We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bring your car.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Martin's Brugge to your Saves list
Martin's Brugge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't bring your car.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed here for the 2011 European Quizzing Championships (in the Belfry, across the street). Very pleasant hotel. Comfortable, quiet, clean and well appointed. The breakfast was brilliant and I enjoyed the Bourgoine de Bruges (dark beer) in the bar.

Only cons - kicked out of the bar at midnight (actually, they probably did us a favour since late nights weren't compatible with top level quiz) and had major, major problems finding my way to the hotel from our car park, to pick up our gear. Only 5 minutes walk but 50 minutes driving, with a navigator and map, caught up in 1 way streets and dead ends. A nightmare. Leave the car at home and enjoy a delightful stay in the Martins otherwise.

Room Tip: If you're a single female, ask for a room in the front (main) part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    782
    203
    65
    21
See reviews for
171
877
32
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Islington, London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here for the European Quiz Championships. Hotel is clean, staff friendly and room was nice. Breakfast was great. It's slap bang in the middle of town right next to the Belfry so great location. The bar shut at midnight though and they were quick to move us on after that so maybe look elsewhere if you fancy a late one?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel Room was very small. No Wardrobes or Cupboards just a small rail with Four Coat Hangers. No Tea/Coffee making facilities.
Twice I asked at Reception for a Taxi and Twice no Taxi came. They told me the Taxi's were all busy. On the second occasion I went to a nearby Bar and they got me a Taxi without any problem.
The Cleaners were exceptionally loud and seemed to delight in shouting and slamming doors and on my last day one of the cleaners knocked at my door at waking me up 08:00 and asked me to vacate the room.
The one thing the Cleaners did not do is clean the Rooms properly. The Room was not properly cleaned once during my stay .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarabrugge, Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for having stayed in Martin's Brugge.

We have choosen to work with different reliable taxi companies, but if there is no taxi available at the moment, we can only call another taxi. We suggest to make the reservation in advance towards the taxi company.
The cleaning ladies do not start their work before 8 am. Theay first clean the rooms of guests that already left the hotel. Each guest can stay till 11 am in the room or even ask for a late check -out.
If there would be a problem with cleanliness, we would definitly take direct action.

Hopefully this is a helpful response.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Central. Great for short stay. Get a deal that includes the breakfast as nowhere close to get breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on inside quieter. Ask for more than 3 clothes hangers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is my third stay at Martins with the previous two being booked as part of a coach package company via Riveria. This year I booked independantly and whilst the location and hotel are good there were a couple of unfortunately surprises I had not picked up. The room was smaller with an inverted window that did not help. Additionally WiFi and breakfast were not included and as mentioned previously were expensive add ons. Therefore whilst the location was good and staff appeared helpful I would reconsider returning to this hotel if booking independantly which is a shame as I love Bruges as a town. I would look at alternatives if deciding to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarabrugge, Manager at Martin's Brugge, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear guest,

It's pleasant to read that you are a regular guest of Martin's Brugge.

Upon making the reservation, different issues are mentionned (room type, breakfast included or excluded, extra costs during the stay,...)

Reservations made through the website of Martin's Hotels - Martin's Brugge benefit so many extra advantages (FREE wifi, satelite television, advantage price for breakfast, standard and superior roomtypes)

It's good to compare your stay with alternatives and considering of coming back to Martin's Brugge.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We booked at the very last minute and got one of those infamous rooms ending in ‘-18’. Our room 118 was not exactly small – more, the bathroom was too big. Lop ½ meter from the width of the bathroom and the bathroom would still have been more than adequate and the bedroom and wardrobe space would have been considerably improved. If anything, our room was slightly larger than the other standard rooms. The pokey feel to the room was due to the decor and a small window with a narrow catwalk outside leading to an air conditioning unit. Lean out of the window and look up and you can just see the sky. Lean out further and you will bump your head on the solid brick wall opposite. Also, the room, as with all rooms in this hotel, lacked tea and coffee making facilities although there is a 3 euro a drink mini bar that is checked daily. The room included a free safe, was clean, the large bed was very comfortable and everything worked fine including the air conditioning unit. We heard no noise from the outside or from within the hotel - one of the quietest that we have visited.Everything in the bathroom was fine with towels and flannels changed daily if that is what you want (but not encouraged due to environmental considerations). There is no grab handle to help steady oneself when using the shower unit over the bath and this could be a slip hazard for any a bit unsteady on their feet. We discussed asking for an upgrade but the cost was the same as an evening meal out and as we spent most of our time in the room with our eyes shut, we didn’t bother. The room really is not that awful.
The deal that we had included breakfast and the eat and drink all you want buffet had everything needed for all nationalities and tastes including the British ‘fry up’. However, those on a room only basis and do not do big heavy breakfasts may consider the 17 euro cost a bit much.
The public areas and bar in this hotel are well up to 4 star standard and the chocolate drink night cap in the bar is not to be missed. This hotel has very good conference facilities so it is a very popular business venue as well as an excellent tourist hotel.
As mentioned in previous reviews, this hotel has the best position in town and only a 15 minute walk from the station.
All staff that we met were friendly, efficient and all spoke good English (including the cleaning staff). There is a secure luggage storage areas for those arriving early or leaving late.
If we go back to Bruges we will have no problems booking this hotel again and no problems with recommending it to friends. However, we will try to book earlier and request a room higher up and not any of the ‘-18’ rooms (but we wouldn’t be too fussed if that is what we got).
Bruges itself is brilliant. If you want to see Prague, Venice and York but can’t fit them all in over a single 4/5 day break, then Bruges is the place to go. Dead easy to get to via Eurostar. Be a bit careful with the local beer. Even the multi national brews are up to 50% stronger than the same branded stuff sold in the UK and most of the 1,000 odd beers available in this country are even stronger with some on par with a decent wine. These excellent beers are to be sipped slowly in small glasses and enjoyed, not guzzled back. The canals in this town have few safety barriers!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Step out of the front door of this hotel and you're at the rear of the Belfry building that dominates Markt square in the heart of Bruges. Turn right and you collide with chocolate shops and the alley thatleads to the famous 'most photographed spot' in Bruges. So Martin's is perfectly located.
The check-in and check-out was rapid and efficient, the staff friendly (especially the staff at the bar). The bed was comfortable, the room size acceptable, and the decor and overall feel of the place perfectly pleasant.
One trifling problem was that we couldn't get the aircon to work as, despite it being the very end of October, the room was unseasonably warm. Had to open the windows, which wasn't too good for street noise (not a big problem in Bruges, though). What material do they make modern hotels from that they hardly ever require heating?
Overall though - thumbs up.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Bruges
#30 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich décor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel.Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.