We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Brugge Centrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Brugge Centrum to your Saves list
Novotel Brugge Centrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katelijnestraat 65B, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #33 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is a short walk from the the centre of Brugge.

Rooms were comfortable and clean, Good size comfortable bed.

Did not try the restaurant but sample the bar! Service and prices OK

There is car parking under the hotel (8.70 euros for 24 hours).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    835
    174
    23
    16
See reviews for
621
605
30
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting Bruges for about 15 years. We stayed at this hotel twice
during those early years, because of its location and price, which at that time included breakfast. We were also aware it had been refurbished within the last 2 years or so.
I am an Accor Group cardholder and received an e-mail offering a deal which was too good to miss - 56 euro a night, room only. I believe the normal rack-rate to be 155 euro. Quite frankly I wouldn't pay that, for what is a slighlty more up-market Travelodge in standard room mode.

We had a standard room, which was adequate for our needs. It was very clean and bed-linen was changed daily. Tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge are handy, and the two BBC stations were available on the TV.

We didn't eat in. Breakfast is much cheaper at a couple of cafes within 100metres of the hotel. We also have our fsvourite restaurants in the town, so always have dinner out.

Parking is handy, underneath the hotel in a public car-park, and at 8.70 Euro for 24 hours, in my experience of parking abroad, is good value.

Only gripe was the room was too warm when sleeping. We prefer a cooler atmosphere, but
the air-con didn't produce cool air. To be fair we didn't take it up with the management.
Opening the window led to noise being heard from the smokers area outside, both at this hotel and the Ibis opposite,the odd drunk(s) shouting as they walked through the piazza, as well as people on mobile phones - and we are talking of 2 am & 4am here.

Nevertheless, it's a pleasant place to stay, staff we encountered were cheerful and helpful and it's location is handy for the Minnewater areaand Notre Dame, with a 10 min walk into the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As with all Novotels, it is what you would expect from a 'no frills' hotel. However, it more than serves its purpose. We chose the Novotel because you can rely that it will be clean etc, and our room was perfectly fine. It is also in an excellent location because it is about a 10-15 minute walk into the centre market square, and along the route there are lots of chocolate shops etc which are great to see. Furthermore, there is the underground car park. However, be warned because the spaces are very small and tight! Unfortunately was woken up in the morning with a dog in the next room barking, however the hotel is perfect for 2 nights or so when are you visiting the lovely city of Brugge!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel is a short trip from the train station which is how we arrived. It is somewhat to the south end of Bruges, but the town is only about 1 and 1/2 miles in length so you can walk anywhere. Rooms are very clean and staff is terrific. Free wifi also helps a lot.
No matter where you are in Europe, find a way to get to Bruges, you will never regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We reserved two triple rooms for two nights at this Hotel and were quite pleased at what we found. The hotel was easy to reach by car and reasonably priced public parking was available in a garage literally underneath the hotel.
The hotel itself was in a perfect location and just a few minutes walk to all of the sites and shops in Bruges.
The hotel lobby was clean and inviting and every staff member we came in contact with were very friendly and displayed a level of professionalism I would expect in a luxury hotel.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated and housekeeping did a superb job during our short stay.
All in all, I have nothing but compliments towards this hotel and exceptional staff.
We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have recently enjoyed our second stay at this hotel. The reason we decided to return here is partly because of the convenience of parking, which cost us 17.40 euros. There is an underground parking area, although be warned the spaces are quite small but there is a lift to the forecourt in-front of the hotel, which is shared by the Ibis hotel; the carpark entrance is just past the hotel on Katelijnestraat. In our opinion, the charge is not exorbitant considering one is in a city centre. The convenient location of this hotel regarding access to the main part of the city is an advantage, as everything is within walking distance and along the way to the main square there is plenty to see, i.e. shops, chocolatiers, supermarkets, museums etc.

The rooms are okay – clean and comfortable for the price charged. We chose to have a room with a walk-in shower instead of a bath which was fine, and the toilet is separate. Everything one would need is in the room e.g. hairdryer, mini-bar and work-station. The TV stations are varied – BBC 1 & 2 channels are available and of the rest 50% are spoken in English anyway. Check-in was efficient and plenty of information conveyed. The gentleman, who served us, remembered our visit last year, which was pleasant. The choice of drinks at the bar is good, although quite pricey, but the convenience of sharing a drink and then going upstairs after a busy day, made the expense worthwhile.

The breakfast is more than adequate and the choice is good for this type of hotel, in that it isn’t a holiday resort. The evening meal was very enjoyable; we would just advise clients to double-check their bills. Members of staff have an excellent attitude and are obviously happy in their work, which is always great to see, from a client’s point of view. The hotel is within walking distance to a selection of restaurants and bars if you prefer eating/drinking elsewhere.

Brugge is a wonderful city, very hospitable, full of history and pleasant walks. Last year we enjoyed a city tour which was both informative and agreeable; this time we discovered other areas by foot, and vowed to revisit next Spring, to enjoy a boat-ride and horse-drawn carriage ride. This is the first time we have experienced the Christmas market and unfortunately we would say in our experience, the markets in Germany and Manchester are of a higher quality. However, we returned to our favourite ‘kitchen-shop’ and yet again managed to return home with additions to our dinner-party service!

The Internet is initially free and then you need to obtain a log-in and password from reception.

We look forward to returning in the Spring and will more-than-likely choose to stay at the Novotel again!!!!

Room Tip: Room with walk-in shower if you have back or arthritis problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wonderful hotel in a magnificent city. First class hotel, great buffet and a excellent staff. Waking distance to the Church Of Our Lady where you can view Michelangelos's Derek of Bruges. A short walk to the Historic Center of Bruges.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Brugge Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brugge Centrum

Address: Katelijnestraat 65B, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bruges
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Brugge Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Brugge Centrum is a 3 star hotel in the historic centre of Bruges, a unique European city known as the Venice of the North. It features 126 comfortable and functional rooms, a bar and restaurant, plus 8 rooms for meetings and conferences and1 large multifunctional room. The hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays in Bruges with your partner or family, boasting a garden, terrace and outdoor heated pool in summer. Public pay parking available under the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Brugge Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brugge Centrum Hotel Bruges
Novotel Hotel Bruges
Novotel Hotel Brugge Centrum
Novotel Bruges
Bruges Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Brugge Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.