We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything within walking distance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Brugge

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Brugge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Brugge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 100 hotels in Bruges
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Everything within walking distance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

OK, so this is not the most picturesque or romantic hotel but it is well located and quiet. The staff were helpful and welcoming and made our stay enjoyable. The room was large and overlooked the square - the decor is a little tired but I think they are gradually renovating the hotel. For us, and in particular, Mum, the presence of a lift was also a benefit.

Breakfast was included in our rate and suited us as we had our Mum with us and she welcomed a break from venturing across cobbles for food! It was a generous buffet but the hot food tended to cool quickly if you were not there when it was fresh from the kitchen. Bread, cold meats and cheese all fresh and well presented.

What the hotel really lacks is a good space for an evening drink. You can have a drink outside which is OK as long as it is warm but as the evening cools the only place is a small area inside the restaurant. Its not really conducive to a relaxed evening and feels as though you are shut away. The older part of the hotel did have a bar but that is no longer in use - a shame as that had character. This means that there isn't really a relaxing public space to sit and talk with friends so that people just tend to pass through reception and on to their rooms - a little clinical for a 4 star hotel.

I would most definitely return as its location and the staff make it an excellent base to enjoy this gem of a city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    317
    57
    11
    6
See reviews for
231
317
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent night here after Xmas to attend Christmas Market. Hotel centrally located, spacious room and comfortable bed. Staff very helpful & courteous. Sadly didn't dine in hotel bar breakfast which was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Crowne Plaza hotels in general are all reliably brilliant and the Brugge hotel didn't disappoint. Stayed in a double room for 3 people (two queen size beds!) with loads of floor space. My kid was doing cartwheels in the room!

The beds are always guaranteed to give you a great nights sleep. We tried the room service as well, and it was quick and delicious.

The only niggle (if one is looking for things to complain about) is that the pool is quite small, though rarely busy. But then, it's right smack in the heart of old Brugge!! So who cares. You shouldn't be swimming anyway. Walk around the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a room at the front of the hotel which looked out onto the Burg where we could see the Town Hall and the Basilica of the Holy Blood from our window. We ate out in the city a few times but one of the nicest meals we had was actually at the hotel! The staff are lovely in the restaurant and we had a delicious evening meal. We didn’t eat breakfast there as we thought it was too expensive (€23) and you could get a simple much cheaper breakfast not too far away from the hotel. We parked in the underground car park and this cost €42 for two days and also were charged €5 a day ‘city tax’ (have no idea). Bruges is absolutely beautiful; we had a wonderful time there and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Look at the time I'm writing this its past 3am and the basic function of a hotel to provide sleep is failing...noise is coming from a wedding repetitive and banging bass and out of tune drunks both both outside and from an in house kareoke and disco. Thin ceilings mean we can also here the unpleasant sounds of other guests above our hotel room. The hotels response is that the event was booked months ago. They have decided to keep a few happy at the expense of the whole hotel this is service at its worst! Of course at this time there is no available manager
Now The tunes have only just stopped

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay in our hotel. I really want to apologize for the disturbing music you had during your stay. It is our responsibility that the music during parties are brought back to the minimum and the agreed volume levels are respected.
The reaction of my staff that the party was booked month ago is not correct. They need to react proactive to reduce directly the volume off the music. I will definitely speak to my responsible staff during the night shift. They are on duty during night shifts and need to act accordingly.
I am glad you left a note for me, this will helps me to improve the quality and service from our hotel.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although this hotel is clean, warm and in good repair, it lacked that bit extra you generaly get from hotels of this standard. The reason, I think, is because the staff did not give the important good first impression. They didn't seem to be a very happy team but did give us a complimentary upgrade as our friends are platinum members and this is often standard. Not as good as a Hilton but the hotel met our needs and is in an ideal position.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. I want to apologize for the shortage in guest service. I will bring your comment to the attention off my staff and we will do our utmost to improve the first impressions upon arrival.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

You can't pick a better location for a hotel in Bruges. The hotel is right near the Market Square (Markt). From the hotel you can see all of Bruges easily by walking or biking. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The breakfast was ok but I would highly recommend trying one of the cafe's in town. The rooms were a little outdated but were very clean. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Brugge

Address: Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Brugge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge is situated in the city centre of the charming and romantic city of Bruges, conveniently located on the magnificent Burg Square, adjacent to the historic Town Hall and the Chapel of Holy Blood. The Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge has 96 full renovated air-conditioned rooms with TV, pay TV, iron,coffee&tea facilities, mini bar and safe.The wellness and recreational centre offers a pool, a fitness room and a sauna.The Crowne Plaza hotel offers a new restaurant concept with PlazaCafé. A hip and trendy restaurant(with a superb terrace from March until November) and serves an excellent breakfast buffet, lunch and diner. Enjoy a nice coffee or Belgium beer. Every Sundaylunch a family buffet is served. The PlazaCafé Bar is an ideal meeting place, with its comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Meetings-conferences-banquets For a modern decor in warm colours we can propose the Burgh Room (for up to 250 people). If you prefer historic surroundings we can organise an unforgettable banquet in our 14th century cellar or amidst the ancient foundations of the old St Donaas Church. Free wifi available through the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brugge Hotel Bruges
Crowne Plaza Bruges
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brugge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.