We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“causy night out with friends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Buena Vista

La Buena Vista
St. Clarastraat 43, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050333896
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #225 of 570 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Tapas, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Great local's restaurant/bar with reasonable prices. Food is excellent. We ate there twice and enjoyed their fish dishes and chili con carne.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“causy night out with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

we booked a table for 4 but at the last minute another friend wanted to join us. unfortunately it was not possible to him for the tapeo table. but he did enjoy eating à-la-carte.

we had a lot of fun and food was goregous. we absolutely loved the olives in their special, home made marinade. mmmmmm

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    17
    11
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dreadful food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Most of the tapas we wanted were apparently out of season, I didn't know meatballs had a season! Everything tasted and looked like it had come from Iceland's freezer section and just been shoved in the oven. We had an over powering smell of the toilets from our table and the only saving grace was the sangria. I was up at 3am with stomach pains and both me and my friend felt queasy afterwards. The chef should be ashamed of himself. Avoid at all costs!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious, inventive food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Loved the fact that both traditional & inventive foods were on offer. We opted for a little of both & weren't disappointed. Lovely setting & friendly service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chef and Server Ensured a Positive Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Famished, we arrived at La Buena Vista late one night hoping for some fresh sea fare. We were not disappointed! The chef whipped up a delicious meal with flair, and our server kindly recommended a complimentary wine. We felt well-cared for, and thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The customer is not king here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Me and a bunch of friends went here for the "discovery menu". When we made the reservation the chef explained us what this entailed. I specifically asked if it could be adapted to dietary needs because I am pregnant, and a friend of mine can't eat fish. They said it was no problem. We asked again when ordering, and got the same response. But when the food started coming out they had not changed anything AT ALL, not had they lessened the portions of which we would need. They ended the meal with a steak that was cooked bleu (bloody), I asked if he could take a bit of it and cook it through, because of the danger of eating raw meat when pregnant and he blatantly said he did NOT want to do that.
One of our friends couldn't make it last minute. They charged us for her portions as well, even though they could have easily made most of the portions smaller (like the ham, salami, patatas braves).
I ended up only being able to eat half of the menu, leaving me hungry after dinner. We all felt a little ripped off and will find another place to go next time. They definitely do not respect the wishes of their costumers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buena Vista also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to La Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.