We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base to explore Brugge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Brugge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Brugge to your Saves list
NH Brugge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boeveriestraat 2 | City Center, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #48 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good base to explore Brugge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Good value hotel, 10 minutes walk from the main square. Also a 10 minute walk from the station, so close our taxi driver said he wouldn't have taken us if we didn't have suitcases! The room was spacious with a huge, comfortable bed. Shower was a bit difficult to regulate but fine once you'd mastered the controls! Reasonable choice at the breakfast buffet. Helpful reception staff. Bar closed early though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    447
    133
    45
    18
See reviews for
119
570
27
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

NH Brugge is located 5 minutes walk from the main marketplace in the City centre.
If you are only looking to stay somewhere close to the centre, and a walk to the train station then pick this one. If you want somewhere with personality then stop and look elsewhere.

Firstly you enter the hotel thinking the foyer will lead to a better room and then you realise - you get what you see- not a lot.

I can only describe it as a rather bland hotel, I would have liked to have said it was a place you could get a good night's rest but frankly we did not sleep well at all here. The room was stuffy, with heavy tog duvets and uncomfortable pillows. Plus the maid tried to open the door three times on one morning and we were also awoken by a drunk man singing outside. As soon as arrived we had to opened the windows as the room was set at 27 degrees Celsius ! It's the little touches that matter for a 4 star service.

Lack of ambience - New Year's Eve with young child in tow we thought we would have a drink at the hotel bar which proved a major disappointment. We waited over 40minutes for a drink, where we noticed all the clientele heading to the gala dinner were served before us and we were then told we could not be served a cocktail from the menu on display. The whole bar cleared of clientele heading to the dinner and I had to talk through how to make the simplest of drinks a Bloody Mary to an inexperienced bartender. On New Year's Eve ?At a 4 star hotel ? Worse still the bartender charged full price for an under measure of vodka. But after 40 mins wait, you are left exasperated.

On the positive note, the rooms were clean, and decent in size, equipped with mini bar and safe and the shower is hot.

But 4 star ? I don't believe it could be with the service received.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Recently stayed here 3 nights in a Deluxe room. Agree with most reviews here that while the hotel is nice, the interiors are getting a bit worn! The bed was comfortable enough to sleep on. You can get free wifi access passes from the hotel reception that are valid for 24hrs.

The hotel is located south east of the main city area and its very easy to walk in to see the sights. There are many restaurants just on the other side of the open plaza. It is less than 10 minutes to walk to the train station. (You can get a high speed Thalys train from Gare Du Nord if travelling from Paris)

There was one very annoying problem with the location of the room. While on the second room and facing away from the road, we faced the flat roof which had the AC units on top. Without fail at 1130pm and various points in the night that thing would get very loud and there was an audible hum getting into our room. This did make getting to sleep difficult as I am used to a silent sleep! Very unacceptable.

If we didn't have this issue I would have given a higher rating.

Room Tip: Stay away from the internal second floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here during our honeymoon. The room was big, a little outdated, but it did the trick. Overall the hotel was nice. It was in a great location, you are in the city center within 5 minutes walking. Plenty of great restaurants nearby. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

NH Brugge is a lovely hotel. The room was nice and big with lots of light coming in, the bathroom was big with tons of counter space. Great location with lots of restaurants near by and a delightful walk down the main shopping street to the main square. You can easily walk here from the train station. We walked with two huge suitcases with no issues.

The coffee to go in the lobby is also great and was needed for warmth as it was cold outside :). I loved Bruges and hope one day to return and if I do return I would 100% stay at the NH Brugge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here over the new year for 2 nights. Some friends we travelled with booked the hotel and after reading some mixed reviews on here I was a little nervous as to what expect. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Casselberge on our last visit which was amazing so we sort of knew to keep expectations low in comparison. Comments of run down décor and tired looking rooms were worrying, but…. I have to say that I was surprised by this hotel.

Now don’t get me wrong, yes the décor is a little tired and some parts of the hotel could do with a face lift etc but it’s nowhere near as bad as some people have made out. The staff were excellent, were very prompt in dealing with our requests and overall very polite.

The rooms were large and bed was very comfortable. I understand from others that stayed at the hotel that you may get either 2 twin beds pushed together or a larger King. We upgraded our room to a deluxe room and actually had 2 doubles which was a little strange but for 2 nights was manageable. There was a safe, fridge and flat screen TV. From what the others in the group said the difference in a standard room and the deluxe room was marginable but I didn’t see their rooms so hard to say.

Location is okay but in Bruges nothing is ever too far away. 10 mins to main square and 2 mins from main retail clothes shops. Also 1 min to the main public car park which is 9euro per 24hours.

Overall this hotel just does a job. It won’t wow you but will offer a comfortable enough stay whilst visiting the city. However if you are looking for something special then maybe look elsewhere..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 2nd January 2014, I can recommend it to anyone, families friends couples...we enjoyed our stay a lot. Good location, big and clean room . Brugges is a fantastic dream town free Wi-fi connection is a bonus.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Brugge

Address: Boeveriestraat 2 | City Center, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Sofitel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Brugge 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the historic center of Bruges, NH Brugge uniquely boasts all the modern conveniences of a contemporary facility within the antiquated charm of a 17th century monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, NHHotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Bruges
Nh Brugge Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.