We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the fourth star?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Martin's Brugge to your Saves list
Martin's Brugge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Where's the fourth star?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Everything in this hotel may lead you to think that it's a four star hotel: the modern design, the atmosphere, the room quality, the cleaniness, the service, etc. And the price as well, unfortunately!
Moreover: location is excellent, just a few meters away from Bruges central square, and wifi was included in the rate I selected on their website.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    883
    234
    73
    24
See reviews for
196
995
38
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burton on trent
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Agree with general comments : great location, large comfortable bed, good b'fast choice and staff service.
Tip : take the lift up to the 4th floor and look for door marked Belvedere, follow stairs which take you up to a safe viewing platform over the Old Town.
Eating tip : Cambrinus, 5 Philipstockstraat, just off Markt, where you can dine heartily, they also do snacks and nibbles and have a children's menu. Also, rather daunting beer menu of 400 beers ! Also liked Curiosa, a wonderful vaulted 16th century cellar where we had a reasonably priced flemish stew (22 Vlamingstraat).
Beer tip : if you visit one Cafe/bar/pub for a beer i'd recommend Brugs Beertje ( the Little Bruges bear) friendly, cosy atmosphere with knowledgeable staff who'll help you out on beer choice from a bewildering choice. Great snacks too, the 5 local cheeses with bread makes an ideal accompanyment to a Trappist beer (5 Kemelstraat, off Steenstraat).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Whilst neither the premises or the staff can be faulted the fact that the hotel puts corporate guests above tourist guests let the it down very badly. My husband and I were booked in with a tour company and because the hotel had double booked a conference the rooms that we were allocated were appalling! - We had very little wardrobe space (a bar on the wall with 4 hangers and no draw space to speak off. Our neighbours room was so small they could only just move around the bed and the fridge was housed in the bathroom!! - This is a hotel I would definately avoid in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location....right in the centre of the old town it is within easy walking of numerous restaurants and bars and all of the major places of interest. Our room on the 4th floor was clean, modern and facing the bell tower (which wasn't a problem) but it was also surprisingly small.....I'm glad we were only staying for a few days! The breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold food, and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Also travelled with Riviera Travel. Very modern hotel. Echo comments about comfortable beds - they changed the mattresses in all the rooms on our floor (2nd) when we were there so they obviously take changing the beds seriously! There is a small minibar fridge in the bathroom under the washbasin where all drinks inside are 3 euros. There is room to store small amount of milk, etc. in it. Remember to take a kettle if you like a hot drink in your room. Breakfast best buffet I have had at a hotel.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed with Riviera Travel here. Clean hotel well located for central Bruges. Breakfast facilities very good. Standard rooms small but tidy, beds could have been more comfortable, bathroom fine - plenty of hot water & good showers. Noise from bell tower not a problem at back of hotel but air conditioners to conference rooms outside bedroom windows on 1st floor were intrusive a night. No restaurant but would recommend Belle Epoque, end of Zuidzandstraat near 'T Zand. Go for the Euro 20 offer meal.

Room Tip: 3rd floor back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Country
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Great little place, a real find! The staff are friendly and helpful, the decor is modern and the breakfast is first class. We would definitely stay there again. We were in a room looking towards the bell tower but the double glazing is so good that we heard nothing of the bells or passing traffic unless we opened the window. Traffic isn't really a problem at all, you just notice increased activity first thing when people are going to work. The only negative would be that the shower could do with a new shower head (room 113), but otherwise, we were well pleased. One more thing, depending on the time of year, if you like to sleep with windows open, at least keep the net curtain closed - it keeps the mozzies out!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich décor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel.Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin's Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.