We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pietje Pek

Pietje Pek
Sint-Jakobsstraat 13, Bruges, Belgium
050 34 78 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #247 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Pub, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was a little skeptical from some of the reviews, but this was a pleasant meal. The service was a little slow, but the restaurant was busy and the waiter was alone! He apologized, but deftly handled the restaurant considering he was by himself. He was concerned that we enjoyed our meal and the chef came out to check, as well. My fish casserole was delicious! I would go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    10
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Like visiting an old friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

You stand outside this small restaurant and look into a world gone by.The decor is like an old bistro of a film set. You enter and from the reception you receive you know its a place you want to a couple of hours in and enjoy a good meal. This not an high pressure fast food restaurant the service is very good and the food I feel is some of the best food of its type in Bruges, local fare cooked very well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We wandered in on a chilly Sunday and it was warm, welcoming and cosy and the food was delicious. Not being fondue fans we opted for the salmon and cod Waterzooi which was amazing. Very generous portions and great wine and beer, We will be back,so thank you! For those planning to go over to commemorate WW1 they are planning an appropriate menu and are happy to welcome groups so book ahead and enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Bruges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We turned up unannounced as a group of 14 on a Saturday evening and they immediately accommodated us by rearranging their tables.
The service was incredible , especially when you realize how small the team is.
The waiter was charming and helpful and the food was second to none. Between us we had the whole menu and everything exceeded expectations. The fondues were to die for, as were the tradition Belgian stews. The chef came out to check on us after the meal and to offer us a selection of stunning deserts.

Overall, the best place we have eaten in Bruges, lovely atmosphere, superb food and great service. Highly recommend.

Lexei

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Meat fondue has no cheese!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice restaurant and decent service, but just to be warned when ordering a meat fondue you have no cheese and basically just cook your own meat in oil and have sauces and some chips. If you want the proper cheese fondue you have to have the vegetarian option. Its a shame you couldnt combine the both as Im sure alot of people would have preferred that. If you go in a group I would recommend to order cheese and meat fondue so you have a variety and are not disappointed! Be warned the cheese fondue only comes with bread and a bit of ham!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pietje Pek also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Pietje Pek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pietje Pek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.