We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good if you choose the right room...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pandreitje 16 | Flanders, Bruges B-8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Hitchin, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good if you choose the right room...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Pand is in the ‘Small Luxury Hotels of the World’ group. It is on a quiet street in the centre of Bruges, and so all of its delights and sights are within a few minutes’ walk (don’t even think of driving in the centre as the one-way systems will frustrate or defeat you!). We had booked a large deluxe room (30 Sq M) and we were put in Room no. 1. This is off the breakfast room. The room itself is a rather curious curved and narrow shape, which meant that some of the furniture was tucked along one wall and felt cramped, with a TV pressing up against the end of the bed, and a round glass table squeezed between the wall and the top of the bed, almost overhanging the pillows. Although the hotel advertises itself as furnished with antiques, this room had some pieces that were, frankly, just old and rather shabby. In contrast, the bathroom was very well appointed, clean and ample in size BUT it was a full flight of stairs down from the bedroom! It is solely for the use of guests in room no 1 and is not accessible by anyone else. But if you like us wanted to make a trip to the bathroom during the night, you had to negotiate the stairs. We had booked for three nights and asked to move to another room for our remaining two. The staff were very accommodating, sorted out the room change and our baggage, and we spend the remaining nights in room 301, which is at the top of the hotel (via elevator). This was fine, a large room, better appointed, again with a great bathroom. The only negative is that this room did not have very much drawer space, but for two nights that wasn’t a problem. We discussed the rooms with a member of staff; he thought that the junior suites were the best option, as they were very little different in price that the large deluxe ones (of which there are in fact only two, being rooms 1 and 301). We didn’t breakfast here, so cannot comment. Staff were accommodating and helpful (thank you Tom and Sarah).

Room Tip: Not Room no 1. Go for a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    580
    151
    36
    14
    5
See reviews for
69
551
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We know Bruges well. But this time tries the Pand. It was superb. From the Champagne b'fast, to the excellent and friendly service to the quality of the rooms
It has to be a must for people who do not wish a chain, but good quality and very central

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our 3 night stay in Bruges was a complete dream, thanks in a great part to The Pand Hotel. The location is excellent, near everything you need to be, but on a quiet and quaint street. We stayed in the deluxe room, which was lovely, clean and well appointed. There is a distinct charm to being in a smaller hotel while staying in such a beautiful city. Breakfast, which was not included in the price, was delicious and cooked to order. There were also choices of croissants, sweet rolls, fresh fruits, yogurt and more than you could imagine, served with a smile in immaculate surroundings. The Staff were very helpful in recommending things to see and do in Bruges and gave us a coupon for a free tour of the City, which we took advantage of. Since the deluxe room was basic, I could not give the hotel the 5* rating it deserves. Next time, we will stay in one of the Junior Suites. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are well appointed, but basic. I would choose one of the junior suites, which may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswaldtwistle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

we stayed here as a couple on a short stay . We arrived early so the staff took our bags and we went off site seeing . All the staff throughout the stay were very welcoming and pleasant and I think they gave a real homely feel. The bar area was very calming and relaxing and comfortable and the rooms had everything you needed. We cannot wait to go back and are already planning our next trip. Thankyou to everyone at the pand for making our stay special xx

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Pand Hotel on the weekend for our wedding anniversary and we totally enjoyed our stay there from arrival to departure. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful and we even received 2 glasses of champagne free for our wedding anniversary. The rooms are lovely and cosy, yes the bathrooms are maybe a bit small in the Deluxe rooms but nothing to complain about. The breakfast was heavenly, again served with champagne. There is continental and english breakfast and you get served both so there is plenty to eat and it's more of a brunch then just a breakfast.

Bruges itself is lovely and just the right place for a wedding anniversary. We will definitely come back to Bruges and the Pand Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel is lovely and the staff make this place a really perfect place to stay. Despite the rooms being on the small side, the atmosphere is fantastic. The breakfast was really nice with a little old fashioned stove right in the dining room so that they can make fresh eggs for you. The location is superb as well. This is most definitely a place to stay as they make you feel completely at home and relaxed in every way. They are also really good at sorting our dinner reservations or helping you find whatever you are looking for in Bruges. I only gave this 4* because the room we had was small but otherwise it would be 5* for sure. Also the designs of the room are really nice with each being in its own style and all quite charming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We loved the little Pand, squeezed into a street (near a good parking station) at the photographic end of town. Rather cosy and Miss Marplesque with a tiny bar where Hemingway and Mailer could have a drink, but not together! Rooms small but comfortable and functional although the splash and dash shower was the worst of all our hotel stays. Staff were business-like friendly and extremely helpful and knowledgeable and the breakfast service in a bright and sunlit room was well done and the lady who served us, warm and friendly. It had a tiny lift in which a fashion model would need to travel sideways, but perfectly adequate. Two minutes from boat rides, 10 from the Market Square. Quiet at night, comfortable lounge chairs, comfortable beds and a window to the roof tiles. Expensive but hey, in central Brugge ... come on!

Room Tip: No need to rush, main sights, restaurants are close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel

Address: Pandreitje 16 | Flanders, Bruges B-8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#7 Business Hotel in Bruges
#22 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel, is a Leading Boutique Hotel, awarded by the Tatler Guide as 1 of the 101 best in the world. It is situated in an 18th C. carriage house and is beautifully decorated with antiques, objets d'art and stunning fabrics of Ralph Lauren. The 26 rooms offer all the comfort and have luxurious bathrooms. Full breakfast with waiter-service and Champagne is served in the breakfast room, where eggs are freshly prepared on granny's stove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pand Hotel Small Luxury
Pandhotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.