We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, good value for money, service could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matinee Restaurant

Matinee Restaurant
5 Rozenhoedkaai, Bruges 8000, Belgium
32 50 33 97 82
Improve this listing
Ranked #417 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, good value for money, service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stopped for lunch here and after a long wait to be given our menus and have our drinks order taken placed our food order which arrived very quickly. I had the Flemish beef stew which come with frites and salad and my wife had the Croque Monsieur and frites. Food was nice and reasonably priced but I felt the service could've been better and the restaurant lacked abit of ambience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    38
    29
    27
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rather give this one a definite miss!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were in Bruges during June 2014 and revisited restaurants my wife and daughter also visited during their previous 2006 vacation. What a disappointment as this was our first restaurant experience during our visit! The service was prompt but without any warmth and friendliness. The food was bland and below average and definitely not a good advertisement to local cuisine. We also had to witness an incident with 2 Japanese guests who unknowingly took pictures of their food in the restaurant. They were told in no uncertain terms that this is not allowed at all! I believe any business can have a policy/opinion on taking photographs inside their shop or premises - but the way in which this specific incident was handled left a very unpleasant taste in my mouth as a guest who overheard the incident. Not a place I will visit again and will not recommend the restaurant to any other guest.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average fair.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Situated a few streets from the main square means that this restaurant is a little cheaper than some of the other restaurants in town. Service was OK (as I was the only customer). Food was perfectly acceptable and served quite quickly.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“An enjoying and relaxing spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

After so many discoveries in Bruges do you want a cozy spot where you can enjoy a drink, or lunch, or a wonderful desert? The answer is try Matinee. Close to the center is a wonderful place where I've enjoyed lunch with some specific Belgium food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My friend and I had a lunch at this restaurant. Wine was awful - we took white "local" one... very sour. My friend had mussels in curry souce, though they had only been cooking in it, were served without any souce ((... My Scampi curry was vice versa - had enough souce ))
Service wasnt prompt, but more or less friendly.

Would advise you to walk a bit further down the street....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matinee Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Matinee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matinee Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.