We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pietje Pek

Pietje Pek
Sint-Jakobsstraat 13, Bruges, Belgium
050 34 78 74
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #235 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Pub, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Hampshire, UK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Went here for our last meal and afterwards wished we had chosen somewhere else. We had picked a table earlier in the day which was around the corner, out of the way. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was good. The interior was a little confused between a pub and an upmarket restaurant. The starters were tasty and the house wine was drinkable. We both opted for meat fondue for the main, which in hindsight was a mistake at 26 euros each. We were served a small bowl of chips, four sauces, a salad, and a large plate of raw veal, beef, and turkey. The meat wasn't particularly good, and I think it's difficult for the meal to justify the price. After this we declined desert, and left with our wallets over 90 euros lighter. We didn't have a bad evening; we enjoyed the wine and the ambience was nice, but I think there are far better options in the city at the price being asked. As a last note, the owner was the only waiter working and became increasingly stretched as the night went on and the restuarant became busier, (judging by the food he may have also been the chef too).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    10
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“My Favourite Fondue place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We always eat here when in Bruges. Why because we love cheese fondue and they do it so well.
Nice atmosphere and good range of beer and wine. Pub/bistro type of place not cheap but good for what you get. We will be back on our next visit as always.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgas, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst restaurant in Brugge”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very bad food , I had stomach pains after dinner.Slow service from the kitchen. It is not a problem that is expensive, a real problem is that the quality of the food is zero .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I ate here last week and were very disappointed. It was a Thursday night so all of our top picks from TA were closed. This restaurant was around the corner from our B&B and while looking for a place to have dinner we noticed the sign on their door that they had air conditioning (it got up to 34C that day). We thought a cheese fondue would be fun, so we gave it a go. We should have been warned by the fact that there was almost no one eating here at 7:30 when all the other restaurants were packed. While the food was ok (basic fondue with bread, ham, fries and a salad) the service was appalling. The waiter/owner was friendly enough when we sat down, but once we had ordered he proceeded to completely ignore us. Upon finishing our fondue we were interested in ordering a dessert, but when my husband signalled to the waiter he just came over to our table and plonked down the bill without asking if we wanted anything else. (No one was waiting for a table, the place was still mostly empty) We didn't really want to give him more business anyway after that, so decided to pay up and get dessert somewhere else. When my husband finally managed to get his attention and ask him to bring the card machine over, he handed it over for the pin number and promptly waked away again. After another 10 minutes and the constant beeping of the machine he reappeared and my husband tried to hand it back to him so we could finally get out of there, only to be met with the waiter's hand in his face as he walked past him to another table. I have never experienced such rude behaviour before! Not to mention that the food was very overpriced - £26 per person for cheese fondue. Do yourself a favour and find somewhere else to eat. There are plenty of lovely restaurants (one right across the street) where you can get a wonderful meal with quality, local produce at the same price and without the rude service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good for traditional Flemish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have eaten here before a number of years ago. The restaurant is till in the same hands, and it keeps on churning out the same simple Flemish classics.
I always have the stew or rabbit when visiting Bruges, and the Pietje Paek does both of these superbly.
The restaurant has a warm cosy feel to it. The menu is not extensive, but it doesn't need to be to do the simple things well.
We had the Beef stew and the rabbit. Both were wholesome, and full flavoured, having been slow cooked for a number of hours.
Two rounds of beer and the 2 main courses came to exactly 60 Euros. I was more than happy to pay that for a traditional homecooked food in warm, friendly environment

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pietje Pek also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Pietje Pek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pietje Pek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.