We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Bruges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huis Koning

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Huis Koning to your Saves list
Huis Koning
Oude Zak 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 215 Bruges B&B and Inns
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The only place to stay in Bruges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a wonderful welcome right from the start. Lynn sat us down and with some amazing coffee and home made Belgian waffles and took the time to give us a 101 on Bruges.
The house is an absolute credit to Lynn and Peter who really believe in giving the best possible experience to their guests.
Great location!
Wonderful breakfasts!
Friendly atmosphere!
Thanks so much

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
394
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
833 reviews 833 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
3,651 helpful votes 3,651 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived hours before check-in, tired and jet lagged, and were greeted warmly by hosts, Lynn and Peter, in spite of the fact that they were busily bidding adieu to an adult family of 6 who had just vacated the 3 rooms of their B & B. We were immediately offered cups of strong coffee which is made in their wonderful coffee maker which grinds coffee beans for each individual cup of coffee. We also had homemade mini Belgian waffles. Then, we were given maps of the city and a "loaner" guidebook of Bruges. The location of the B & B is perfect and you can easily walk to all sights in Bruges. We took off to sight-see until our room was ready.

We chose the Ter Reie room, which faced the canal at the back of the house. The room and the view were beautiful. It was obvious from the room, and the entire house for that matter, that the owners are sticklers for details. In the bathroom, which had a rainfall shower head, everything matched - the wall tile, the marble sink , the soap dish - and was very tastefully done. The bath products, l'Occitane, were the caliber you would expect in a five star resort, not in a B & B. There was a decanter of fresh water daily, as well as a homemade treat. The first day it was two jars of delicious dark chocolate mousse. The second day, there were fresh apple muffins.

Breakfast was incredible. The fruit salad, which consisted of at least seven varieties, was freshly prepared daily. Lynn squeezed fresh orange juice and it was the best I have ever had.There were two loaves of freshly baked bread - one brown and one white. We could smell the bread baking each day because our room was right above the kitchen. There were home made Belgian waffles every day. There were also croissants and other pastries as well as meats, a variety of cheeses, honey, cereal, yogurt and an assortment of jams. You could help yourself to as many cups of fresh coffee as you wanted and there was also tea. Everything was delicious and the ingredients were of the highest quality.

After preparing, serving and cleaning up breakfast, Lynn then made up the three guest rooms. I only saw our room, but it was spotless.

Lynn and Peter live in the top floor of the house and use a room on the first floor as their living room. The kitchen area where breakfast is served is also the family's kitchen. They have owned the house for 13 years and it took 3 years to remodel it. They have operated the B & B for 5 years. Lynn is going "non-stop" from floor to floor cooking and cleaning. She is so friendly and helpful and always has a smile on her face. When I asked her how she manages to do everything everyday, she said "I love it." It is very obvious that she does love it and, as a result, it is a wonderful place to stay in Bruges.

All of the rooms are on the second floor and you must climb a winding set of stairs to get to them. So, this is not a place for someone with mobility problems.

Room Tip: The ter Reie room where we stayed had a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Huis Koning is the place to stay in Bruges. Lynn and Peter will have you feeling at home the minute you arrive. They pointed us in the right direction to find the true 'HIB' chocolate makers that are actually 'handmade in Bruges' - as opposed to handmade somewhere else and sold in Bruges. They'll also share their knowledge of local pubs with the widest selections of Belgian beers in town. You'll feel like you walked into an impressionist painting when you see the view from the backyard patio, situated alongside one of Bruges' historic canals. The patio is the perfect place to take in the delicious breakfast consisting of eggs your way, a fresh selection of cheeses, charcuterie, fruits, pastries, and of course the famous Belgian Waffles, or as the Belgians call them, "waffles". Our room was cozy with a view overlooking the canal where we observed many ducks swimming by to the frustration of the local cats. Huis Koning is as charming as Bruges itself!

Oh, and they'll even return your hat to you if you leave it behind as I found out when I left my lucky Sharks hat in the room. Thanks Lynn & Peter!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

To get 378 'excellent' reviews (and counting) you have to be pretty good and having just stayed at Huis Koning for 4 nights, I can say that it is absolutely justified.

Lynn and Peter work so hard to make guests feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, our room looked over the canal.

The breakfasts are plentiful with a choice of egg, fresh breads, croissants, cereals and juice. Guests are welcome to help themselves throughout the day with tea and coffee as well as other smaller snacks.

A very nice touch was a cake or other chocolate surprise on returning to our room in the afternoon.

Huis Koning is conveniently located in a nice quiet area but barely 10 minute walk from the main Market square.

We loved our stay, it was just a shame we had to leave!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We've never been made to feel more welcome during our stay. Rooms are beautiful, the terrace is peaceful and the hosts are super helpful to make the most of your stay in Bruges.

The breakfast is tasty and mostly home made. Nothing is to much trouble.

Five stars are not enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Casares
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have stayed at Huis Konig B&B hotel for 2 nights in February 2014 and were very pleasantly surprised by a wonderful service that the owners Lynn and Peter provide to their guests. There are only 3 rooms in this hotel, absolute cleanliness, very tasty breakfast with good variety to choose from which is also included in the room rate ( we never expected that in the price of just 110 euros per night). Lynn personally bakes fresh bread and pastry daily, 24 hours access to coffee machine, candlelit hall all day around and desire to be at the guest's disposal and to assist with any questions they may have. What else can one would desire from a short stay in Bruges?:) We have stayed at Huis Konig B&B hotel for 2 nights in February 2014 and were very pleasantly surprised by a wonderful service that the owners Lynn and Peter provide to their guests. There are only 3 rooms in this hotel, absolute cleanliness, very tasty breakfast with good variety to choose from which is also included in the room rate ( we never expected that in the price of just 110 euros per night). Lynn personally bakes fresh bread and pastry daily, 24 hours access to coffee machine, candlelit hall all day around and desire to be at the guest's disposal and to assist with any questions they may have. What else can one would desire from a short stay in Bruges?:) Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose to stay at Huis Koning due to its commended status in the TA. It is well deserved ! The accommodation is well located and peaceful.
This may be the case in many other accommodations , and indeed we saw many hotels located more centrally in town, but we can safely say that Huis Koning will make a good choice. Peter and Lyn are professionals who can be trusted to give you a warm welcome and a very comfortable stay.
We were given the canal view room which was adequately sized and clean.
Lyn makes poached egg seems a synch to make and it was wonderful. Together with the home made fresh bread and the jams. Breakfast is very satisfying at Huis Koning.
Thank you Lyn and your mum for the rhubarb jam !
If you are looking for an in town accommodation then this is a very good choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Huis Koning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis Koning

Address: Oude Zak 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A B&B with a terrace directly on the water site, this all in a 17th-century old Bruges house, whichs we totally renovated into a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Huis Koning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huis Koning Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huis Koning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.