We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Navarra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Navarra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Navarra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So nice !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just back from a weekend in Brugge and the hotel was truly enjoyable, lovely area and the staff was really nice. The location is perfect just stroll out into the square and walk around a whole day just looking at lovely buildings and great shopping. The reception staff was really nice and friendly .Our room was compact but very clean and modern and we had windows towards the back of the hotel. We took a taxi from the trainstation to the hotel and that took about 5 minutes and he charges us 9€ which was ok, we had travelled all morning so a bit tired and thought it was worth it.Couldn't fault this hotel in any way. Another point that has nothing to do with the hotel but don't really know where to write it: the aircoach website didn't work when i tried to buy tickets from charleroi to midi trainstation so we ended up standing in a que for half an hour because the booking machines were not in function. This was annoying and I also saw people that had managed to buy tickets online still had to go to the ticket reception and trade in their online tickets to new printed tickets from him to get on the bus , what's the point of having an online system if you have to change your tickets anyways? The aircoach does go every half an hour and that was ok about an hour drive to midi. The area around midi station is a disgrace but i'll write more about that in my next review about the hotel we stayed in Brussels. The staff in the trainstation is great and very helpfull, there is an informationdesk just as you enter the trainstation and they help you with were to buy tickets and what track to go to. So all in all Brugge is great and clean and lovely and so is the hotel ! And a lovely breakfast buffe included that helps alot , because it is quite expensive to eat in the city. One place that you have to visit is the 2be beer place, what a great place !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    526
    370
    53
    19
    6
See reviews for
149
560
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After a disappointing stay at the Royal Astor in Ostend last year, my partner & I went to Bruges & chose the Navarra this time round. Reading the reviews of the hotel was encouraging, and we must wholeheartedly endorse all the positive comments we read. Centrally located but so quiet (we had requested a room overlooking the garden at the back), with everything within a few minutes' walk. Not having a car, we relied on public transport to & from the rail station for day trips, as we didn't know the way, and buses were plentiful - we even found a stop just outside the hotel. 2 computers with internet connections are located in the lobby, free for guests to use - we checked rail timetables & so on - very useful. Our room wasn't especially large, but was comfortable and spotlessly clean, as was the hotel as a whole. The en suite bathroom was a pleasure to use - again, very clean, modern, all fittings etc of a high order & toiletries supplied, along with a hair drier. The room also had a minibar, TV, telephones (although why two, I don't know), trouser press, and a safe. Decoration was also to a high standard & added to the feeling of comfort & cleanliness. The hotel was quiet, with most guests being 30+ and of a respectable type - no drunken singing, shouting, unruly children etc. Breakfast was served 07.00 - 10.00, tea/coffee brought to your table with top-ups available, and a buffet-style breakfast. Cereal was a bit disappointing - horrible cornflakes, and for some reason hotels in Belgium seem to like using milk that tastes like the old "Puroh" stuff we used to have here (can you still get that?) However there was a fresh fruit salad - delicious - and yoghurt, as well as hard & soft boiled eggs, a toaster, and the usual Continental & full English breakfasts. The staff were pleasant & polite and the welcome when we arrived was genuine. We fully intend to return to this beautiful city and will certainly stay again at the Navarra.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden & was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Navarra for 4 nights in September, and had a wonderful experience there. We were celebrating a big anniversary, and were treated to a box of awesome Belgium chocolates upon our arrival. The room was spacious and very clean. My only complaint was that is was in the front of the hotel, and was sometimes a bit noisy in the morning, but since we were up early anyway, it was not a problem. They have a nice workout area and a small pool that was a bit small for doing laps, but big enough to still enjoy water aerobics. The breakfast was delicious, with a large selection of items to choose from. The location is just a few minutes to the main square, but just far enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas. The staff was more than helpful, and their suggestions for restaurants were spot on. After seeing the locations of some of the other hotels we were thinking of staying at, this seemed to be the best choice. We will definitely stay at Hotel Navarra the next time we visit Bruges.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep late, ask for a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a single night, €160, and we weren't very impressed. On arrival the woman at the reception made us wait endlessly while she answered the phone. I had to go and find a toilet while she talked. The room, and the whole hotel for that matter, was once a lovely old building that has been very cheaply renovated, poor quality vaneer everywhere, budget textiles, carpet in a terrible state and coming away on the stairs. The room admittedly was spacious, nice high ceiling, bath, ok bed and a good flat screen TV. However for a 4 star hotel everything else was pretty crap. The minibar had only a beer and a bottle of coke in it. The door in the bathroom was damaged and worn. The chairs were tatty and dirty. Everything looked cheap. The only extras in the room were a 'pencil' and a piece of paper. In the bathroom were plastic cups! Plastic cups in a 4 star hotel.
After a relaxing bath we went downstairs to the bar at around 20.30. The barman was basically slepping on the counter . Admitedly it wasn't very busy, but we ordered drinks and he was not really interested. He took our glasses from a dusty glass shelf that left rings where they had been. Honestly I would have been embarrassed if that was in my own house. The bar is called the piano bar and some attempt had been made to make things a little romantic, candles and soft jazz music playing, however the big screen playing a football match that the barman was tuned in to was very annoying! I don't book a 4 star Hotel in Brugge to put up with sports on big screens!
So we drank our drinks (double vodka and 1 small bottle of tonic between us) then ordered one more to take to the room. I asked to pay and was told that would be €50! We paid, and recieved no reciept, and I believe the barman pocketed the money.
It's not check-out yet but already we know we won't be coming back to this place again. For the price a far better bet is the Hilton in Antwerp. Brugge is lovely but a bit of a tourist trap! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed in room 229 - cosy and comfortable room. Extremely clean. Great central location, very conveniently located for exploring the city. Very pleasant staff on reception and in breakfast room. Breakfast was excellent with great choice, both continental and cooked english.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a short City break...absolutely perfect location with car parking. Staff very friendly, room was perfect, clean, cosy, etc... breakfast was faultless...beautiful building and well maintained.....all in all...totally worthy of a 10/10 rating ...I would say however, Bruges is not that cheap to stay in general, Hotel Navarra was actually VERY competitive on price compared to similar hotels..... do not hesitate to stay here to explore Bruges and its charm..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Unlike the previous reviewer who thinks this should be five star, I have stayed in many better hotels, it does deserve its 4 star rating it is a lovely hotel in a fantastic location and in that regard I cant fault my stay this week. Staff were so very friendly and helpful and the breakfast
was fantastic, bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and well kept. I would definitely return to this hotel. Found a lovely Italian restaurant 'Pepe and Sale' just 500M from the hotel great food definitely worth a visit. Loved Bruges the great thing about it compared to Rome, Prague et al is that I didnt see a single street seller or beggar, no litter or graffiti, it is truly a lovely little place to visit especially so if you like beer and chocolate!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Navarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navarra

Address: St-Jakobsstraat 41, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bruges
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Navarra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, family-run 4-star hotel enjoying a prime location right in the heart of the historical city centre of Bruges, within walking distance (just 100m away) from the Market Square (with its famous Belfry tower), all major attractions and main shopping streets. This elegant 17th-century listed mansion has been fully renovated with great flair and intensive care to detail. All rooms are spotlessly clean and enjoy air conditioning , free wifi, flatscreen satellite television, in-room safe and complimentary coffee & tea making facilities. Also enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast and make free use of our indoor pool, sauna and fitness room. Our private car park is exclusively at the disposal of our guests. Hotel Navarra is renowned for its warm atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Navarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bruges
Bruges Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Navarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.