We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B run by a great guy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de la Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison de la Rose
Save
You added Maison de la Rose to your Saves list
Ezelstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 213 Bruges B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gorgeous B&B run by a great guy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Maison de la Rose, which is a beautiful old house pretty much in the centre of Bruges. Marianne greeted us and gave us a guide book and other helpful info, like places to eat at (and avoid!). She was very friendly, as was Hans when we met him. The room was light and spacious, with a lovely big bathroom to ourselves. Hans is the kind of person you want running your B&B - friendly, interesting and very generous. When I left my favourite dress in the wardrobe of our room, Hans posted it all the way back to Australia!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay in Bruges at the Maison de la Rose. The house is difficult to locate (there is no sign), and it was more of a guest house than a hotel or B&B. No breakfast was served, and the rooms are not cleaned daily. This was just fine for us, though. The house is very large and beautiful and the rooms are spacious. The only problem was that everything smelled a bit of mildew, and all of our allergies started acting up when we got there (and disappeared when we left). Otherwise, a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 3 nights in the Bruges staying a the beautiful Maison de la Rose. Hans, the owner was there to welcome us and gave us lots of useful info about Bruges including a guide book that we used everyday. Even though there were only 2 of us we booked the loft apartment as we never like to only have one room. It was huge and perfect for us. There was plenty of room for extra people so would be a good base for a family. We booked the breakfast each morning which was simple but delicious. Freshly squeezed orange, tea, coffee, pastries, croissants, breads, parma ham, cheese.
The house is in a perfect location and a very short walk to the main square. A taxi to and from train station cost us 10 Euros.
We absolutely loved Bruges and were surprised at how much there was to see. We followed the guided walks in the guide book which I would recommend as you get to see everything. We loved the fact that there seemed to be a stunning church or building around every corner.
This was our first trip away without our son who is 12 who was on a school journey. We had originally wanted to go to New York but were worried about being so far away so settled on Bruges and I am so glad we did. Its perfect for a short break. We walked all day and ate in some fantstic restaurants at night.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We couldn't have felt more at home! Lovely welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The grey room was large and well equipped. One morning we had breakfast in the house, which was delicious and plentiful! We certainly didn't need any lunch afterwards! Excellent, convenient location. It gave us a taste of living in a 'real' grand Bruges house, rather than a typical, modern hotel. We hope we get the chance to return to Maison de la Rose!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Blue Room over the Easter weekend. It's a great location - we walked from the train station on arrival (about 15-20mins) and it's a few minutes walk into the main town. We were greeted by Hans the owner who was incredibly friendly and welcoming and immediately gave us a city guide, a map and list of recommendations on where to go and where to avoid. He also gives you his mobile number in case you need anything else.

The room itself is a great size with a very large and comfortable bed and a fridge (useful for keeping all the beer and chocolate in!). There is an ensuite bathroom with a large sink and a roomy shower. My only criticism is that I was a bit scared of the very noisy hairdrier!

We didn't book breakfast but Hans recommended several places nearby. This B&B has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the hallway is full of books making it feel really homely. It's almost like staying at a friend's house. We were even given a note reminding us that the clocks went forward while we were there!

Hans is happy for you to keep hold of your keys and leave luggage in the hallway on the day of departure so you don't have to lug bags around with you all day. You are also trusted to leave payment in the kitchen when you leave.

I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Finding the building was straightforward - there's a red rose motif at the top if you are in any doubt - and we were able to park out the front for a little while to unpack. There are several car parks nearby which operate 24 hours which suited us fine.

Described as a 'hotel', I would say ‘guest-house’ is more accurate - you feel like you are walking through someone's house - personal belongings, books and photos decorate the entrance and hall ways; none of your 'identikit' hotel makeover here. We stayed in the 'yellow room’, which was plain but tastefully decorated, with a separate but private bathroom. Both rooms were pretty large, our bedroom easily fitted a travel cot and the bathroom featured a separate shower cubicle and bath. The bed was quite firm – not to everyone’s taste but we both had a great nights sleep on it. Breakfast was unavailable at the time we stayed but we were given lots of great suggestions for where to look for the best Bruges breakfasts – all a stones throw.

Tips: Avoid dining on the market square - ask for better value suggestions. If you want to climb the tower - go early to avoid the long queues (even in March!). Try the Flemish stew with a local beer. If you have a little one, make sure your pushchair can cope with the miles of cobbled streets.

Although the hotel is not remarkable in itself, the friendliness and helpfulness of the proprietor and staff – Hans and Marianne – made us feel very welcome and safe, and the Maison De La Rose will certainly be on the top of the list next time we decide to visit Bruges.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We came to stay in Bruges in December 2012 for a christmas break for 2 days. The location of the hotel couldn't have been better, everything you could want to see in Bruges is a very short walk, the town centre is literally 2 minutes away! Hans and An were very accomodating and friendly, and gave us tips on the best sights to see whilst in Bruges as well as a very useful map and brochure. The room was comfortable and spacious, and the en-suite (which is no longer separated by the curtain as in some of the pictures, a door has been put in) was also roomy and had everything we needed. Overall, a lovely place to stay in the heart of Bruges and we would recommend Maison de la Rose to all our friends!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison de la Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de la Rose

Address: Ezelstraat 11, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GUESTHOUSE UNDER MAJOR RENOVATION - NO BOOKINGS POSSIBLEGuesthouse La Rose is an ideal location for uncovering all the romantic sites of Bruges and the surrounding area. We are located in the centre of town, next to the canals and less than 500 metres from the Market Square, right in the middle of the historical heart of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison De La Rose Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de la Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.