We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We come here with friend to do some shopping and to take in the sights of Bruges . The first and best sight was the wonderful Grand Hotel from the moment you walk into the hotel you are transported into a by-gone age . The hotel is very stylish and has a classic feel about it The staff are all very very helpful , they look after you every need The room was out of this world even the view of the roof tops was magical the room was spotlessly clean with a amazing chandler huge windows the room was very grand
Breakfast was excellent
If you visit Bruges for a holiday or long weekend you must stay at The Grand Hotel Casselburgh .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    422
    73
    24
    17
See reviews for
259
1,051
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

After an enjoyable stay last year we returned once more to this great hotel. Not such a good deal as before but happy to pay a bit more. This time we stayed in the old part of the hotel. The room was a little smaller than the one in the new part but as plush and as spotless as before. One again never got to experience the wellness center so can't comment on that.

The bar is really comfortable and prices similar to the nearby pubs. Could have stayed there all evening but could only take so much of the Cliff Richard Christmas CD on a seemingly permanent loop - got to feel for the staff.

The breakfast is like an early morning banquet. Worth adding and sets you up for the day.

The WiFi only seems to work well in the bar area.

Our only gripe was again have two beds pushed together to make a double. Do wonder if they have any true double beds at all.

All in all a great hotel. Will return maybe in the summer for a change.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

my family and i came to this hotel to celebrate my 50th birthday, the hotel exceeded all our expectations, the rooms are large and the breakfast plentiful,
the lounge's and bar are welcoming and the fire lovely, the staff are very helpful and
recommend places to customers,
Thank for a great birthday, one i won't forget in a hurry.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the old building, lovely rooms and chandeliers in the bedrooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for 3 nights on a trip arranged by friends. The location is excellent, and we were able to enjoy this beautiful city with ease. We had driven over, and once the car was parked, it stayed in the garage for the whole trip. On leaving the hotel it was interesting to see how tight the car parking was. Had the garage been full at the time we left, it would have been quite difficult (although not impossible) to get out.
We had one main niggle with our room - when we went into the room, I thought I could detect a strange smell. However we must have grown immune to it - until the morning! When I opened the shower door the smell nearly knocked me out. Without going into many more details, this was reported to reception, and the maintenance team sorted it out very swiftly. It seems that it was something to do with the cleaning fluids that are used to clean the shower. Once rectified, the problem did not occur again, so our main issue was resolved very rapidly. Apart from that, the room was clean and comfortable, with a kettle and coffee provided. Single beds pushed together, and even worse - single duvets are always less than perfect, but we slept reasonably well. Breakfast was very pleasant, with a very good selection of food. We enjoyed the comfortable public rooms., and a few drinks in the bar together, before venturing out to eat ( the hotel recommended some very pleasant restaurants to dine in) The lounge areas were a delight for the men who were able to sit and read in comfort whilst we ladies went Christmas shopping. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We had a lovely break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Casselbergh at the beginning of December with a couple of girlfriends. It was our annual girlie getaway and we chose Bruges to coincide with the Xmas market. We chose this hotel due to its central location but the hotel surpassed all our expectations in every way. It was truly beautiful and a lovely warm, comfortable and luxury hotel. We had a triple room - not your normal 3rd bed as a sofa bed, but a proper bed on a separate mezzanine level! Bathroom was beautiful -double sinks so plenty of room for all 3 of us and our many toiletries! The public areas of the hotel were beautiful with wonderful Xmas decorations and the bar/lounge was a great place to relax in after a day's shopping. Would recommend this hotel 100% -oh and I forgot to mention the wonderful staff who were so helpful and friendly! Bruges itself is lovely -a great place to visit but the Xmas market probably wasn't the best - quite small and very busy!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a short break in Brugge and we are still amazed at the great hotel we stayed at. A really luxurious, well run and convenient hotel.
The staff were very well trained , even recommending and booking restaurants for us before we went.
The Christmas Market was not great but the Ice Sculptures near the railway station were excellent. Lots of other sightseeing and great walking. Wear comfortable shoes!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Helpful staff...upgraded our room, no charge, when I asked if they might have a room with one large bed instead of two pushed together (the usual way it's done). We had to be out and about early every morning, so they helpfully let us into the breakfast area early each day. The room was fine, the lounge/bar area quite inviting, the breakfast extensive and of a high standard. Only issue I have with them is a common one: their exercise area is inadequate. A couple of pieces of cardio equipment and one laughable "universal gym machine" type of thing that was essentially worthless. No mats, no dumbells or other equipment you could use to do your own sort of training. Still, altogether all other aspects of the stay were first-rate, and I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms feature two twin beds pushed together, and the cover/blanket arrangements resemble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.