We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Histroy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Centre of Brugge

Historic Centre of Brugge
Markt, Bruges, Belgium
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$173*
and up
Paris to Bruges Day Trip
Ranked #1 of 56 Attractions in Bruges
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The historic center of Bruges has been designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000 thanks to its status as one of the commercial and cultural capitals of Europe and its enduring Gothic architecture. The Belgian city center is cited as a great example of a medieval historic settlement, even while it has evolved over the years.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
147 attraction reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Lots of Histroy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was fun to walk around the center of Bruge and see all of the historical buildings, many are older than anything we have in the US. A busy area for tourists, avoid the weekends.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,138
    912
    90
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful City...but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've visited Bruges a few times now and this entry is for the City in general....am always struck by the history and architecture of the place ....

This time however I got the distinct feeling that there was always someone wanting to pull my pants down and spank my backside with the rip-off prices!

A two day visit which will probably be my last for a very long time!

Only the Segway tour saved the day, a great way to see things, thanks Charlie!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bruges!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was a short and sweet visit before I headed back to the UK. But I will most certainly be back soon to explore the endless quirky streets of Bruges.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

History, architecture, food, chocolate. Romantic town, you step back in time when you come here. Plan for 2 days but plan carefully if one of them is Monday. Most museums will be closed then but there are still many other things to do and see.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to wander around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

though a few too many other tourists! Take comfortable shoes. And watch out for bikes. You will need to buy plenty of chocolates to give you the energy to keep walking. Fortunately there is no shortage of chocolate shops.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Centre of Brugge also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Historic Centre of Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Centre of Brugge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.