We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap filling food for young travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Medard

Brasserie Medard
Sint-Amandsstraat 18, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050 34 86 84
Improve this listing
Ranked #392 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Continental
Restaurant details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good cheap filling food for young travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Good cheap food - a small spaghetti bolagnse cost 4 Euros and is huge and very filling, don't get the large at 6.50Euros you will never eat it all. Other dishes on the menu also cheaply priced. Close by to the main square, we sat outside. Had 2 bowls of pasta 1 small , 1 large , a large salad and 2 beers only cost 18 Euros - very cheap in Bruge. So if you looking for a full belly at a low price and don't have too high expectations then go here. Wsa really busy and you can sit out on the street. Service was really good all be it by a 10 year old boy, he was very efficent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    4
    1
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Value for money- small family run place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

As a vegetarian, it is extremely difficult to find things to eat in Europe. I saw a mention of Brasserie Medard on wikitravel and it said that the place was veggie friendly. Well 4 euros for a massive bowlful of pasta is fantastic! Do try the pancakes and waffles too, though they only serve them till 6 pm. It is a small family run place, with cartoon network playing on the TVs and slow service, so don't go if you want quick service. Reservations highly recommended, we were lucky to find space on our visit, but that is just because we were only 2 people. And it closes around 8 or 8;30 pm. But if you are hungry and on a budget, the place to be in Bruges!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good cafetaria food for a quick bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you're not expecting too much, and are looking for a quick, filling meal, then you could do worse than Medard. Definitely recommend the spaghetti, although be careful to stick to the small portion unless you have a serious appetite. Don't expect great service, but no-one spat on us or kicked us, so we weren't too displeased.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Verybad Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

Never again... Where to start with this restaurant ...we came across this restaurant in one of the tourist maps you find around Bruge, and I think you must have to pay to be listed and has nothing to do with the Quality of your restaurant, we had read about the fantastic Spaghetti so we said we'd give it a go. When we went in nobody paid much attention to us so we walk towards a table that a couple were just leaving from.. We got a nod from the owner to sit down. We sat here for about 5 to 8 minuets and then had to ask the waitress who had walked by us a number of times for a menu.. She brought one menu to the table, so I had to approach a near by table to borrow another menu 10 minuets later she came back to take our order we ordered 2 Beers & 2  spaghetti she wrote on a beer mat.We sat there for another 10 min  still no sign of any beers, we then noticed the owner finding the beer-matt and asking what was this.. The waitress pointed to our table, he brought us our beers and shouted the order to the kitchen, we waited another 10-15 minuets for our meal.. During this time we had noticed nearly all the tables had reserved signs on them and some that hadn't.. An Asian couple had come into the restaurant and were turned away, there were clearly tables available. So they do seem to choose who they want to eat there.. There seem to be a lot of friends and family there.. Children playing, Dora The Explorer on big Tv... We noticed 2 bowls of Spaghetti placed in the window from the kitchen, the cook wife of owner we think?... Then came out of the and sat down under the window area and chatted with friends and family, the food sat there for 5 min before I stopped our waitress ( Indian girl wearing Glasses ) and ask is that our food sitting there.. She replied abruptly YES! OK!.. The Spaghetti  was ok, but the service has to be the worst I have ever had.. Do yourself a favour and go to the subway around the corner or find a better restaurant than this, believe me it won't be that hard!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't be seduced by the cheap prices!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

During our trip in Bruges we had the map 'Use-it', which is great, but has one bad recommendation - Medard!!!

The prices are indeed really cheap. The quality depends on the dish. The normal and vegetarian spaghetti are good, but the lasagne can be rather called a cheese-soup, which tastes like mashed potatoes.
However, you must be aware of the fact that the food is not fresh and you can't trust everything, which is written in the menu - if you are vegetarian don't order the salad with goat cheese, it is covered with bacon!

The worst thing, as mentioned before, was the waitress. She was really unfriendly and incompetent. She ignored us, was impolite, brought the wrong meal (3 times) etc..

You can have a look at the kitchen on your way to the bathroom - if you want to enjoy your meal don't do it! We saw people sitting on the sink and smoking next to the food and the working space (which was dirty anyway)!!

All in all it was an awful experience! The Medard should be removed from 'Use-it' as a recommendation and the restaurant should hire a new waitress!h

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Medard also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Brasserie Medard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Medard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.