We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel to match beautiful Bruge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux to your Saves list
Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Niklaas Desparsstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Boutique Hotel Award
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel to match beautiful Bruge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Think this should be a 5 star rather than 4. Everything about it was perfect for my 3 day stay. Rooms, staff and food were excellent. Felt very welcomed and everyone was very friendly. Location was perfect as only the main square is less than 2 minutes away.Only minor suggestion is lovely Belgium chocolates on pillow would be great!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your 5* rating! We are delighted to know that your stay was so wonderful and that you enjoyed Bruges, beautiful in each season and hope you will return soon! Don't forget to visit our bar Le Magnum on your next stay for some free homemade cakes & biscuits by our chef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    215
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
103
769
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Hotel Heritage to celebrate my birthday. It's on a quiet street just a block north of the main square and easy walking distance to all the attractions in Bruges. We found a special rate that included breakfast through their web site -- otherwise, breakfast is quite expensive as an add-on. The room was very small, but nicely decorated and well appointed with everything we could possibly need, as well as an iPad. Breakfast was good, with a variety of breads and pastries, fruit, cereal, yogurt, cold meats and cheeses, and a few hot items (eggs, bacon, sausage). The staff was friendly and helpful, and spoke several different languages (including English). My only tiny complaint was that they did nothing to acknowledge my birthday, even though I mentioned it when making the booking. In the past, I've enjoyed birthday treats ranging from a handwritten note to a box of chocolates to a room upgrade (I often travel on my birthday...), so I was a little disappointed that they didn't do anything, but otherwise we had a very nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Yes, our hotel's location is the most central one and ideal for sightseeing, shopping and so close to many things to do!
We feel so sorry you haven't received our Birthday Treatment.... we offer all guests a glass of Champagne when their Birthday falls during their stay....!
Thank you for your review and hope to may welcome you,on your next birthday for a memorable birthday treatment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel which provides luxury customer service, and lavish rooms, this Hotel will not disappoint.

Location: Based in the heart of Bruges you are within walking distance from the main square, and all the sites.

Service: All staff speak English, are extremely helpful and polite, and go the extra mile. We even had a hand written letter in our room addressed to us given a warm welcome to the hotel. Staff were always happy to provide restaurant recommendations and advice on directions to various sites.

Room: Crystal chandelier, king size bed which I must say was one of the best hotel beds I have ever slept on (including the pillows). Complimentary in room iPad , Nespresso coffee maker, large LED TV, fresh fruit, Bose radio (which set the mood with classical station). En-suite, had everything one would expect from a luxury suite, even underfloor heating.

I will be booking a room at this hotel on my next visit to Bruges.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your award of 'pure excellence'! We pride ourselves being Relais & Châteaux member and are pleased that you enjoyed our personalized service!
We're happy that you chose to stay with us and hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

An excellent stay. The room, staff and resteraunt were superb. Only negative point which was not the fault of the hotel was that the rooms at the front are very noisey with people walking past at 2-3am

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments! We are pleased that you had a wonderful weekend away. We are proud that our hotel is a historic landmark in the heart of the magical city of Bruges! Enjoy and ensure you a good night's rest on your next visit when booking a room on the rear side of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you to bruges and our hotel in the not distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Had a fabulous weekend in the Heritage. It's a beautifully decorated small hotel in a central location. Staff are very friendly & helpful. The breakfast is great and includes champagne ! The room was small but had everything needed including an ipod dock & an Ipad, Robes,slippers & a Nespresso machine. All in all we really enjoyed our experience in the Heritage.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are so happy to know that you loved our in-room facilities so much! Indeed a classic atmospere and modern comfort are combined in our Mansion House at only 50m from the Market square!
Ou breakfast is consitently praised by the press and are delighted to read you enjoyed it, especially the Champagne!
Thank you for sharing your experience with other users!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Booked a deluxe room immaculate, very comfortable and quiet with a seating area as well as bedroom and bathroom, felt like a suite. Staff were extremely helpful and efficient and thankfully spoke fluent English. On arrival they gave us a map and ideas of what to see with a discount card for some of the main attractions. Complimentary fruit basket on arrival and pre dinner drinks and snacks each evening which were lovely touches. Free use of an Ipad in the room was great. Breakfast was lovely. Only criticism would be no hooks in bathroom and poor lighting for shaving.
Superb location, the whole of Bruges within easy walking distance. When we checked out we were given a bag containing bottled water and sweets for our journey, another lovely touch. We didn't eat in the Hotel in the evening as too expensive nonetheless a great stay and would recommend the Hotel to all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Our entire team strives to offer a most memorable stay, and are so happy that you enjoyed it so much!
Thank you for mentioning about the hooks and lighting, which we reinstalled directly, sorry for the inconvenience!
It will be our privilege to welcome you again in a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the Christmas holidays, (28 – 30 Dec) so maybe that’s why it was so expensive but personally, I did not see that cost shown in the hotel. I never mind paying if its worth the cost but no breakfast inc which is a real shame.

It’s a lovely place, fantastic location but just off Markt so quiet. Very attractive and well maintained. The room size was decent, the décor not really my thing but clean and new furnishings. The bathroom light bothered us though, its mean to turn off when you shut the door but it didn’t. Our room was also quite hot which was frustating.

Ipad is great idea though. This still didnt prove the expense

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerheritage, Manager at Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your time reviewing your experience! Christmas time is a lovely time to visit the Venice of the North and high demanded season to stay, therefore we strongly advice you and all other travelleres to book our reasonable rates for a 4 star boutique hotel direct at our hotel to benefit our best aivalable rates, special offers or full packages....!

We work hard to Ensure that our guests are pleased from check-in to check-out. Should there ever be an amenity that is not working properly, we urge our guests to call reception immediately so that we may address it

Our location, and in room iPad are indeed a few of our highlights and are happy to read that you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux

Address: 11 Niklaas Desparsstraat, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bruges
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#2 Business Hotel in Bruges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#5 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated near the Market Place, the four star boutique Hotel Heritage Relais & Chateaux is within walking distance of the city's most desirable sites, including the theatre district, shopping district, gourmet restaurants, and popular tourist attractions, such as the Belfry Tower, the Church of Our Lady, the Basilica of the Holy Blood as well as all of the historic museums. Isabelle and Johan Creytens together with all the team, are very pleased to welcome you very soon at Hotel Heritage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Heritage - Relais And Chateaux
Heritage Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Heritage - Relais & Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.