We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cultural, classy and beautiful in just the right place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Cultural, classy and beautiful in just the right place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My 18 year old daughter and I arrived at the Hotel after a trouble free journey via Eurostar. We had been up since 4:30am, but we soon forgot how tired we were as soon as we saw our beautiful room at the Casselbergh Hotel. The room had the most amazing candelabra over the bed and a memory foam mattress. We have the best nights sleep ever. The bathroom was spacious and well fitted, spotlessly clean. Power Shower and Sunken Bath. We only stayed for 2 nights but I am so glad we chose this hotel. The breakfasts we had were VIP Champagne Breakfasts as we had booked through Secret Escapes. Food was all excellent, staff polite and helpful, provided us with a map of all the attractions. Mini Bar not over expensive, ...all that you could want. The hotel had lots of facilities that we didn't take advantage of. The position of this hotel makes it perfect for seeing all the attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    460
    79
    28
    20
See reviews for
295
1,184
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Perfect Hotel, perfect experience, perfect staff.Stayed for just one night, but I regret it because I would have liked to stayed more and enjoyed it more.Would like to go back to beautiful Brugges and definitely would stay in this beautiful hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely charming hotel with paintings hanging on brocade walls, fireplaces and rich velvety couches in the common rooms.
Warm tones of red and yellow reign in the hotel.
The "historical" wing is very cozy and very well furnished with quiet rooms facing the back of the hotel. Crystal chandelier and wood details are very well mached.
Since the hotel building is very old, if you have difficulties to walk far from the elevator, mention that when you make your booking. Some rooms are not close by elevators and there are steps to climb. Very pitoresque but not for disabled.
Very clean, nice bathrooms.
Perfect position, few steps from the very city center.
Parking to be reserved close by the hotel.
Only downside breakfast: the only choice of beverage was between tea and American coffee... So if you are not British or American there is not much choice... Buffet well placed with mid quality food. Only a couple of kind cereals, no skim milk but various kinds of bread.
Recommended for couples, elderly and quiet families.
Very romantic.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Pretty lobby/bar. Great location. Cheerful/professional desk staff. Beds extremely comfortable. Seems like a given, but I've had some mediocre beds in what should be decent hotels.

Plenty of good towels, and nice pillows.

Breakfast buffet fine.

Excellent value. Good for a romantic get away.

I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I chose this hotel due to all the positive reviews here, and I was pleased with my choice. Based on some of the previous feedback, when I reserved a standard room, I asked for quiet location. When we arrived at the hotel, the attendant informed me that my room had been upgraded free of charge. Wonderful! Based on my request for quietness, I had been moved to the third story in a beautiful upgraded room. I was delighted!

The room we stayed in was spacious, quiet, and beautiful. It had a spacious king bed, an enormous closet, a desk, and several different sitting areas. The bathroom was also spacious and contained a separate shower and bath tub. (My husband raved about the showerhead!) Important to me, free wifi was also available in the room. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast each morning, allowing for plenty of time to choose to dine. (From 7:30 - 10:00) In the evening, enjoying a glass of wine by the fire, we sat in the beautiful sitting rooms downstairs. Sitting in such grand rooms, it was easy to imagine the history of the hotel, and how such rooms were enjoyed years ago.

This hotel is very easy to get to due to its central location right off the Markt. We took a bus on our way there for about 1 euro a person, and on the way back, we took a taxi, which was only 8 euro back to the train station.

Overall, I found this hotel a bastion of civility in this semi-tourist trap of a town. While Brugge is architecturally lovely and designed, I found a spirit of incivility in most of the customer service type people with whom I interacted. For instance, every restaurant/cafe, I frequented in Brugge, refused to give me tap water since they want customers to pay for bottled water, which is both expensive and wasteful. When I queried people about this idiosyncratic policy, which seems downright odd to me, I was responded to with lies such as the water is dangerous to drink, which was obviously false since I drank it everyday at the hotel, and a supercilious attitude. However, to my relief, this attitude was lacking at the Grand Hotel Casselbergh, and my stay along with the accompanying interactions with employees who worked there was very positive.

Room Tip: I simply asked for a quiet room, and I received an upgraded room that was definitely quiet. I loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited here in 2010 and returned earlier this week. The hotel is excellent with really good rooms and an excellent if not always great quality breakfast selection. Being barely a stone's throw away from the Markt, it is also just a wonderful place to base yourself while visiting this magnificent town.

A couple of downers to mention though, primarily about customer service. Waitress service at breakfast is good and very friendly but the front desk service, while perfectly fine and friendly on the surface, is a tad chilly and transparently insincere. The absolutely stunning bar is a great place for a late night snifter (they've massively improved their selection of beers since our last visit) but be warned, if you sit anywhere other than slap bang in front of the bar, particularly "around the corner" in one of the connecting rooms, then you might be waiting a while for service. We waited about 15 mins on one occasion with no sign of the barman/waiter venturing out from behind the bar (yes, they are meant to before you ask) so had little option but to go up and order instead of sitting back and relaxing on our final night as intended. Minor grumbles maybe, but a place like this clearly aspires to be the best of the best and it's these kind of touches which make the difference. Overall though the hotel is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Pay reception staff a bribe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Right off the centre square, this hotel is a marvel with lovely public rooms. Our room is on the top floor with a 30 ft ceiling of ancient oak beams & slats with a huge crystal chandelier suspended from the top cross beam. The bed is gorgeous, all the amenities are totally modern despite the ancient building. The ambience in the room is lovely with huge windows that open over all a vista of red tile rooftops. Maybe we'll stay longer than 2 nights!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.