We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 't Zand

Cafe 't Zand
't Zand 21 | Hotel 't Zand, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050 / 33 69 62
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 520 restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
Restaurant details
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quick friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Pleasant and a very friendly waiter ensured we had a good dining experience. Although I only had the tuna salad it was wonderfully presented and tasted lovely.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    12
    8
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff wasn't nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We went to this hotel cafe because we thought it might be nice,we went in about 10 o clock ish,and the staff said you"ve got to be quick,we close at 10:30..Fine...I wanted a starter he said we haven't got any starters now we are closing..everything was rushed..so I said I wanted a starter but do it as a main..ins later all the food was here.the food wasnt too bad...but had a prawn cocktail all the prawns was black..but I didn't complain because we was in a rush.15mins later they kept on asking if we'd finished or not..so we said yes..then we wanted dessert they said everything was sold out.so two meal came to €57..
We wasn't happy at all..never going to this restaurant again..

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Got to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We ate here three times over four days and kept returning for the very good value of shrimp croquette, flemish stew and dame blanche dessert for 20 euros set price. We ate elsewhere but this combination weas the best for the euros and definately fills you up. The waiters are helpful if not singing and dancing, and you get bread and nibbles whilst you wait. Worth a visit and just on t' zand square! Thanks

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

My husband and I went to this restaurant on a Sunday night while on a long weekend in Bruges. Once the waiter realised that we spoke English, he quickly gave us an English menu. He also made some helpful beer suggestions. We shared an entree of croquettes (cheese and shrimp) and there was plenty for two. For a main I had half a roast chicken with blood sausage and a sweet calvados sauce, which was absolutely amazing!! My husband's steak was good too, but I think he had some serious food envy and has since tried to re-create the chicken dish back home. Our total bill (1 starter, 2 mains, 2 beers) was 55.50 euros. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, nice atmosphere, good price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The fish soup and local dishes are absolutely great. Nice atmosphere, we would go there again!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 't Zand also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Cafe 't Zand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 't Zand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.