We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of de Bocarme

de Bocarme
Cordoeaniersstraat 1A, Bruges 8000, Belgium
32 50 34 34 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 570 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited this restaurant on the strength of previous reviews and are so pleased we did.
Food magnificent
Service 1st class
Ambience wonderful
We had the set menu(choice of dishes) which includes everything from appertiff to coffee(wine glasses are kept full with the correct choice of wine for each course) Patrick and Nadine deserve the highest praise for this restaurant, the whole evening was wonderful and although we have eaten in many good restaurants over the years I can honestly say that this was the most perfect evening I can remember, we will definately return

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Chris, Thank you for chosen our restaurant and your kind review, and for pointing out the value factor, we try to serve good food for a reasonal price. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Kind regards Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    36
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience in Bruges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was the best meal I've had for a very long time - everything was perfect, the food, the service, the wine, the location - everything. I can't recommend this restaurant enough!

We had the set menu with wine for 55 Euros each - this was incredible value for the quality of the food we received. We both chose the pheasant and foie gras terrine for starter which was beautiful! I had venison which was cooked to perfection and accompanied by potato dauphinoise and berries...stunning, the husband had the monk fish - so much flavour, it was beautiful. I had a selection of local cheeses for dessert - each one was delicious! Our meal also included an amuse bouche of lovely salmon and a very refreshing sorbet. We also had wines to accompany out courses, which were brilliantly matched, and tea and coffee following our dessert.

The staff were fantastic, very knowledgeable about the food and wine, very friendly and they were also kind enough to call us a cab and let us wait at our table for the cab to arrive. The restaurant itself is set underground in a converted cellar so there's a lot of exposed brickwork and it's very atmospheric. There are also gorgeous pieces of artwork aligning the walls which adds to this restaurants finesse.

What a fabulous meal - I will definitely return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam, thank you for your verry kind review, we are glad that we could give you both a nice evening with us, we allways try to serve food and wine matching eachother, so that every dish reaches a higher level. We hope to see you both back in the near future.
Kind regards Nadine and Patrick Van Moorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb Restaurant. Not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went to the restaurant on Monday evening to celebrate my wife's birthday. Having read reviews on Tripadvisor I had high expectations which were exceeded. This beautiful restaurant is located just of the Market square in a 12th century cellar. Patrick, the owner really knows how to look after his customers and his wife Nadine is a wonderful chef delivering food of the highest quality and presentation. I would advise that you select the fixed price menu(with choices)and pay the extra for Patrick's selected and generous wines to go with each course. You must book in advance to avoid disappointment. A true Bruges gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Ian, it was a pleasure having you and your partner dining with us. Thank you for your visit and review, we hope to welcome you both back in the future when you visit our beautiful city.
We wish you and your family a Merry X mas and a happy New Year.
Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Set in an old cellar hidden only a stones throw from the Markt square, we spent a very pleasurable evening at this hidden gem restaurant.

The fixed price menu's with wine are very reasonable indeed. The quality and standard of food was excellent as was the service.

Will definitely return..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear N8RJG, Thank you for choosen our restaurant while you where in Bruges, and for the nice review, we are pleased that you both enjoyed a nice time with us and we hope to see you back in the near future.
We wish you all a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year.
Kind regards Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schilde, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the better restaurants in Bruges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

In a beautifull 12th century cellar you will find this very good restaurant. You are friendly welcomed by the owner, his wife is working in the open kitchen. Unfortunately we were the only guests that particular night, the next couple arrived about an hour later.
We went for the set menu and were very pleased with the quality, the freshnes of the products used and the way the food was prepared and served at the table.
What a difference with the restaurants on the place of the Belfort or near the MInnewater.
We will certainly go back there on our next visit to Bruges.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick V, Owner at de Bocarme, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Raymond, thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you both had a enjoyable evening with us and hope to see you back soon in Bruges.
Kind regards Nadine and Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Bocarme also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to de Bocarme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Bocarme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.