge from the 29 Sept to 2 Oct. We booked through hotels.com and the rate was $112/night. We thought this was great. The hotel was very comfortable and clean and the location couldn't have been better! We were literally right behind the Markt Square- we just crossed the road and went through the gate to the other side of the Belfry. It was perfect. The only downside to the room we had was that it was small. Luckily, the both of us had backpacks and we had enough room to put those down. If there were 2 people and they both had suitcases, there would be issues. I can't comment on breakfast or parking as we didn't use either.

Room Tip: We had room 714. While small, it was clean and the bed was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Returned in August after spending 5 days 4 nights in Martin’s hotel Bruges booked via Riviera Travel. Group of six adults aged 58 – 70.

We travel by train from Newcastle upon Tyne into Kings Cross then crossed over the road to St Pancras to pick up the Eurostar. Once on Eurostar our guide introduced herself (Denise) and gave us all instructions on what to do when the train arrived in Lille. Once in Lille smooth transfer over to coach and then on to Bruges which took one hour. On the way to Bruges our guide gave us lots of information about the place and also what would happen over the next couple of days.

Check in at the hotel again went smoothly and into our room quite quickly. Room and bathroom not large but for us had everything you needed and very clean, don’t expect any views as our window gave you a lovely view of the air conditioning units, but not bothered about this as out of the room all day. Breakfast was self service with all the normal items such as fruit, yogurt, cereal, different breads, sausage, bacon, beans, tomatoes, no fired eggs but scrambled and boiled and teas, coffee and fruit juice. Dishes cleared away quickly and again very clean. Location wise the hotel is very central within walking distance for everything and the hotel also has free Wi-Fi.

We did go on the walking tour which was very interesting but did not go into the brewery which was an extra charge. We also took the tour to Ypres which again was very good and also very informative with Denise giving commentary all the time with lots of information.

We found Bruges very interested and a lovely place but also expensive which I suppose any European city would be. As a group on an evening we like to have a drink then go for our meal but found that at after 9.00 lots of places that we would have liked to have tried were closing up. We would suggest that if you have found a restaurant that you would like to go to then take the number and book. The Olive Tree has good reviews on Trip Advisor and it is very close to the hotel, we did try on our second night but at 9.15 they could not take us (turn right out of the hotel then at end of the street turn left and its only a couple of feet away on the other side of the road).

Our group all enjoyed the holiday, thought our guide was good and generally had no complaints about the hotel. We did have two issues in that on the day of departure our group did not leave until 4.00 pm and had been told that our luggage would be put in a locked room. This did not happen, an area was sectioned off in the reception but as more and more luggage placed there anyone could have just walked off the street and picked up a case. Also on the day we left the weather was appalling, the rain was bouncing off the pavement. We still went out and had a drink and lunch but when we came back to the hotel the reception area was very full and it’s an area with not many seats and most people just standing around. It would maybe have been an idea to open up the bar area, not necessarily open the bar, but just to let people sit while waiting to get on the coach. All in all a good holiday and we would try Riviera Travel again and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel last week for three nights. It is in a great central location in Brugge and everywhere is within easy walking distance. The hotel staff are really helpful and speak perfect English. The hotel is very clean and tidy and the buffet breakfast is excellent. The bar man is a really nice individual and his customer service is of the highest quality - Many Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the hotel which is perfectly located for visiting all the sites. The hotel is very modern and excellent facilities, staff, breakfast, bar and enclosed patio area. The staff were excellent in all areas. Underground parking is available which is essential but rather expensive. Our room was a little small but acceptable for a short stay in a central location. Satellite TV & WiFi excellent. Eating out in Bruges centre is very expensive and poor value for money with one exception, one must eat at 'The Olive Tree' Wollestraat 3 - excellent home made Greek cuisine with outstanding service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich décor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel.Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.