We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zeno

Zeno
Vlamingstraat 53, Bruges 8000 , Belgium
050 68 09 93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Echternacherbrueck, Germany
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“This is an amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our favorite restaurant in town was closed. I had walked by Zeno several times during past visits and my curiosity was energized. I am quite pleased it was. We had the most distinguished dinner I have encountered in decades.
The service was outstanding; prompt, courteous beyond what is expected, affable, and responsive to our questions. Ordinary questions were met with extraordinary answers. This staff is exceptional.
We had the four course, a display of creativity in a universe I am unaccustomed to. The bread, the appetizers were impressive. I am a scallop expert, the scallops were far beyond the servings I have had in New England. I do not know how the chef reaches this level, obviously talented and from the sounds of the kitchen quite diligent and persistent.
Each course was a show, a paragon of presentation and taste.
This was an evening I shall not forget. Thank you Zeno staff. You are the top of the peak.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    18
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elegant, creative cuisine. Wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I am certain this restaurant will soon get a Michelin star. We opted for the tasting menu and each course was spectacular. Interesting ingredients, including flavoring with flower blossoms. Restaurant was flexible with rearranging plates to address dietary concerns. Best dinner in our recent European trip. Expensive but well worth the splurge

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Fine Dining Experience for a Great Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I ate here on July 19, 2012 for lunch and it was great! A great fine dining experience for a great price. We did the one course meal which comes with several appetizers and bread (20/person) and is pretty filling. Really really good food, nice quiet atmosphere (during lunch) and attentive service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zollikon, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Give them their star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Chef Reinout Reniere has certainly created an amazing array of flavours in the menu of this restaurant. Currently without a star but working hard to get there, the service we received at our meal on July 7 was very refined and perfectly complemented the menu. The menu featured many local ingredients including herbes, flowers, and other vegetables from the chef's own garden. Think of it like a flavour adventure. There were 6 separate amouse bouche starters before we even had our first main course. We opted for the 4 course meal (which is beyond the 6 separate appetizers) and definitely had enough to eat by the end of the night.

We opted also for the wine pairings and the pours were quite liberal. The 3 wines selected were all very unique but great compliments to the food.

We've been to several Michelin restaurants and this one is definitely different. You need to go in with an open mind and expect something different. However, you will leave very satisfied having gone through an amazing culinary and flavour adventure.

If you go for the full menu, there are 17 plates if you select also the cheese which is extra. There is a slightly smaller menu where 3 of the items are excluded. You also on weekends currently have a shorter menu where you get one different dessert instead of the 3 regular desserts and alse have one of the other dishes reduced. All in all, so many ways to make it work for you and it is such a great experience - - Watch for them to get their star.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Inventive outstanding dining in a relaxed atmospehere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We choose the full tasting menu consisting of some 17 courses, with the accompanying wines.

We started off in the garden for the first 5 or so courses before heading in side for the remainder of the meal. Inside are two rooms that sit 22 in total, small and intimate but very relaxed.

The courses range from a couple of small mouthfuls for the appetizers courses through to slightly larger portions for the mains.

The breads were made in the kitchen as opposed to bought in and these were excellent, we had one made with Brugse Zot (the local beer) and one with butter milk. The outsides were crusty and in the insides light and fluffy.

The courses were inventive and well put together with many interesting combinations. Particularly good were the:
Cuttlefish, wheat and wild cress - great mix of textures and flavours;
Green asparagus, morels and egg - a very soft egg yolk, hidden beneath a pile of asparagus and morels;
Lamb, white asparagus, peas and artichoke - beautifully cooked lamb, with a lovely fresh pea puree;
In the desserts there were some eclectic mixed tastes:
Bergamot and fennel - small meringues flavoured with fennel with bergamot sorbet, I loved it, my wife was not so sure;

The wines were excellent and we had 5 different (3 whites and 2 reds) spread over the main courses. These were topped up regularly, so you did not want.

Service was provided by two people who were attentive and provided excellent service all evening.

Summary: Headline cost is not cheap, but to be honest I have eaten in many other restaurants and paid similar prices but not had such a fabulous experience.
Go before they get a Michelin star and tables will be hard to come by.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeno also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Zeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.