We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in Brugge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Brugge Centrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Brugge Centrum to your Saves list
Ibis Brugge Centrum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katelijnestraat 65A, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Manningtree
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Long weekend in Brugge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

If you plan to visit the Christmas market this is an ideal base, it is in easy walking distance of all the sites. There are so many wonderful places to eat and so much to do, boat trips, the ice palace, horse and trap tours and when we where there the Picasso exhibition was the icing on the cake with over 300 wonderful exhibits of impressionist paintings. There is underground parking close to the hotel so your car is safe and in easy reach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive remarks. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    779
    301
    68
    30
See reviews for
182
873
69
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

One must remember that this is a budget hotel however several points must be made. The room I stayed was more than adequate although being out at the front of the building it would definitely benefit from proper double-glazing. The room was very noisy even with the windows closed. This needs to be looked at.On a positive note the room itself was fine the beds confortable & the room warm. Secondly there must be a solution to the smell in the reception area. If it was just the canals then the whole building would smell. It doesn't smell outside the building. There is clearly a problem confined to that area so this needs to be addressed. The staff were efficient & I had no other complaints.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Concerning the smell you are talking about,
please note that it has always been present in Bruges, due to the presence of the canals in town, and especially in periods of heavy rainfall (November). In Bruges there even exists an oral expression to depict this phenomenon (the welling of the water).
Nevertheless we have asked an external company to investigate if there would also be a problem with our drains, and this is not the case.
I really do hope that this “smell” will not stop you from choosing our hotel for your next visit to the “Venice (canals) of the North” .
Thank you very much for your comprehension.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Checked in today and lobby smells, but receptionist could not smell it, perhaps they are used to it.
It seems by reviews that this is an ongoing problem, so guests should be notified.
Room smeltaweful as well, and asked to be moved. Very obliging to move rooms, slightly better , but there is definitely a problem, as other guests have made similar reviews. the problem with a smelly lobby is it puts you off meals at the hotel as well. Great checking by Tomas, very helpful and accommodating .
Rooms adequate but knees hit wall when using toilet, as badly designed, and all could do with a little sprucing up with more up to date decor. 24 hour service helpful.
Came especially for Christmas markets which are well advertised, but were a complete let down, they were closed at seven, and we're not much more than a few random stalls that you would get at any Saturday market, there were also a handful of people around, so obviously not very attracting.
Came across a flower show not far from the hotel, show outstanding so well done to them, made up for everything else.
Would probably stay again due to easy access and location, but would ask for a further reduction in rate as not worth the current pricing structure until they sort the smells out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest, and to all others who have shared their concerns about the smell in our lobby and reception area on Tripadvisor,

May I kindly draw your attention to the fact that this “smell” has always been present in Bruges, due to the presence of the canals in town, and especially in periods of heavy rainfall (November). In Bruges there even exists an oral expression to depict this phenomenon (the welling of the water).
Nevertheless we have asked an external company to investigate if there would also be a problem with our drains, which is not the case.
I really do hope that this “smell” will not stop you from choosing our hotel for your next visit to the “Venice (canals) of the North” .
Thank you very much for your comprehension.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

great value for money and great central location,very friendly and welcoming at front desk. the only thing I would mark the hotel down on is the bar man was rude and miserable . rooms good value for money.walking distance to every where.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your appreciation. Our reception staff will be very pleased to hear about your postive feedback. As regards the rudeness of the barman, I would like to emphasize that this kind of behaviour does not in any way comply with the standards we strive for. Rest assured that his conduct will be looked into.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

On the face of it the Ibis is a great place to stay- location is ideal, and from the outside the place looks good. Unfortunately as soon as you step inside you are met with a smell of sewerage that makes you feel sick instantly. Once you get to your room the smell is slightly better and the rooms are ok, but just not pleasant stay. Wouldn't book there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest, and to all others who have shared their concerns about the smell in our lobby and reception area on Tripadvisor,

May I kindly draw your attention to the fact that this “smell” has always been present in Bruges, due to the presence of the canals in town, and especially in periods of heavy rainfall (November). In Bruges there even exists an oral expression to depict this phenomenon (the welling of the water).
Nevertheless we have asked an external company to investigate if there would also be a problem with our drains, which is not the case.
I really do hope that this “smell” will not stop you from choosing our hotel for your next visit to the “Venice (canals) of the North” .
Thank you very much for your comprehension.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place stinks like a cess pit! It really is horrendous. The air con is rubbish, the place was baking (in November!). The decor is early 90s, fading wallpaper, Formica table lamps; stay somewhere else if you can!

Room Tip: Go on the upper floors to escape the smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Brugge Centrum, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear guest, and to all others who have shared their concerns about the smell in our lobby and reception area on Tripadvisor,

May I kindly draw your attention to the fact that this “smell” has always been present in Bruges, due to the presence of the canals in town, and especially in periods of heavy rainfall (November). In Bruges there even exists an oral expression to depict this phenomenon (the welling of the water).
Nevertheless we have asked an external company to investigate if there would also be a problem with our drains, which is not the case.
I really do hope that this “smell” will not stop you from choosing our hotel for your next visit to the “Venice (canals) of the North” .
Thank you very much for your comprehension.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Brugge Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brugge Centrum

Address: Katelijnestraat 65A, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Brugge Centrum 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Brugge Centrum hotel is located in an ancient medieval building in the centre of Bruges, a few minutes from the railway station. Close to the hotel, you can visit the Tour Belfry, Notre Dame church and the Lac d.Amour Minnewater. As well as the 128 rooms available for booking, it has a bar open 24/24 for snacks, public indoor pay parking and a restaurant offering regional specialities. Guests on a business trip have Wifi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Brugge Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brugge Centrum Hotel Bruges
Ibis Hotel Bruges
Ibis Hotel Brugge Centrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Brugge Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.