We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well located and a nice little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montanus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montanus to your Saves list
Hotel Montanus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very well located and a nice little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Very nice hotel, decor is lovely and the garden room is very quiet and tranqil. Room was lovely, all in all a very good hotel set centrally but away from the noise (5 mins walk to the main square). Very impressed

Room Tip: Friends stayed in 206 which was massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    131
    37
    16
    6
See reviews for
24
215
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This was a beautiful hotel, loved the decor and the garden was also very stylish. However, we stayed in a romantic garden room and found it quite cold the first night - the hotel may want to consider pre-warming them in winter (we stayed in November). Also the room wasn't cleaned until late afternoon on the Saturday and when it was the towels were rearranged without making it clear whose was whose and no fresh toilet paper/tissues left although we were running low. The twin beds rolled apart easily and noise from room above was quite audible. We chose this hotel mainly for the parking and this indeed was very convenient next to the the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The hotel is a nice hotel, but the bed in the room I stayed in was of poor quality. The bed had a massive dip in it and I could feel the springs dig into my back as I lay on the bed. I would have been better off sleeping on the floor. Also for a 4* hotel in 2011, it is pretty poor that the wi-fi is only available on the ground floor not in your room, and that I had to pay 5 EUR to use the wi-fi. So no hope of doing any work on the computer in your room. For this reason: I rate this hotel as poor, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have never written a review before, but I thought I just had to about this hotel. Absolutely fantastic! We were upgraded to the Gentleman's Suite- huge room- very smart and sophisticated. Breakfast was delicious with full english, chocolate fondue pastries etc The hotel was spacious and inviting. Just a great hotel, would definitley stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is just perfect for a romantic weekend in Bruges. Everything is within walking distance but its just far enough away to be nice and quiet. The decor is beautiful, the rooms are so comfortable and welcoming after a long day of sight-seeing. The staff and so helpful, when we arrived we were starving and they booked us lunch in a smashing little local restaurant where we were spoilt for choice with all the delicious local dishes. I would recommend sinking into the gorgeous comfortable couches in the drawing room with some local beer and relax.... utter bliss!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

At only a 15-20 minute walk from the station and about a 10 minute walk into the Markt this Hotel is conveniently situated. We had a Gentlemans Superior room which was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was more than ample with a selection of Continental or English (eggs, bacon etc). A nice touch was that free tea and coffee was available throughout the day up to 6pm so if you fancied a break from walking around you could pop back to the Hotel have a drink and sit in the pleasant garden.The staff at reception were helpful when enquiring about trips and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Highland Region.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This delightful hotel was our first Belgian treat, the chocolate came later ! On a quiet street a hundred or so yards from the main thoroughfare , it oozes class. A large garden with surrounding rooms if you don't want to stay the main building. Clean and comfortable rooms (en suite), attentive, efficient staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montanus

Address: Nieuwe Gentweg 78, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#50 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montanus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, romantic hotel is located in the heart of Bruges. Both the cottage-style garden pavilion and the grand mansion provide romantic guest rooms. Relax in the lovely garden and wake up pleasantly in our breakfast room with lots of natural daylight, where you can enjoy fresh local products and a real chocolate fountain ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montanus Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montanus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.