We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip De'Medici Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip De'Medici Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Tulip De'Medici Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights at the beginning of April. The location is in a quiet part of town away from the main tourist area but close enough to reach within a 10 minute walk. We stayed in room 129 which had a nice view of the garden. During the day you could hear the birds chirping and school children playing at the school next door. We slept with the windows open each night and had no issue with the school bell. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was really large for what I was expecting. Everything was very clean as well!

We were able to get on the wifi in this room for free. It wasn't so great that I could watch a movie before bed on the iPad but it was perfect for looking up details of restaurants we wanted to visit. We only had to login once every 24 hours for the free internet access.

I would check with the hotel on the best bus route to get on to reach the hotel. We didn't and jumped off our bus at the Belfry then walked. When we left for the train station we just walked across to the other side of the canal running in front of the hotel and that took us directly to the station.

The breakfast buffet was a nice perk to the stay. The food wasn't amazing but it was satisfying and allowed us to eat a large portion in order to have enough energy for walking around the town.

Staff was very friendly and helpful with the few questions we had for them.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    270
    126
    31
    15
See reviews for
75
294
10
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stopped for 2 nights and had a great deal for this hotel and what a lovely hotel, room was great really big and comfortable good choice at breakfast nice staff and easy walk into centre. Bruges is a lovely place to visit and we would stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Pros - Excellent reception staff, great breakfast with lots of variety, comfortable good sized rooms, great location. Overall the hotel is decent, although it seems that they unsuccessfully tried to become a Japanese themed hotel with a garden and restaurant (closed).

Cons - The lifts are older than me and take longer than walking up the stairs, which are not the most hospitable, they wouldnt be out of place on a london council block. The wifi is limited to 1 hour at a time and you have to get a slip from reception. Seems pointless and an outdated system. Our sink plug closed and we couldnt get it out, and the hotel staff didnt bother either.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Tucked away just few minutes walk from centre, most rooms having canal or garden views. Rooms are varied but on the whole reasonably sized & clean. We stayed bed & breakfast, breakfast included lots of thing like fruits, toast, full English etc. juice, coffee & tea all self revive. Staff are friendly & free wifi is available in certain areas. A good base.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Hotel is in a very good position, near the town center and with lots of parckings just outside the building.
The staff is very kind and we have an excellent breakfast, included in the price.
For staying just one night without using the SPA and fitness center (that I think are included in the price of the room), is a little too expensive and it doesn't worth the cost.
Also, in a four star hotel, I would appreciate slippers available in the room (it's always nice to wake up in the morning or arriving in the evening and don't have to wear your own shoes).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had a great room at the top of the old part of the hotel overlooking the canal but spoilt by the noise of the lift at all times. Usual Bruges smell in the ground floor. Helpful staff especially at Reception. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Free wifi in the rooms is a welcome recent addition. Very handy for the town centre, just a few minutes walk. Garage Parking available but quite pricey at 15 Euros a night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel location is good. There is the possibility to park the car outside as well as inside. It has more of a 3 than a 4 star rating. Overall a bit of an older hotel. Room was spaceous but carpet was stained and bathroom was poor and there was not a constant hot water stream. I have certainly been in better 4 star hotels but for the price in low season it was not too bad. You have to pay for the spa.

Room Tip: When you make the reservation specify that you want a single bed if you do so. Although there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip De'Medici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip De'Medici Hotel

Address: Potterierei 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bruges
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip De'Medici Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip De'Medici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip De Medici Hotel
Golden Tulip Bruges
Bruges Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip De'Medici Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.