We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere to sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Con Ampere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B Con Ampere to your Saves list
B&B Con Ampere
Genthof 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 213 Bruges B&B and Inns
Daventry,England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Somewhere to sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed at con ampere between christmas and new year for three nights. Dick,the owner is very helpful on arrival and personally takes you to your car parking spot. Advertised as car parking available I did not expect to have to walk the best part of a kilometre between the B&B and the car park which was in fact up a back alley near some other private garages,and for which we paid 7.50euro for the privilege.
The room was very large and well appointed with a very comfortable, very large bed.The shower was a power shower with excellent pressure and hot water.
Attention to detail is somewhat lacking however. Towels were not changed at all in three days,I had to ask for toilet paper on the last day and the floor ( Wooden floor) really needed a good sweep.
Breakfast was disappointing to say the least .While it may be adequate for someone of continental tastes and a very small appetite it certainly was not what I would call breakfast. No cereals whatsoever were provided,the hottest thing on the tray was 1 boiled egg.bread and croissant.a little bit of fruit and a yogurt.... Make you own tea or coffee.. Earliest time for breakfast is 9-00am, and if you are one of the unlucky ones even later as there are only six chairs.
to sum up I would have to say the whole place is friendly but a little quirky. and in view of the breakfast a little expensive considering you are paying near hotel prices.

Room Tip: upstairs Red room is lovely ,however stairs are very steep so elderly or those who are unable to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Apart from the above and the nice breakfast, don't forget to ask for their advice about what to visit and where to eat in Brugge. Next time we will go back for more days and enjoy the warmth and hospitality of the owners' family.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed for several nights at B&B Con Ampere. I had an absolutely beautiful, large,very cleanroom. Slept well. Not too far away from anything. So why the comment in the title? Well the steps are incredibly steep, the breakfast and coffee were very poor and, at least off season, I think there is probably better value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my husband have just stayed at this fantastic b&b for a two day visit to Bruges. Firstly, it is more boutique hotel than b&b. Each room is lovingly and beautifully decorated as well as spotlessly clean. There is ample room and the beds are enormous.
The location is ideal. Just 5 minutes walk from the berg and the markt although Bruges is a very small place to walk around anyway.
The owners really went out of the way to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Dick sat us down with the map, scribbling all the best places for value, atmosphere etc. We took his advice and he was not wrong. He also said which places to avoid and which were overpriced. A mine of info - who needs tourist information!
Breakfast was simple but filling and I can imagine in warmer weather it would be lovely to eat out on the terrace.
The only negative, but it was fine for us, was that the stairs were steep and narrow. Anyone with mobility problems would struggle.
I would recommend this place and would always stay here if I return to Bruges. I would even pay more money to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I would highly recommend this lovely little B&B about 4 mins walk from Markt Square, with beautifully decorated rooms and wonderful hosting from a lovely couple, Hendrick and Tineke. Don't be put off by the flat grey exterior - inside it is absolutely charming. Hendrick spends time with you over breakfast on your first day to let you know some great places to go in Bruges and where to get good food and drink for the best value for money. I really cannot fault this place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 week trip across Europe and without a doubt, Con Ampere was our favourite place we stayed at. Upon arrival, we could not believe we got this place for the price we paid (we had the Green Room)--we felt like we won the lottery!!! It was spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The location was excellent! Dick and Tineke could not be any friendlier--they were so warm and welcoming. They gave us extremely good tips about attractions, restaurants and pubs to visit while in Bruges and all were fantastic!! We felt like we had our own personal tour guides. We cannot say enough about this place and how it left us with such wonderful memories of Bruges. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Green Room is on Ground Floor. It is very spacious and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I use to travel a lot and stay in different hotels and B&B. From my practice this B&B is the best.
Very nice owners Tineke and Dick. they provide us all info about the old city, best restaraunts etc like the private guide.
Our room was nice and stylish (the green one). Welcome pack (wine, chocolate, water) also surprised us. Comfortable bed, very clean bathroom.
Location is great - just 2 minutes walk to Grand market and all POI.
As I know, they also provide parking for reasonable prices.
We decide to come back again and spend more time in this fantastic place.
Thanx for everything!

Room Tip: Green room is on the forst floor, but it is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Con Ampere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Con Ampere

Address: Genthof 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 double rooms and a suite, in the centre of Bruges. After a long day in beautiful Bruges, it feels very nice to relax in our B&B - you will feel at home immediately! See you soon, xx Tineke en Dick Stupers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your B&B Con Ampere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Con Ampere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.