We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Brugge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Brugge to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Brugge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed there for the weekend. Rooms are big and clean and the staff is friendly. They have a small but nice indoor swimming pool and sauna. The breakfast is good, they have some fruits, cereals, different kinds of bread, cheese , etc.The parking for the car was very useful too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    357
    70
    13
    6
See reviews for
265
366
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Selected the crowne plaza for a 3 night stay, based on location. Definitely the pricier area for hotels, due to proximity to the belfry. However, thanks to some hideous modern art structure that has been erected and installed adjacent to the boules opposite, this lovely square looks like a bus-stop. Yes, we walked out directly onto the cobbled streets, but there was far more cafe life, and life in general on the other side of town. Early mornings in the centre of Bruges were beautiful and it did feel very safe around this hotel. A frituur (memlinc) on hoogstraat around the corner offered a fabulous homely place to eat simply (and watch football in an eclectic bistro atmosphere) in the evenings. The hotel bedroom was enormous, but felt empty. The safe did not accommodate the laptop. The pool was absolutely freezing. Intercontinental normally offer better than this, so we would use the a/club's novotel next time in this lovely little city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. It is a pitty that you felt that a busstop was in front of the hotel. This piece of art was created by Toyo Ito during 2002 Bruges European Cultural Capital. I will defintily look into the temperture of the pool.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a very good hotel with the rooms now refurbished. Very close to the Centrum and hence close to a lot of locations in Brugge.

The swimming pool + gym + suana although small is very comfortable.

Had a good time for the 13 days i stayed there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

... Make sure you do not pay the regular price as it is not worth it. Service ( breakfast) was at best inexistent, most of the time, staff simply made sure they were Not helping. It is really weird, some trouble with the management! ( at a cost for the customer???). Table where you sit must be undone, you wish non smoking, unfortunately smoking only can be offered ( obviously the non smoking section was empty) , one has to stand in a queue to get coffee (!), the can turns out to be empty, and remains so for 15 min...
Swimming pool is a patch of water, but fun for small kids (do not expect to swim, really) . Room were spacious,and bathroom clean. Not to forget, parking is available ( no big car). Location is absolutely perfect, one may just walk around and leave the car at the parking.
We had no special deal so all in rather pricey for a meagre service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your honest reaction. I will defintily look into the standards of service during breakfast. During breakfast we serve coffee with full automatic espresso machines, strange that you speaks about a container. If you can inform me with some more details so I can sort out what happend to improve the service of coffee. The size of our pool is 4mtr by 8 mtr which is indicated on our website. I feel very sorry that you missed the Crowne Plaza experience. I will defintly take you comments on board and improve our quality and service.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in a room overlooking the square. Location and room - perfect. The gentleman at the front desk gave us great recommendations for local restaurants and we had 2 dining reservations made for us within our first hour of arrival. Trust the recommendations - they were highlights.

There was really no mention of the trove of treasures downstairs which is unfortunate because it's a museum down there! I went down on the day of departure and could easily have spent an hour there looking at the unearthed artifacts.

All in all, this is probably the most pleasant Crowne Plaza I have stayed in.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, the room are very big and clean, and it is in a fantastic location. The staff are very friendly, always polite and go out of their way to be friendly. The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is about the breakfast. They say that it is from 6.30 to 10.30, however if you get to there after 10 there is no hot food left. On the 3 mornings we were there, families were having to go without. So my advice if you decide to have the breakfast is to go early. I would definately recommend this hotel for it's location and rooms etc. Overall had a fantastic time. Beautiful city!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruggeCPB, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Brugge, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for you comment about your stay and breakfast. It is good to know what you experienced during your stay. Your comment about the breakfast will be followed up with my staff. The buffet is open till 10.30 so we have to replenish the buffet till 10.30. There is no excuse that the hot food was not available anymore after 10 o'clock. Please accept my apoligizes for this inconvenience. I will follow up with my staff so that this will not happen anymore in the future.

Best regards

Lucas Bakx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic position - views over the Burg and within yards of some of the attractions. We arrived early, I intended to ask if they could store our bag but there was no problem in checking us in at just after 10am. Really friendly efficient service.

Lovely big room, with 2 double beds (double not king), the bathroom layout could have been better but overall it was very comfortable. We chose this hotel because it had a pool and the 2 large beds as I was travelling with my daughter.

Excellent staff and service overall but we were disappointed with a meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift - you can hear it in the surrounding rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Brugge

Address: Burg 10 | West Vlaanderen, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bruges
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#10 Family Hotel in Bruges
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge is situated in the city centre of the charming and romantic city of Bruges, conveniently located on the magnificent Burg Square, adjacent to the historic Town Hall and the Chapel of Holy Blood. The Crowne Plaza hotel Brugge has 96 full renovated air-conditioned rooms with TV, pay TV, iron,coffee&tea facilities, mini bar and safe.The wellness and recreational centre offers a pool, a fitness room and a sauna.The Crowne Plaza hotel offers a new restaurant concept with PlazaCafé. A hip and trendy restaurant(with a superb terrace from March until November) and serves an excellent breakfast buffet, lunch and diner. Enjoy a nice coffee or Belgium beer. Every Sundaylunch a family buffet is served. The PlazaCafé Bar is an ideal meeting place, with its comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Meetings-conferences-banquets For a modern decor in warm colours we can propose the Burgh Room (for up to 250 people). If you prefer historic surroundings we can organise an unforgettable banquet in our 14th century cellar or amidst the ancient foundations of the old St Donaas Church. Free wifi available through the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Brugge Hotel Bruges
Crowne Plaza Bruges
Crowne Plaza Hotel Brugge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.