We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to visit Bruges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Brugge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Brugge to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Brugge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Lincoln
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location to visit Bruges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of it all it was worth every penny we paid!!! From the front door of the hotel, you walk out to the beautiful sites of Bruges. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was a perfect size for a family of four. We used this as a one night/day stop over on our way to Germany and I wish we could have stayed longer. Bruges is gorgeous and because of the location you don't have to drive anywhere while in Bruges. We will be planning another visit back before we move back to the states. If you like great beer, chocolate, Belgian waffles and intricate lace, Bruges it a great place to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    382
    76
    16
    8
See reviews for
284
393
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneve
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been pleased by my stay at the Bruges Crowne Plaza. I stayed there end of december 2013 with my wife and our 2 childrens in two contiguous rooms ont the 6th floor.
The rooms are large and very confortable. The hotel was quiet at night. It is wonderfully located in the center of Bruges, next to the Twonhall and groote markt.We enjoyed a little swim in the swimming pool located on the 8th floor. The morning breafast was a bit crowded but offered a large variety of hot and cold food. I would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: high floor and not on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We have visited Brugge many times, normally as a couple & stay at one of the boutique hotels that are fantastic in this town. however this year we took our children to the Xmas market so were looking for good quality but value hotel to stay in - the crowne plaza was all we needed with good helpful service, great central location and very reasonable price . We will stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Hollywood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Convenient, modern-ish and excellent hotel. This was probably the best stay I've had in a Crowne Plaza hotel! We took the bus from the train station, and the walk to the hotel was easier than I thought (less than 10 minutes on cobblestones).

The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. The gentleman who greeted us every time we walked in the hotel always had a pleasant smile and asked if we needed anything! We had a nice, clean and modern-ish room (given its locale). The hotel was built in what I assume to be an old building. It's centrally located in the Burg square, close to Basilica of Holy Blood of Christ and Markt.

Wifi was free which is great, plus we were greeted by welcome staples of mini snacks and bottled water on the house - this goes a long way when you are a weary traveler.

We didn't opt for the breakfast option since it was a hefty 23 euros per person, but given that Bruges is a somewhat expensive city, that seemed par for the course for a hotel breakfast price. There are plenty of options around the immediate area for food.

Lots of nice touches like aromatherapy sleep aids and chocolate on pillows really made for extra points.

Room Tip: Our 702, faced the Burg square. Nice view of the Basilica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Strongly recommend this hotel as a base for travellers visiting Brugge. The location is excellent and the staff were very helpful. Clean, well appointed rooms too - the only reason that I didn't give a 5 star review was that since my last visit they have taken away the lovely cosy bar that used to be there - it is still there but not opened - a real shame in my opinion

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights for our 10 year anniversary. I had mentioned our anniversary when we booked but there was no mention of it when we checked in. Normally a 4* would acknowledge these things at the very least. But no so.

We arrived early but were told a room was available which was good. However, when we got to the room it was right opposite the lifts and even at lunch time we could here the lift whirring from inside our room. I asked reception if we could move to a quieter room. I didn't get the best of receptions so I explained that we were here for our 10 year anniversary and wanted to be able to relax and enjoy a lie in. Again, our anniversary wasn't acknowledged but were moved to a room 3 doors further down. It was actually a nicer room with more space! So we were happy with that.

Without doubt the best thing about this hotel is the location. Right on the Burg. About 3 minutes walk from the Markt. Probably the most central hotel we saw.

We did not eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. We did use the bar one evening at around 5.30 and again around 11pm. On both occasions it was very quiet with only 1 other table occupied. Service was pleasant and drinks were more expensive than the pubs but not extortionate.

One of the things we liked most about this hotel was the sleep kit in the room! It consists of a pillow spray and a roll on aromatherapy blend for your pulse points. A unique touch and very welcomed.

The room has a notice in it about how important a good nights sleep is and suggests that there will be no maintenance or housekeeping before 10am. However on our last morning in the hotel (a Monday morning) housekeeping were hoovering and cleaning the rooms on our floor from 8am. And not very quietly either. That was disappointing.

If this hotel were not located so centrally it would have to try harder with service and delivering on promises. But in all it is worth the sacrifice to be so close to the centre. I would rate this hotel as a strong 3* facility with a 5* location.

One last thing about the hotel, there is very limited information in the room about the hotel's facilities and we were told nothing about the hotel on check in. So you are left wondering what exactly the facilities are and logging on to the free wifi to check!

Other points for your trip to Bruges. Travelling from the airport, don't get confused by the varying train station names. I didn't realise until the return journey that the central Brussels stations have both a Dutch and French name. So when we bought the ticket at the airport we were told to change at Brussels South. The guide book said to change at Brussels Midi and the trains said Brussels Zuid. They are all the same station. Once you find a train going to Brussels Zuid / Midi then it's the right train and you can check on the screens at each platform. Change at Midi/Zuid and again check platform screens for trains going to Bruges (it's a stop on the way to other destinations). It takes about an hour all in. €38 for 2 one way.

Avoid eating on the pizza & pasta place (also called Central Hotel) on Markt. It is dire, unfriendly and expensive!

Brasserie Raymond is a lovely choice for a bit of posh nosh. Ribs and beer (all you can eat ribs for €18) is a must but a 15 min walk from the hotel.

Have fun in Bruges!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for New Year's Eve and it was everything you would expect for a Crowne Plaza.

The staff on reception and on the door were friendly and helpful. Check in was prompt and we were given a complimentary late check out of 2pm.

This is a great location to explore Bruges on foot. The rooms are clean and spacious. You have comfy beds and chocolates on the pillows. You also get a complimentary pillow mist spray to aid sleep. However the beds are comfortable so this is not necessary.

The pool area is a bit dated but adequate. You just need your room key to access the gym and pool facilities. Remember to bring your dressing gown down with you as only towels are provided.

Complimentary still and sparkling water is provided in the room and there is free wifi.

I have stayed at this hotel twice and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Brugge

Address: Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#10 Family Hotel in Bruges
#11 Business Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge is situated in the city centre of the charming and romantic city of Bruges, conveniently located on the magnificent Burg Square, adjacent to the historic Town Hall and the Chapel of Holy Blood. The Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge has 96 full renovated air-conditioned rooms with TV, pay TV, iron,coffee&tea facilities, mini bar and safe.The wellness and recreational centre offers a pool, a fitness room and a sauna.The Crowne Plaza hotel offers a new restaurant concept with PlazaCafé. A hip and trendy restaurant(with a superb terrace from March until November) and serves an excellent breakfast buffet, lunch and diner. Enjoy a nice coffee or Belgium beer. Every Sundaylunch a family buffet is served. The PlazaCafé Bar is an ideal meeting place, with its comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Meetings-conferences-banquets For a modern decor in warm colours we can propose the Burgh Room (for up to 250 people). If you prefer historic surroundings we can organise an unforgettable banquet in our 14th century cellar or amidst the ancient foundations of the old St Donaas Church. Free wifi available through the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brugge Hotel Bruges
Crowne Plaza Bruges
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brugge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.