We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Brugge Centrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Brugge Centrum to your Saves list
Ibis Brugge Centrum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katelijnestraat 65A, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Finding Ibis was easy. Finding parking less so. We were confused by a sign that seemed to indicate the entrance to the parking was on the other side of the building, which it wasn't - it was on the main street where we had been originally, part of a communal car park. Which said "FULL" (one of the levels was closed for repairs as well, which didn't help). The two hotels there, Ibis and Novotel, share a public car park, and neither have reserved spaces only for hotel customers. Luckily, by the time I had come back from the reception asking about it, there were spaces available again.

Our room was down a few stairs (where there was a weird and unpleasant smell, but it didn't affect the room, thank goodness), and faced the road behind the hotel. There was little or no noise insulation from the windows, and when someone smoked nearby, you could smell it despite the window being closed.

We decided to have dinner at the hotel as it would save us getting out again (it had started raining as we were crossing the courtyard coming back to the hotel), and if the prices at nearby restaurants were so high anyway, the hotel restaurant seemed affordable in comparison. Booked a table for 7pm and it took a good long while before we could even order drinks. About 45 minutes had passed from our arrival until food arrived: Valencian paella, the dish of the day. Tasted okay but wasn't great by any means, and one plate seemed more watery than the others. Beer was nice, though.

Slept okay. It's a good, basic hotel, and it's right in the older part of town, so right in the middle of where all the tourist traps are.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    778
    301
    68
    30
See reviews for
182
871
69
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Box 1, location. Box 2, Price, Box 3, Parking. First impressions are always lasting and our first one was when walking into the hotel.... "The Smell" Bruges is full of canals so you will get a pong but as soon as you get into your room the smell is not present. Room 4 (smoking room so the good lady was happy) was very clean & the 2 single beds were very comfortable. In the morning it sounded as though we were next to the loading dock as the dray truck was throwing beer barrels all over the place and that was a little annoying but that's the price you pay for a smoking room. No tea or coffee making stuff but for the price I would not expect it, there is a market over the road so a bottle of brandy was better then tea! The TV has loads of channels from our country so that was good. The shower was powerful and relaxing so I used that a lot! Staff were friendly and booked us in early as soon as a room was available. I cannot comment on food as we did not eat there, the breakfast was £14.99 each which is a little steep I think. The parking was directly under the hotel and for just over 24hrs only cost us 10.50 euros plus it is monitored with a parking attendant sitting in a room so you know your car is safe. Its right in the centre and only 5mins walk to the market square. Would I use again? "YES" Book online as its much much cheaper then the walk in off the street price.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are located on the basement level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel. The first time was last year with my wife, and this year we returned with her family (my in-laws). We were satisfied during both visits. This hotel exemplifies why I stay at ibis hotels - you can generally expect that you'll have a comfortable stay in a no-frills, conveniently located hotel (but note that I've been disappointed in some ibis hotels - see my reviews of the ibis in Paris Sacre Coeur 18eme and Brussels Gare du Midi). Booking ahead on the ibis web site, we were able to get the "hot rate" of EUR 95 per 2-person room per night (excluding breakfast). The rooms were comfortable and reasonably-sized, though some may find them on the small side. We were pleased to see that the toilets had bathtubs, as opposed to the capsule-like toilets in other ibis hotels. In some rooms (my in-laws and I occupied three rooms), the TV location is less than ideal, perched atop a cabinet so you have to crane your neck to watch while seated on a chair, but watching while lying in bed was fine. The breakfast buffet is pricey at EUR 14 per person, but was nevertheless sumptuous and perfect for our carniverous family, complete with cold cuts, sausages, omelettes, hardboiled eggs, pate, and the usual array of bread, croissants, cereal, etc. I was just disappointed that there was no bacon, as was the case in other ibis hotels (such as in the Den Haag centrum (Netherlands) branch). The public parking garage on Katelijnestraat 65 is very conveniently located right by the hotel, and charges only EUR 8.70 per 24 hours. The hotel and garage are also located at the periphery of the touristy center, so you do not have to undergo the hassle of driving through the throng of tourists, and yet are just a quick, leisurely walk away from the Church of Our Lady, Beguinage, and on to the square and other sites.

The only complaint I had is that when I called the reception to ask about the rate of calling local Bruges numbers, the man who answered simply said he did not know, and when I asked whether it was possible for him to check what the rates were, he said he was unable to.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are not accessible by lift, so request for rooms on higher floors. Rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Arrived by Eurostar at Bruges railway station and were delighted to be able to walk to the hotel through Minnewater Park. What was even better was the central location - we could walk to everything we wanted to visit. The hotel itself was good; comfortable beds, pleasant room and good variety at breakfast.

Room Tip: Lifts to all floors and all rooms away from road so seem likely to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Brugge Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brugge Centrum

Address: Katelijnestraat 65A, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Brugge Centrum 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Brugge Centrum hotel is located in an ancient medieval building in the centre of Bruges, a few minutes from the railway station. Close to the hotel, you can visit the Tour Belfry, Notre Dame church and the Lac d.Amour Minnewater. As well as the 128 rooms available for booking, it has a bar open 24/24 for snacks, public indoor pay parking and a restaurant offering regional specialities. Guests on a business trip have Wifi Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Brugge Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brugge Centrum Hotel Bruges
Ibis Hotel Bruges
Ibis Hotel Brugge Centrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Brugge Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.