We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Navarra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Navarra to your Saves list
Hotel Navarra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book 3 nights only pay 2
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Super Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have just stayed at the Hotel Navarra and could not have been more pleased. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and the facilities are excellent. The location of the hotel, close to the Markt is another real plus because it means you can easily return to rest or change before more walking around Bruges.

There is a small swimming pool in a converted cellar which is ideal for relaxing after a day sightseeing. The bar is pleasant and the wifi is completely hassle-free.

When we visit Bruges again we will certainly use this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibbrugge, General Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for the nice comments and fantastic rating!
I informed all staff members accordingly. They just wanted to let you know that it was a pleasure to welcome you. Thank you for the confidence in our hotel. Really appreciated!
Benedikte De Bruycker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    419
    62
    21
    6
See reviews for
181
684
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I wonder if all Aussies are shown the bowels of this hotel for their stay. We were not shown, but directed to our room, negotiating both upstairs and downstairs without any offer of assistance with luggage, nor anything else. Not good, when you have a new hip. Luckily the room is quite pleasant, though ordinary and we won't have to spend much time here.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Navarra. It really couldn't have been better:
Great buffet breakfast - no issues with charges as was part of package
Lovely swimming pool to have a swim - very good option for a rainy day, I didn't use the gym but looked well appointed
Room - very comfy bed, spotlessly clean room and everything we needed, was able to obtain a corkscrew from the bar and also a travel adapter, they also have english channels BBC1, 2 and 4, ITV and Channel 4
Staff - each and everyone couldn't do enough to help, everything from making restaurant bookings to arranging a slightly late check out when we slept in

Finally the attention to detail was lovely - I mentioned that the trip was for our wedding anniversary when we booked and when we arrived, we were given a box of beautiful belgian chocolates from a great chocolatier just around the corner

We wouldn't hesitate to go back there - in terms of location, fantastic bars and restaurants on your dorrstep, the restaurant give you a list of restaurants if you want some ideas - as there are so many to choose from.

One bar you really should try is Le Trappiste, a couple of minutes walk away, it is in a very old vaulted cellar and the owner has fantastic knowledge of belgian and other beers.

Stay at the Hotel Navarra if you go to Bruges - you wont be disppointed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibbrugge, General Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
In name of all staff members, I wish to thank you personally for your stay in our hotel.
All your positive comments about the staff, the high service levels and the hotel facilities are an enormous motivation for all of us to continue the good work!
Really appreciated. Again, a big thank you, dank u wel!
Benedikte De Bruycker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chose this hotel based on other tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed, ideally located in the centre of the city, with a decent car park, great breakfast, comfortable and very clean rooms, well appointed, would definitely use again when next in Bruges. Their website is also a mine of useful information for restaurants etc

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel was in a great location, situated so close to the main square in Bruges. The staff were very friendly and helpful here and the hotel was very well kept. It did feel like it was two different hotels joined together though, as you walk in through a very elegant and traditional hotel entrance and the rooms seem to be on a very long corridor with lots of twists, turns and stairs into the modern part of the building.

I would say that the rooms and the communal areas were kept very clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean and modern, although the shower lacked power and the bath could do with a deep clean as the grip that they put down to stop people from slipping had gone a little brown with use. The bedroom itself was fairly functional, although unfortunately I found the mattress on the bed quite soft and not all that comfortable, but I guess that comes down to personal taste.

Over all this was a good experience, but they could do with a couple of small changes to make the hotel really great.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues speak to the hotel before booking, as there were a lot of long corridors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibbrugge, Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for the time you took to write down your comments.
Really appreciated! Your comments about the friendliness of our staff will be forwarded immediately to all staff members. They really do their utmost, day after day. Our maintenace team already checked the grip and the water power in the bath. Thank you for informing us!
Our hotel is a 17th century mansion and listed as historic monument. Have a look on our website to read the rich history of our house. This is one of the reasons, that indeed we have a lot of corridors and steps up and down. We are very glad to read that you advise future guests with 'mobiltiy issues' to inform us in advance. We can always offer a room near one of our two elevators to make it more comfortable. Let us know in advance and we will do all we can to fulfill your wishes. Again thank you for the confidence you offered us. Always welcome in the future. Benedikte De Bruycker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel has a great location right near the market square. Rooms are a good size, but some are a long trek from reception (I noticed because I am currently 6 months pregnant and have MS so I could have done without the extra walk along long corridors and up and down stairs on the way in). Breakfast was a good buffet selection in a nice room, but one day they ran out of white bread before 10:15 and didn't put out any more (it was a weekend, so breakfast was being served for another 45 minutes). The hotel bar is excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 45-56 as these are the furthest away
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great hotel in a super location - quiet but very close to the main square. We booked this hotel on the basis of previous reviews and we weren't disappointed. It's clean, very comfortable, nice service and very stylish. We got the impression that the room we were in had been refurbished in the last year or so. Practical stylish bathrooom and very comfortable beds. It was quite warm - unseasonally so - but the aircon in the room was working.
Great restaurant not far away - Poulet Moules.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#8 Business Hotel in Bruges
#8 Family Hotel in Bruges
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Navarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.