We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Gouden Kroes

De Gouden Kroes
Hoogstraat 12 | 8000 Brugge, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050358288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 519 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: French, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This Bistro restaurant has been established for about 6 months by a well known local chef.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Having left finding a place to eat too late for many restaurant kitchens, we were recommended to visit a certain area of Bruges, Hoogstraat, where we were welcomed with open arms and cheery smiles. This area's restaurants stayed open till much later than most, and nothing was too much trouble for them. This particular restaurant served primarily seafood which was excellent and it was possible to choose your live lobster from the tank! Did they really have names?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    84
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value, really nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant by accident. Not many people in at all, only one more table. Opted for the €36 set menu. Starters, I had smoked salmon, with toasted bread. Girlfriend had scampi - prawns in garlic butter. Both simple, but tasty. We both chose the veal steak for main. Served pink, with potato croquettes, vegetables and a cream mustard sauce. Again, simple, but very nice, and everything was well cooked. Dessert was a grand marnier iced parfait. Slightly alcoholic, orangey ice cream basically. Nice enough. Shared a bottle of house red, €22, surprisingly good! Total bill €96, both happy, would go again. Also, before starters, some marinated olives, bread, winkles and shrimps were served, free of charge. Recommended!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeebrugge, Belgium
2 reviews
“Nice and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Cosy settings, we had excellent service , good food! Choice of meat and seafood. We had a nice dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Went there for dinner as it was near the Grand Hotel Casselbergh where we were staying. Was full already at 6pm, but we managed to get the last table at 8pm. I had the set menu with prawns to start, Veal Sirloin with Mustard sauce as main and then vanilla ice soufflé as dessert. My girlfriend had the garlic prawns to start and then mussels in white wine. Prawns were excellent, some of the best we have had for ages, my veal steak was also very good, with fantastic flavour. My girlfriend’s mussels were an enormous portion, which she said were very good, plus an enormous bowl of fries. Overall the food was excellent and good value. The only negative was the service was quite slow with only two people serving. Our waiter apologised, saying they had been surprised by how busy it was given it was quiet mid-January.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Though we only made a last minute reservation on the day we were treated really well and the staff went over and above to accommodate us. The restaurant itself is very cosy with nice decor, fire etc. Good wine list and not forgetting of course the seafood selection. We had fish soup to start (immense) and 1/2 lobster each for main which was more than enough after a portion(!) of moules frites for lunch earlier.
This restaurant is a little gem and looks a tab inconspicuous from the outside but was definitely worth visiting and somewhere I would happily recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Gouden Kroes also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Gouden Kroes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Gouden Kroes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.