We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central in Bruges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Martin's Brugge to your Saves list
Martin's Brugge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Central in Bruges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

stayed at Martins over New Years (Dec 12 to Jan 13) booked through a Eurostar package. Found the hotel to be clean, reasonably priced and VERY central. Rooms on the 4th floor had high ceilings, large bathrooms, and great views across the town which meant we had a view across the town of the fireworks on New Years Eve. The room lacked the basic kettle (for tea/coffee making), however there is a vending machine in the basement for hot beverages. The hotel breakfast was mediocre, but being so central there were dozens of other options on the doorstep. (er, yes, chocolate and beer ARE breakfast options for team monkey when on holiday).
The location really recommends this hotel, it is seriously just steps away from the old square.

Room Tip: top floor rooms for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    883
    235
    73
    24
See reviews for
196
997
38
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice now, it's fab. Can't praise the staff enough. Location could not be better and if you drive as Isis the free parking is a must

I would not hesitate to recommend here to anyone.
Now. Truthfully how many hotels can you say that about?

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcheldean
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our trip to Bruges was booked through Eurostar and we chose to stay at the Martins Hotel in the centre of the city. The location is perfect for sightseeing and everything of interest is easily within walking distance, including the outer limits of the old city to see the windmills. The hotel is quite modern and we found the staff very helpful and courteous, the room clean and warm and the facilities quite adequate for our needs. Not luxury but certainly pleasant and sufficient. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food, preferring to dine out at some of the many local eateries to experience the local food and hospitality. We would be happy to recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel and early morning traffic noise was a slight problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked this through Eurostar and got a great deal for a weekend away. The hotel is right behind the Belfort (the bells are not as disturbing as you might think, though we asked for a room at the back just in case) and near to Markt and Burg squares - although in Bruges everything is near everything else. The staff were friendly and unobtrusive, the room was clean warm (if anything too warm but it was minus 5 outside), we had a standard room - I suppose you could call it "basic" but it had a double bed, TV, storage, shower and bath - what more do you want? I conceded that the view of the courtyard at the back was uninspirational but to quote my boyfriend "If you want inspiration get out of the bloody room and walk around the fantastic city you've come to visit!"

You can get a bus from the train station but we walked quite easily and despite us getting lost a couple of times it wasn't far.

The only minor complaints (which didn't spoil our experience) were the temperature of the room at night, the lack of tea and coffee making facilities, and that sound travels quite well - but that's more the other guests that I would blame, from the noises at four in the morning on our last night the people above us had an early flight and only decided to pack when they got up for it. Annoyingly the boyfriend slept through it. A note that may be irrelevant now, but in January in Bruges a lot of restaurants and shops seemed to be closed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located in Bruges. However the accomodation would only average. The room we stayed in was off a courtyard at the back of the hotel and it was very basic. It was dimly lit and lacked some basic facilities. I would only recommend this hotel if you are looking for a central location in the city but stay clear if you are after comfort!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and my husband visited Brugge towards the end of November 2012 for my birthday. We booked the trip through Riveria Travel, and had a choice of staying at the Martins (3 star) and another hotel which was 4 star. Based on the review of both hotels, which chose Martins and I am so glad we did.

It was a lovely modern hotel, check-in and check-out were super speedy, and the staff very friendly and polite. The bar was a nice place to chill at the end of a day exploring, the beer goes down very well and so do the 'Nibbles' that the bat provides with your drinks.

In terms of location I don't think you could get a better hotel, it was central to everything we needed and was situated right by the belfry. The breakfast was included with our booking and I have seen some reviews, where its recommended you to go elsewhere for breakfast at its quite expensive at the Martins. I would probably agree, but that depends on what you like to eat, you cannot fault the Martins for the range of drinks, cereals, breads and pastries, and a small selection of cooked breakfast items. But you would probably think the breakfast expensive if you only chose a couple of items.

The cleanliness of the hotel and the rooms were spot on. The facilties within the room were great, english channels on the TV, air-con, powerful shower, free safe and the usual toileteries. We also had no issues acessing the free wi-fi. It is worth mentioning that you do not get tea and coffee making facilities within the room, but as we were aware of this before we travelled it was not a nasty suprise. Our room was on the second floor and was an ideal size, it overlooked the front of the hotel and it is worth metioning that the street was quite noisey (traffic on the cobbled roads etc). However, the windows were double glazed and once shut, did block out most of the noise.

Brugge itself it beautiful, I couldn't get over how clean it was, the people were really friendly and I would recommend that you visit the brewery for a tour and a glass of beer - Brugge Zott at the end. The brewery tour guide (a lady) was very funny and clealy passionate about belgium beer. There were lots of great inexpensive places to eat, and I would recommend you try some of the Flemish dishes. I would without hesitation go back to Brugge and would stay at the Martin's Hotel.

Room Tip: You need second or third floor room, any higher and I think ceiling height becomes an issue. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Got a double room on a really good rate, and was really impressed. Nothing extravagant here, just a really nice hotel, rooms were great, clean with comfortable beds & wi-fi.

Great location, right next to the Bell-Fry & the main square of Brugge so your central to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich décor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel.Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.