We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hogeweg 103, Bruges 8200, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 215 Bruges B&B and Inns
York
1 review
“Superb stay, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a really high class B&B, we stayed for 5 nights and had a fantastic stay, Bianca and Frank are so friendly and accommodating and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are beautiful and everything is to the highest standard with superb breakfasts, we cant wait for a return visit next time we are in Bruges. We had a fabulous stay !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My cousin and I stayed here last week for two nights and we couldn't rave about it enough. Frank and Bianca welcomed us as if we were family from the moment we walked in the door. Their renovated house is simply gorgeous and spacious and our private room was cozy, comfortable and quiet. We were provided with an unbelievable breakfast each morning with fresh breads with chocolate spreads, meats and cheeses, yogurt and granola, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee and Bianca even made us eggs on the morning that we requested them! It was so much food that we were able to take some with us as we got hungry later in the morning during our travels. We had use of their bikes and the ride into the main area of Bruges was easy and quick. Frank and Bianca were so accommodating and we enjoyed talking to them so much! Our departure to Amsterdam was rather early and we were concerned about catching a bus, so Bianca helped us by booking a cab which was right on time at our doorstep. I hope to bring my family back to Bruges someday and if I do, there's no question I would stay here again. I miss it already!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are perfect. It's in a quiet neighborhood, so you'll get a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really can't praise De Doeninghe B&B highly enough. Bianca & Frank understand that it's the little things that all add up to make something special. They clearly have class and style, appreciating the finer things in life. Everything has been renovated to a wonderful standard and the B&B feels warm, comfortable and inviting.

Bianca and Frank are wonderful hosts, always having time to chat and share their local knowledge with you.

We were visiting Bruges for my girlfriends birthday, and the bottle of Carva in the bedroom was a lovely touch.

So if you are in Bruges, do yourself a favour and stay here, it's perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is truly the highest of high quality B&B's. The house has been totally renovated and is clean, bright and airy. The room (#2) is spacious and the bed very comfortable. Whether a recent addition or not (see the 'good' review) there is a kettle with tea and coffee making facilities. The shower is a delight as are the breakfasts. Bianca is a most welcoming and helpful host. Although 10 minutes from the outskirts of the old town, it is an easy walk (or bus ride number 9). The road can be a little noisy at early morning commute time.
It would be great to receive an English news channel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBiancaQuinten, Owner at De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi,
Thank you for your lovely review. Indeed the TV-company only distributes the english channels thru the decoder since august. We're still figuring out a place to place the decoder in this room since the flatscreen TV is hanging on the wall. We hope to find a solution soon!
Kind regards,
Frank & Bianca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this lovely B&B over the bank holiday weekend in August and we very much enjoyed it.
The location of the house is fantastic and the house itself is beautiful.
The bedroom we stayed in was really lovely and the decoration is a bonus! We loved every single detail and took tips from them :)
Bianca and Frank are lovely hosts and Bianca’s breakfasts are the best we have had in a B&B.
Bianca lent us a couple of bikes and we had great fun going around the city!
It has been a truly unforgettable weekend.
Thank you for your hospitality and we wish you all the best.

Maria & Craig

PS: Hopefully next time we go the weather will be nicer and we can enjoy some time in the garden!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBiancaQuinten, Owner at De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi Maria & Craig,
Thanks for your very kind review and love to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
Warm regards from Bruges,
Bianca & Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife, Susi, and I were absolutely charmed by our experience of staying at this delightful B&B. From our first meeting with Frank & Bianca, we were made to feel so very welcome in their home. Our room was adorable and full of character and the breakfast, which contained an array of homemade delicacies, was probably the most memorable that I can ever remember sitting down to. The location is within easy strolling distance of the city centre.

Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBiancaQuinten, Owner at De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi,
Thanks very much for your very kind review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much!
Best regards,
Frank & Bianca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

What a delightful bed and breakfast! Bianca, the host, makes you feel very welcome.
The room is beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Good bed, good shower, flatscreen TV with channels in English, it's all there.
Breakfast is outstanding: fresh orange juice, eggs your way, superb hot chocolate, fresh fruit salad, different kinds of bread and so on.
We didn't have a car, so we walked to the city center (2 km, 20 min) and to the train station (the same distance, but in another direction). The walk is very pleasant, in a nice residential area (makes you feeling that you know the "real" Brugge, where the people actually live). A taxi from the station costs around 10 euros.
Just beware that there are no restaurants nearby, just a small grocery shop.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBiancaQuinten, Owner at De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hi,
Nice to hear you really enjoyed your stay with us. We sure enjoyed you staying with us as well!.
Hope you had a safe trip back home.
Warmest regards from Bruges
Frank & Bianca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hogeweg 103, Bruges 8200, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the city centre of Bruges we offer 2 luxurious rooms embracing the English country style in a completely renovated old Farmhouse. Each room is equipped with its own bathroom, toilet, TV, wireless internet and air-conditioning.Room "De Voute." This room is situated on the rear side of the house and is unique with its authentic wooden beams supporting the roof. Room "De Beneen," this room is situated at the front of the house and has a remarkable high ceiling with beautiful lighting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Doeninghe Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.