We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Navarra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Navarra to your Saves list
Hotel Navarra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct and save € 5
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, good-sized rooms and very good breakfasts. The gym is reasonably equipped and the pool is nice.
It's 2 minutes from The Markt (the main square with the famous Belfry Tower).
The noise from the street (cobblestones) means that you can't sleep with the windows open so it's quite hot in the room.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if you can specify a room away from the street, but if you can, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    467
    74
    25
    10
See reviews for
207
790
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cricklade, England
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A really good hotel - very close to the Market Square and all of the other 'interesting bits' of Bruges - and there really are a lot of these. Our room (305) was a bit on the small side - but that is the only slight niggle with this hotel - there was sufficient hanging / drawer space - the bed was comfortable - all of the bathroom bits worked well - the staff were attentive and friendly - and the breakfast was really very good - an excellent selection of both hot and cold food - with really good fresh bread rolls.
Highly recommended - we would certainly stay here again if we were ever to return to Bruges

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just back from this lovely historic hotel, located about 5 mins walk from the main square (Think 'In Bruges') we travelled with our daughter and had a triple room which was enormous, never before have we found a hotel room this size in a European city. I recommend pre ordering breakfast as it really is good and lots cheaper. The only negative is the fact that I feel housekeeping was a bit lacking, we stayed three nights and our beds were made in such an untidy manner and the bathroom was not cleaned properly, I felt it needed to be noted. This however, is a very clean hotel, so please don't be put off. Just lazy staff on duty when we were there? I didn't see any of them so will leave that to management to deal with.
This is an expensive city, almost everything is dearer than UK so be aware, also, the restaurants everywhere have the same menu so if you're a vegetarian bring a packed lunch/dinner! They do love their meat! The hotel is approx 10 mins by taxi from the train station and costs about 11 euros and if you, like us you get your timings wrong, a taxi to Brussels Midi Train station is €175 (we almost missed our Eurostar connection) that is another review and I promise an exceptionally good one! All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibbrugge, Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review via Tripadvisor.
A score of 4/5 is not bad ... but can always be better. It is clear that we missed a 5 score thanks to a lack in our housekeeping department. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We will discuss this issue with the housekeeping manger in order to fullfill all guests expectations.
Nevertheless, we wish to thank you in name of the whole staff to recommand our hotel!
Benedike De Bruycker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A lovely, friendly hotel with helpful staff.

Excellent buffet breakfast consisting of tea, coffee, juices, various breads, cheese, ham and cooked fayre.

Rooms well equipped with free Wi-Fi and beds very comfortable.

Prime location for city centre and even though fairly near a main road, not at all noisy.

Thank you especially for the very kind person who left me peppermint tea for the tea making facilities in the room.

Will certainly stay there again when we return to Bruges.

Room Tip: Room comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Firstly the location of this hotel is great for the centre of Bruges, and I only really have one issue with the hotel and that's the bed. If you like a very soft mattress this hotel is perfect but I prefer something a little firmer. Apart from the bed the hotel is good. Reception staff are helpful and friendly and have space to leave your luggage safe if you have a later departure. Also for a city centre hotel the place is very quite. If travelling back to Bruges I'd stay at the Navarra again. Finally a great restaurant to try out which is a bit away from the centre but worth the work is Ribs n Beer, great Ribs and at a reasonable price for Bruges.

Room Tip: We had room 055 and this is a bit of a walk from the main reception but nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is in an old building but it seems a lot more spacious than that might suggest. Our room was huge and comfortable (with all the extras - mini-bar, spare pillows, etc - you could wish for), and even though it was busy it was perfectly quiet. Staff were friendly too, and the location is near-perfect, just a 2 minute wander from the main square. The bar was pleasant, though perhaps a few more Belgian beers might be nice. The only possible negative was the rather expensive breakfast (€35 for 2, and we don't take big breakfasts), but there are several excellent little cafes nearby. Otherwise this will certainly be our first choice for a return trip to Bruges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bibbrugge, General Manager at Hotel Navarra, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for the time you took to forward us your review via Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read that you had a lovely stay in our hotel. May we suggest to book your breakfast in advance? Only € 12,5 per person. If you reserve your breakfast on the spot (upon arrival), we charge € 17,5 per person.
We really hope to welcome you again in the not too far future! Always welcome.
Benedikte De Bruycker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked into the Hotel Navarra after reviewing choices on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Just down from the Markt square, we were greeted by friendly staff upon our arrival and she was more than happy to confirm our reservations with two tours for us in the following days.

Getting to the room was not as easy as in a modern hotel (tiny elevator, a few steps and meandering corridors) but once there it was a haven. Under the eaves, we had a view of the church next door and a spacious room and bathroom. Due to the eaves considerations (sloping ceiling), getting into and out of the the shower/tub was a bit precarious, but otherwise the bathroom amenities were lovely.

The bed was comfortable and there was a tv which we didn't use and many amenities in the hotel which we were too busy enjoying Brugge to actually take advantage of! We really like the stair option as the elevator was quite small and took the stairs at all times except when dealing with luggage.

I had to print out a train ticket and the staff member at the desk was helpful and courteous in this and all other questions and requests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bruges
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#11 Family Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Navarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.