We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy establishment in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 101 hotels in Bruges
upminster
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Classy establishment in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Situated just off Burg Square in the middle of Bruges, this is a seriously classy hotel, where all the staff know their role and carry it out well with flexibility. Bedrooms and lounge areas are large and elegant. Breakfast is a real treat. The room is crispy clean, food is nicely displayed and there is plenty of space. The bacon and scrambled egg were incredibly light and tasty. Unsurprisingly, drinks in the bar cost 'an arm and a leg'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    960
    360
    56
    21
    13
See reviews for
211
886
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent four nights here with husband and friends and were absolutely delighted with hotel which is right in the heart of the city. The staff were very attentive and friendly, the breakfast was excellent - all food very fresh and soft boiled eggs actually soft. The bedrooms were well furnished with lovely comfortable beds and two good pillows each and the bathroom was bordering on luxury with L'Occtaine products provided courtesy of the hotel. Would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here as part of my birthday celebrations. This is our second stay here, the first being December 2009.

The first time we stayed here the hotel was getting renovated...I know now since we've been back, they were adding a new wing. The room we stayed in then was amazing, lovely high ceiling, gorgeous chandelier and HUGE bed! This time we were in the new wing and the room wasn't as big but was just as lovely and very comfortable. My partner and I, over the years have stayed in lots of different hotels and we always draw te same conclusion, no matter how nice, they're never as good as "that hotel in Bruges :-)!" And I stand by that 100%. I think like most people I never get a brilliant nights sleep in a hotel, but we stayed for two nights and I slept beautifully! No noise woke me up, not even the breakfast room which wasn't far away. The bedding and the pillows are to die for. Just a great nights sleep!

The have gorgeous L'occitaine products in the bathroom which is a lovely touch.

The breakfast was fantastic, such a huge choice. I had salmon and scrambled eggs on the first morning and a selection of meats, cheese and pâté the second.

To be honest I hadn't noticed a lot of the things that people have picked on in other reviews but I guess it depends what you expect. There isn't a restaurant but there are plenty of great places well within walking distance as the location is excellent. The bar is a lovely place for a drink before or after going out for the evening.

All in all, I can't wait to stay here again :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked a package deal for this hotel and it was great. The staff were so efficient on check in. The rooms were not very big but OK however it was 2single beds pushed together. The location is brilliant, close to Markt but quiet. Breakfast was good. Wellness centre didn't really work - steam room OK but not sauna. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight with two young children. It is a lovely hotel with very attentive service and in a good location, but what picked it out for us is their family rooms which are cleverly built up into the roof space to create a mezzanine for another two full sized beds. Excellent design gives a really good family room. One word of caution, the children need to be 5 probably to be safe 'upstairs', so if they are smaller then mum and dad go upstairs and the kids get the TV!

Room Tip: Family rooms on two levels are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a one night weekend stay for a celebration weekend with my husband.

Location
The hotel is right in city center, a few steps from the Markt. Parking area ' t Pandreitje' is just a few hundred meters away. The have own parking at the hotel, but much more expensive and limited spaces.

Accommodation
The entrance and reception area is very nice and stately-like. The bar and lounge area are very grand and has a luxury and historic feel. It fits the city of Bruges very well.

We got a modern room in the annex building, the room was quite large but looked out to the parking area which was a little bit of a let down. Bathroom quite large and separate rainshower. Bed was a little too soft for our liking.

Facilities include a gym and sauna room in the basement. Which is quite large, with a sauna and turkish wetroom, however does not have a jacuzzi or swimming pool (a shame as they do have enough space) and being located near the road it was quite noisy with lots of traffic passing by, makes it hard to relax and chill out.

Breakfast
The breakfast room is again very beautiful and has a stately decor, alined with the overall interior of the hotel. The spread was very good, lots of choice and personnel attending to make sure that everything was available. Very nice.

A minus we had experienced is that we did not realize that there were 'modern' rooms as well in the hotel. Apparently they had build an annex next to the hotel where the new rooms are located. While booking through their own website, it was not stated as such and because the website showed photo's of very grand and historic rooms we were a little disappointed with the modern room we got when we opened the door of the hotel room. I did ask reception about it afterwards, and they told me next time to mention the historic rooms during booking.

Also while booking I did state that we were having a celebration weekend / anniversary, something which was not addressed at any time by the receptionist during our stay. I guess the request got ' lost'. Which I found a tiny bit of a let down as the service of the hotel was actually very good at other areas.

Overall this is actually a great and very grand hotel, with good service and great location. Very nice stay when visiting Bruges.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building, not the annex building which only houses modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had booked a room at Oud Huis de Peellaert & arrived to find it was overbooked.Initially we were disapointed as we'd chosen our hotel with care. We needn't have worried.This is their sister hotel ,decor,rooms & staff all matched with the reviews we'd read on our first choice.Large beautiful room,super bathroom.
The dining room was light & airy & great selection available.
Staff were friendly & efficient,would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 101 hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.