We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to have a drink and rest your legs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hof van Rembrandt

Hof van Rembrandt
Eiermarkt 10, 8000 Brugge, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 74 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #291 of 570 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cosy place with sunny terras and fireplace for locals and tourists, many beers and a great food menu!!
Appletreewick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A good place to have a drink and rest your legs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Have been coming to Brugge for several years to stock up with Chocolate. We always seem to gravitate to the Rembrandt for a drink and people watch two or three times a day to rest our weary legs after pounding the pave. This place is not spectacular in any particular way, it is more about its reliability and comfort. If its raining, windy or very cold you can go indoors and enjoy the very large open flame fire, If the weather is reasonable enough to stay outside the seating is pleasant, a canopy is there to afford shelter from the sun and gas heaters are there if it is chilly and for the later evenings when the sun goes off and temperatures drop. The place is situated in a relatively small pedestrian area just off the main square so it is relatively free of traffic noise and sheltered from the winds. People watching is good entertainment. Food seems to be good quality snacking type level. On this trip I thoroughly enjoyed their moules and frites which was particularly excellent. They offer and extensive range of drinks. Service is always polite and functional.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    59
    18
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we went here before for drinks, and then we had no complaints,
but for dinner, this place is not so great.

I had garnaalkroketjes (shrimp croquettes) but there was very little salad with the croquettes.
my friend had a tuna salad and she thought it was ok but not superb.

will not come back here for dinner. Drinks maybe

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The lively square makes for a great atmosphere. The food was pretty much the same everywhere we looked - Mussels are popular as is the beer stew. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Eat here, fair price and good quality !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are searching for a nice touristic though cosy spot to have some drink of have lunch this is the place to be.
All the food i have tasted here is prepared fresh and with attention for you, the customer.
The spaghetti for example is a pleasure, for a small price you get a nice plate you can eat without feeling ripped off.

The pasta's and meat dishes are also good ! So there is no reason for you NOT to stop by and a have a bite. And no, i don't get payed to write this, i'm just a happy local willing to recommend this place to regular and new visitors of Bruges !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst treatment I have ever received”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I was alone, it was about 1130 at night I left a restaurant nearby and wanted one last beer before I went home to sleep. It was Saturday night and this was the least crowded place in the small square which appears to be the party side of town. I walked inside to order a beer from the bar, a waitress said hello and I said "hi" back with a broad smile. The two girls behind the bar then broke out into laughter and made a joke to each other I'm Dutch which was directed at me and was clearly an offensive impersonation of my greeting.. The girls behind the bar then went about there business ignoring me for around 5 minutes before the brunette said "yes?", I replied "oh, so you are offering service" to which she's replies "no, it's table service". Like it was hard to tell me that when I walked in. I was hurt and offended by their treatment of me as a solo traveller, reasonably well dressed and merely after an after dinner drink.This place is a joke, iI'd take a drink at any of the other nearby places.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hof van Rembrandt also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Hof van Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hof van Rembrandt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.