We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of In Den Wittenkop

In Den Wittenkop
Sint Jakobsstraat 14 | Sint-Jakobsstraat 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 20 59
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional regional kitchen - Comfort food. Everything home made with best ingredients and love.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Loved the ambiance, cute, small and you don't have to be dressed up to enter the restaurant. The food was very good, the staff very friendly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    95
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of our lifetime best meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lovely little restaurant not far from the Markt, it was a bit pricier than our other meals but well worth it. They fitted us in quickly and had a steady stream of customers, it had a really nice friendly atmosphere. I had pork cheek in red wine sauce and it was one of the best things I have ever tasted. My boyfriend had rabbit stew and was equally complimentary. My only complaint was that my dessert was quite small, I ordered poached pear with ice cream, it was a couple of slices of pear and a small blob of ice cream. The boy however ordered apple pie and got a humungous slice. Trust him to do well out of the deal!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Evening Meal in Bruges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We went as a couple on a weekend trip to Bruges and were looking for a restaurant to eat in on a Saturday night. Perfect mussels and fries, great service, very friendly. Relatively good value for money, most restaurants in Bruges seem to be quite pricey anyway. I was even shown the 'correct' way to eat mussels which I'm very grateful for! Could have turned into a telling-off but the landlady was very patient and smiling the whole time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cote D'Azur
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

One sometimes assumes that restaurants near the centre of major cities can be tourist traps. This restaurant is definitely not a tourist trap. The food is excellent, the atmosphere is cosy and relaxed, service is pleasant and undemanding. And it is just a minute or two from the main square and the Belfort.

Most restaurants in Bruges seem to offer a menu for around 37 euros. This restaurant does and it is excellent value.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food but could do with a bit more atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The food was lovely but the atmosphere somewhat let it down. We were sat on a tiny little table next to the bar away from the main part of the restaurant and one of us with our back to everything so felt a bit out of it. There was no music and not much ambience. The food was really lovely, we had the steak which was very tender and tasty and the rabbit which was also very good. The prices were not particularly cheap and we just felt that we would rather pay the same elsewhere and know that there would be a bit more ambience and somewhere where we could relax and enjoy a few drinks after our meal as well. As it was we ate our meal and moved on.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Den Wittenkop also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to In Den Wittenkop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In Den Wittenkop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.