We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chef Et Moi

Le Chef Et Moi
Dijver 13, Bruges 8000 , Belgium
+32 (0)50 39 60 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 520 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our guesthouse owner and it didn't disappoint. Lovely surroundings, attentive service and fabulous food. We sat in the window on a rainy Brugge night and enjoyed the hospitality that this little place offered. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    46
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fine Tasty Food In Lovely Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is not a fast food restaurant, if you want a leisurely evening in lovely quirky surroundings with great subtle music and friendly service, and really tasty well presented food then this is the place.
The menu is small with a lot of fish , but just so delicious, and the bread made in house is unbelievable and plenty of it. We were surprised by the review that complained about the attitude of the staff, for we found the lady to be very friendly and helpful, sometimes it's the customer who has the attitude!! The service is not quick but that's how you know your food is being cooked freshly and worth a little wait. You are on holiday enjoy a relaxing evening with great food, go!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very impressive quality. Food was excellent with remarkable attention to detail (such as tiny basil flavoured croûtons and tomatoes peeled in the salad). Not a massive wine choice but very well matched to the menu. Started with vitello tonnato which I'd never had before and is now a favourite. The main and desserts were great. Service friendly and attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Dined on 25th June in the evening. My partner had a la carte and I had the market choice menu, both were excellent. The food was cooked beautifully and service was fantastic. A husband and wife team who clearly care about their lovely restaurant. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Take time to enjoy this upmarket bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our party of 4 was initially drawn to this place when taking a night time stroll along the canal. Loads of candles flickering inside lent a warm, welcoming feel to the atmosphere even through the glass, and once inside it didn't disappoint. The silky smooth jazzy tones of Melody Gardot and Diana Krall were a good complement.

The place is run by a husband and wife team, who at time of writing had been in business 3 years. Caroline does the front of house and waiting, while her husband prepares the food. The menu, whilst not huge, is actually on a par with many others in Bruges for choice, and there is sufficient variety for most. Some reviewers have commented on slow service, and it's true that things take a little time. But what's the problem? This does not look like a quick in-out sort of place, and why would you want it to be? In any event, it wasn't THAT slow. 30 minutes for our starters to arrive were spent enjoying delicious bread and tapenades and enjoying very good wine at c. €40 - 50 per bottle. We then enjoyed superb lobster, duck pate almost indistinguishable from fine Fois Gras, tiny hand peeled fresh shrimp and asparagus in a mild curry and whisky sauce, and rich desserts. 4 of us ate and drank all we wanted and the bill was c. €330. Given we were the last to leave after 3 hours this was a decent value evening out. The slightly basic furnishings perhaps suggested a slightly cheaper place, but then again they might also suggest weaker food. As it happens there is a set menu at €35 which would have represented very good value indeed. We simply chose to eat a la carte as it was a special occasion.

We all said we would go back in a heartbeat.

Tip: Given food preparation time and the distinctly grown up feel of the place, I wouldn't recommend it for families with kids. Great, however, for adults.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chef Et Moi also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Le Chef Et Moi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chef Et Moi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.