We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not have been more welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huis Koning

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Huis Koning to your Saves list
Huis Koning
Oude Zak 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 213 Bruges B&B and Inns
Cauldon Low, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“could not have been more welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and were disappointed to have to leave. Althiugh we arrived early there was no difficulty with checking in and were greated with a lovely waffle and coffee followed by an apple suprise in our room. The hostess was very informative about where and what to visit during our stay . The room was very comfortable and we were greetde by a fantastic breakfast the following morning. Our only regret is that we could only stay one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
373
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

It is hard to know where to start, Lynn, a wonderful host, cook and person. From the minute we arrived until we left, we felt like we were visiting a best friend!

Our room faced the canal and I loved watching the swans swim by everyday. The room was beautiful and peaceful with a spectacular bathroom and wonderful personal products to use, my favorite brand!

The breakfasts were incredible with fresh yogurt, fruit, cheeses, sweet breads, freshly squeezed oj(brings back memories of my grandmother),homemade bread...coffee...on and on just wonderful. There was always a wonderful treat in the evening when we returned to our room.

Lynn always had great suggestions of what to see and where to eat. She really knows Bruge and loves her city...it shows and helped us enjoy this beautiful city.

Thankyou Lynn for a wonderful time and delicious food, hope we can come back and spend more time in Bruge and more time at your wonder bed and Breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

All the excellent reviews are thoroughly deserved! It was my birthday while we stayed at Huis Koning and Lynn not only baked me a homemade little cake, but she left two beautiful homemade chocolate mousses and a bottle of cherry beer to celebrate with in our room. Lynn is an outstanding hostess with a charming family and her b&b reflects this. I would not hesitate to recommend this b&b, perfect in every way. Thank you Lynn!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This Boutique B & B has already received excellent reviews from other guests and we can only add to those comments.

The property is ideally located, an easy walk from the town centre and placed right on the canal, we watched the swans sail past with 7 cygnets in tow as we had breakfast on the garden terrace by the water.

The property has been completely renovated especially for a B & B and it shows, as it is beautifully completed and furnished and has everything you would want a Boutique B & B to possess.

Of course you also need a good host and they are also here, looking after you from the moment you arrive to when you have to sadly depart.

Very well appointed rooms (x3) with WiFi and beautifully dressed bedding together with a daily home-made"good night" sweet treat. We were in the Augustyn room, which had a bath and the most wonderful range of bath salts as well as a supply of high-end bathroom products. A real treat at the end of the day. The owner used to run a restaurant and it shows with the quality of the food, attention to detail and the impeccable level of service.

Excellent choice if you want to stay in Bruges (and you should as the town is lovely). Having travelled all through Europe for two months this s one of the best accommodations we stayed in and we were in some nice places!

You can also either visit Brussels by train or the WW1 battlefields, cemeteries (around Passendale & Yrpres) if you prefer - they are both accessible

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

It doesn't get any better than this. Brugge is a fantastic place to visit and this is the perfect place to stay. Lynn will be your host, and she will make sure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are wonderful and the breakfast was fantastic. Fresh ground and brewed coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice were nice touches as were the treats which appeared in our room. We were please to learn that bikes are available to rent at very reasonable rates, and the mini-bar is stocked with all the best Belgian Beers. This B&B had it all.

Room Tip: Our room was the largest and we enjoyed it. Does face the street as opposed to the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have to reiterate prior sentiments. If you have done your himework and checked reviews, you will be pleased to have selected Huis Konig for your stay. It is an "ahhhh" after traveling and wanting a comfortable big bed, clean room, good smell, right temperature and beautiful bath. As soon as Linn hears you coming downstairs, the oranges are being squeezed for the fresh juice. It is quiet and totally comfortable and Linn has wonderful advice and help. Location is perfect for walking to all tripadvisor recommended restaurants too. Take the Augustin room as it is larger and you will enjoy all the bathing treats supplied.
PS. eat at Ribs and Beer (if you love ribs) and Toms Diner.

Room Tip: Augustin is large and super comfortable with lots of closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a few days at this B and B and it is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Credit goes to hostess Lin and her warm and welcoming attitude. On top of this she is an incredible cook and leaves tasty treats in her spotless kitchen for guests to enjoy. If you want to sit outside there is a garden overlooking the canal and location wise you are ideally situated for all the main attractions. I really cannot fault this place and recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huis Koning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis Koning

Address: Oude Zak 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A B&B with a terrace directly on the water site, this all in a 17th-century old Bruges house, whichs we totally renovated into a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Huis Koning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huis Koning Hotel Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huis Koning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.