We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My sister and I stayed for a two night break this week. We had the most wonderful room and the service was impecable. We would like to make a special mention of Bo who was wonderful, as this was our first stay in Bruges and not sure where to go she was so efficent and helpful. The hotel was very luxurious and our breakfast was amazing. Right in the centre of Bruges, easy for shopping and sightseeing, we hope to be back.

Room Tip: At the front of the hotel, we were and did not suffer any disturbance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    460
    79
    28
    20
See reviews for
295
1,182
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel was the best part of our trip to Bruges. We went in January, it was freezing cold and gloomy. I don't know what's wrong with people in Bruge, but everyone was horrible and unfriendly/rude. We spent most of the time in the hotel. Beautiful & big room with a huge bathroom. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked at fairly short notice and selected this hotel because it was central and had good trip advisor reviews. The hotel is decorated to a very high standard and beautifully furnished. Lots of high ceilings in the public areas and spacious bedrooms. Staff are all very helpful and made us feel welcome and comfortable - they all seemed genuinely interested in us having a good stay. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of Bruges. There were some disappointments for us - it turned out the rate we had booked did not include breakfast, not the hotel's fault of course but I mention it because the price for breakfast is E25 each which is the most I have ever experienced. Luckily we discovered that in time and went out instead.
A bigger issue for us was that the bed was in fact two singles pushed together but made up with a gap down the middle and separate duvets - and the blurb we read on the hotel talked of it being romantic! Still, we slept well as our room was very quiet.
I thought the provision in the room was a bit mean eg just one little pot of shower gel between two and just two each of tea bags, coffee and creamer - what you'd expect in a cheap B&B.
Overall though we had a great time and were happy with our choice. Despite the opulence of the hotel, the bar prices were very reasonable. Another time we might pop in for a drink to enjoy the design and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Casselbergh for 3 nights, and had an amazing experience. The hotel itself was stunning, and was very close to the main centre, many shops, and restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful, and the hotel bar was lovely for a nightcap. If I am back in Bruges, I will be sure to book Casselbergh!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the centre making it an ideal location for shopping, restaurants, bars. Our room was tastefully decorated with classic and contemporary decor and a clean bathroom with separate shower cubicle. The window in our room overlooked the canal which was pretty but a little difficult to see as the window was high up and the trees outside obscured the view which was a little disappointing. The reception and bar area is very grand with high ceilings and the rooms adorned with beautiful flower arrangements. Breakfast was a buffet bar with lots of choice and fresh bread rolls for you to help yourself. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Don't forget to book a car parking space if you have a car. Consider other rooms not over looking the canal. Remember your swimming costume to make use of the facilities. We felt a little ripped off that we booked without noticing these facilities were available and didn't get chance to use them.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the canal view. It is in a contemporary part of the building and some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Grand Hotel Casselbergh. We stayed at their old block in an Executive Room. I was surprised to find a modern room in an apparently old building. Our room has all the modern facilities and yet with nostalgic glamour. The wifi is working most of the time as well.
The location is unbeatable. It is right in the middle of the old town.
One minor pitfall is that one could hear street noise especially on Friday and Saturdays. That could be a problem when I am suffering from jet lag. If you want absolute quietness maybe its better to stay at their new block. But I will choose to stay at the old block!
Don't forget their breakfast, its outstanding.
One point to note, in Bruges their bus are usually cramp with tourist. Make sure you reserve more time for transport.
Its a pity that the weather is not good in Bruges.
Will definite stay at GHC again if come to Bruges again.
[GHC is their network ID]

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here in early November on a weekend visit to beautiful Bruges. A wonderful property that is literally around the corner from the historic town hall and the central market square, yet comfortably removed from the madding crowd. Spotlessly clean with modern amenities. We stayed in the new wing of the hotel, which is tucked in behind the old building that fronts on Hoogstraat. The old building including its salons has been beautifully restored to maintain its historic charm.

Found the rates reasonable with advance booking. Staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating - a real asset to the property. Ample breakfast buffet.

If you're more familiar with North American hotels, you'll miss a few things like an in-room coffee maker (tea and instant coffee are supplied instead, along with a kettle), iron/ironing board, washcloths, and a hallway ice maker. But I understand this is pretty typical for Europe. An iron, etc. can be obtained upon request from the front desk. Minor details!

Would definitely stay here again, and recommend to friends/family.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for something overlooking the courtyard between the old and the new wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.