We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality Greek food in Brugge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas-Souvlaki

Atlas-Souvlaki
Dweerstraat 6 | 8000, Bruges, Belgium
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 520 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Greek
Description: Griekse Pita Brugge on Facebook
Restaurant details
Description: Griekse Pita Brugge on Facebook
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“quality Greek food in Brugge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

returned from Brugge Monday 18th February 2013 and once again had lunch at Atlas Greek cuisine in Brugge and once again was very happy with meals eaten !!!! this lovely little restaurant family owned catered for our every request !!! even gyros for children all food was well presented and cooked to perfection !!!!! we all agreed to return to return each time we return to Brugge !!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best Gyros I've ever had !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were so lucky to find this place by chance. Restaurants in Bruges are so expensive and in my opinion not worth it. The first time we went there we got pita gyros and it was excellent, the meat was one of the best I had and the owner told us that they really did their research to find the perfect gyros. The price for a big pita was 5 Euro and I can tell you for sure that you cannot find anything worth eating at that price in Bruges. The second time we got 2 portions. Of course the one was gyros and the other one was a huge meatball stuffed with feta cheese. The portions were VERY generous and we also got a salad each on the side. Just perfect. The owner, as everyone says, is very friendly, happy to chat and also recomment things to do in Bruges. The food really reminded us home and that was a very nice surprise. Would totaly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent value delicious Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Came across this smart looking Greek restaurant today. It is more of a take away but has some tables for eating in. Their speciality is gyros(pork doner) and souvlaki. They also serve Greek favourites like moussaka. The proprietor speaks English and helped explain what the dishes were from the menu. For most items on the menu you have a choice of small or large wrap or a plate which is very big! Prices are around 3 euro for small, 5 euro for large and around 10 euro for a plate. I went for the large gyros and my wife had a large calamari. Both came wrapped in delicious soft herby flatbread. They were filled with kos lettuce, tomato and red onion and a garlic sauce. You can choose other sauces if you wish. The wraps were generously filled and topped with some frites. My wifes calamari was freshly prepared, crispy on the outside and soft, not rubbery on the inside. My pork gyros was delicious, a mixture of crispy crackly pork and soft tender meat. At 5 euro for a large wrap this was hands down the best value joint we came across in bruges! It was a shame we weren't that hungry tonight but we look forward to returning tomorrow for some more tasty great value grub.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Good, cheap eat in a sea of expensive mediocrity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We wandered around for some time looking for something to eat before settling on Atlas (a lot of restaurant owners close up this time of year to go on holiday). It's a tiny little take-away place with few tables, but the service was great, and the food was good and plentiful. My vegetarian partner usually avoids Greek on the assumption that it's all meat, but he found plenty to eat here -- and for half the price of other restaurants that may have a bit more atmosphere but poor food. I'd recommend it to anyone on a budget.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic value and very hospitable owner, superb!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We visited Bruges recently and could not fault the city except for the prices to eat out! Found Grieks eethuisje Atlas. Wow less than 30 euros for 3 of us to eat with a couple of alcoholic drinks each! The owner was just amazing, very very friendly chatty and hospitable we just had to go back for a second visit and we were only in Bruges for two nights!! Fantastic souvlaki fantastic service!
Will be back there on the next trip!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlas-Souvlaki also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Atlas-Souvlaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas-Souvlaki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.