We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Brugge

Save Saved
You added Martin's Brugge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Penicuik
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Central and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have visited Bruges a few times in the past, if I went back I would definitely check out Martin's first.
Could not be more central but in a quiet side street. Modern accommodation. Staff helpful. Car parking on site.
Breakfast includes cooked food and is excellent. Staff continually clearing and preparing the tables. The bar has a great atmosphere.
So many sites in Bruges are easily in walking distance, but beware the cobbles.
Horse carriages take tourists round and the canal boats give a different view of the sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    698
    189
    62
    20
See reviews for
148
760
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel before, and, whilst I wasn't wildly impressed last time around, the offer I found on the room was enough to being me around n this trip.

However, the problems we'd had last time seem to have been somewhat magnified in the last two years: despite turning up to check in at the time specified (3pm), it took us three tries to check into our room! The first time, it simply wasn't ready, the second, there was a problem with the linen, and, on the third (three hours later), we were finally able to check in and change out of our travelling clothes. I wouldn't have minded so much, but there was no apology at all!

The room was fine, though the plumbing was noisy through the night, and the shower was pretty anaemic. The breakfast was delicious, and good value at twelve Euros each.

My overwhelming impression, though, was that the staff just don't really care that much one way or the other about their patrons, so, if service is an important part of your hotel stay, I'd give Martin's a miss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Martins is really well located and is literally 100 metres walk from The Markt and Belfry. The rooms whilst not the biggest are comfortable and very clean. The only down side is the cost of breakfast so beware. If you don't book breakfast the night you arrive it will cost you a rip off 17euros however if you book when you check in or at least the night before it will cost 12 euros. Not sure how they can justify a 5 euro hike when there is space and food to be eaten. Drinks in the bar are not cheap either but I would stay again. Its 3 star and I think it probably rates 3.5 but thats a matter of opinion

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Martin's Hotel in Bruges as part of a package trip. The hotel is very well located near to the Markt Square. The hotel only provides breakfast but this was very well presented, choice of hot food, bacon, beans, boiled eggs, or cereals and yoghurt, and also traditional continental breakfast of cold meat, cheeses and a selection of breads. The room was very comfortable, double bed with two single quilts, the shower over the bath worked well. Safe in the room and a mini bar, used the safe but not the mini bar. Air conditioning in the room which we didn't really need to use as it wasn't hot but when we left the door/window open we were visited by a mosquito and I suffered from 4 bites, so the door/window was kept closed and the air conditioning on. Bar prices quite expensive, but then Bruges is fairly expensive anyway. We didn't have a lot to do with the hotel staff in general so no comment to make on their customer service but the bar staff were very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Booked this hotel for 2 nights on the way back from France to the uk and thought to visit the lovely city. (driving from calais to brugge is so easy)

Booked the hotel through lastminute.com for a good price and the reviewsseemed good on trip advisor. We arrived at the hotel at approx 6pm on the evening checked in quickly and got into our room to get ready and go out. the room itself was clean and tidy and fairly new it seemed with a nice tv,comfy bed and a safe in the room which was free to use. the tv had the english channels some french and the local channels also. we never had breakfast so cant really comment but seemed popular. the hotel location was perfect and right in the middle of everything which was brilliant for exploring etc. few bad bits amount the hotel the car parking was 25 euros per night!!! which we think was a little bit much also the first morning got woken up by a large wagon with a skip thing on the back been unloaded of sand etc for hours from 6:45am!! and the second morning the hotel drinks delivery wagon outside at 7:30-8am we would have thought the hotel staff could have reminded them its a hotel and people were sleeping (or trying!!) other than that i would stay here again and maybe park in the carpark by the ibis/novotel for 9 euros a night and them 2 reasons are why i have given it number 4 rating.

A little for people visiting brugge also.... the food in restaurant is all of similar price and warning its not cheap, we had 2 beers, 2 cokes, local stew, fish, and had to order chips on the side seperate as the get nothing else on the plate and for all that 75 euro!!! and this is standard in brugge. the next day we have fries for lunch and some fruit and then for dinner went to the quick restaurant (like macdonalds) in the square and paid 17 euro for 2 large meals! which seems to be a popular place.
Chocolate shops are all over the small city and have some amazing chocolates including chocolate penis, boobs, vaginas!!!! but normal chocolates and truffles also - the price per kilo was approx 18 euro which worked out to be about 60 chocolates which is great as they are amazing!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at Martin’s Brugge recently for a long weekend. It’s position is perfect being just along from Markt Square right in the middle of this absolutely beautiful historic city centre and within an easy walk of all the cultural attractions together with fantastic bars/restaurants [some of our favourites being 't Brugs Beertje, Kemelstraat 5; Couvert, Eekhoutstraat 17; Delisa, Jan van Eyckplein 7].

We were on the 2nd floor in the newer part of the hotel at the back of the courtyard and whilst we didn’t have a spectacular view, we heard the chimes of the bells from the Belfry & were never disturbed by other noise.

Our room was perfect for our needs. Clean, warm but with air con should the need arise, spacious enough & a massive bed with one of the most comfortable mattresses I’ve slept on in a hotel for quite some time. There’s a safe in the room and also a mini bar but to be honest we didn’t use it so can’t comment on contents or cost. Finally for the room, the shower was amazing!

Our rate included breakfast which was well worth getting up for. Plenty of choice, both hot & cold dishes and in a lovely dining area which, although busy still felt comfortable.

We used Martin’s Bar one night for nightcaps and it was a very pleasant friendly place to have a drink. On the night we were there, a group of friends were having a bit of a session and the atmosphere was lovely.

All the staff we encountered were professional, friendly & very helpful. The extra little touches around & about the hotel made it feel of a higher standard than a 3 star and we would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting Bruges.

The hotel is probably a 25+ minute walk from the station but we got a bus very easily from right outside the station to the centre & then walked to the hotel [take a map with you to help]. Returning is simplicity itself as the bus stop is a mere 3 minute walk from the hotel on Markt Square & two buses go to the station from there. If you buy your ticket in advance they cost 1.20 euro each or 2 euros if paying on the bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Four of us planned for the stay and unfortunately the hotel was double booked. Two days before travelling I realised the mistake but was also aware that we have gone past the cancellation deadline by a few hours. I phoned up the hotel immediately explaining the situation asking for a cancellation without full penalty, since it was a genuine mistake and we would be staying in the hotel anyway, except that we needed two rooms, not four!

The guy on the phone spent a long time taking away all the details so to check with his superior, then came back with a plain no. Not only I was charged for two rooms for the first night stay, but also at a rate which was higher than the quoted daily rate.

The hotel is in a very good location with reasonably good facilities. I rate it poorly on service and value because of the high price we ended up paying as well as their cold, impersonal approach handling customer requests. Yes it was a mistake on our side, but other hotels in the same area, if booked via the website booking.com, operate on free cancellation within 24 hours, whilst they are on 48 hours; The room rate I was offered was a discounted rate, but the penalty was charged at full price... I wouldn't choose the hotel or its chain hotels again as it is unlikely they will try and reach out for customers facing with difficulties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
#38 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich décor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel.Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.