We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai food around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Narai Thai

Narai Thai
Smedenstraat 43, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 68 02 56
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The meeting of the centuries old Thai culture with that of the west offers a unique culinary experience.In the Smedenstraat, nearby the Zand (square), you can imagine yourself in a Thai temple, connected to the sea by a living coral reef.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Thai food around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Beautiful restaurant a bit out of the way of the main area of Bruges but fantastic food and lovely atmostphere. Children were welcomed and given enough time to have a breather before next course came.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    41
    19
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxed eating without any pressure a pure pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had passed by this restaurant on other evenings and were really impressed by the activity that was taking place. We had an evening where nothing was pre booked and decided to take a chance that there might be a table free and we were very lucky,indeed, if we had been 10 minutes later we would not have got a table. The menu is very easy to understand ,just make sure you get the English version. Some of the choices may not be authentic Thai but they can be forgiven for that because the authentic Thai is wonderful. The waiters/waitresses are there but hovering almost like spirits and anticipate very need. The ambience of this restaurant is wonderful I hope that readers of this review have an equally amazing evening as I and my partner enjoyed

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, Owner at Narai Thai, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Frank,
Your review made my day. It shows why every day we put all aof our effrts into our restaurant. Thank you for appreciating this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Accommodating Service and Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Me and my girlfriend visited this restaurant without pre-booking, and were given a table on the spot. The table was near the door so we felt the draft a times, but the waiters were quick to close the door when it was left ajar. Our waiter also noticed when I was searching my dish for tofu chunks, as there wasn't a great deal in amongst my noodles. I said it was OK, just to be polite (I'm British), but within 5 minutes he returned to our table with a side plate of tofu! Very friendly service, and the food was what we were after. Recommended

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, Owner at Narai Thai, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Peter, The pleasure was entirely ours to provide you of a memorable evening. We are looking forward welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very good food, excellent staff and a wonderful place to be in. Also good service for people with a food intolerance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, Owner at Narai Thai, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Mel-TOfun,
Thank you for the nice review, we really appreciate it. Yes, we try to do our best for everyone, also those with an intolerance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“tasty. but refused tap water.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

even after ordering a bottle of wine we were told that they did not serve tap water and we would have to buy water. which was a tiny bottle for €3

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane B, Owner at Narai Thai, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear AteRaveller,
Thak you for your visit and review.You will find no restaurant in flanders that offers free tap water. We give it to animals if owners ask for it, but then you still have people ordering bottle water. It is simply' not done' do order or serve tap water in a restaurant. We hope to welcome you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narai Thai also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Narai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narai Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.