We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday before New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse 17

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guesthouse 17
Pandereitje 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 211 Bruges B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sunday before New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent service,and wonderful place to be in Bruges
Small double room on 2nd floor but very nice with view of quite street
Perfect for a few night visit to Bruges and wonderful position near centre of town

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and couldn't rate it more highly. Service was fantastic, rooms beautiful and spacious. Wasn't expecting it to be such a high standard considering it's not a hotel. Location is great for the centre of Brugge, within walking distance of everything.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Fabulous location in the centre of town. 4 room guesthouse run by a young couple. Nothing too much trouble. Loads of restaurants and bars 5 mins away.We were on a driving trip around the Great War sites of Ypres, Passchendaele etc which are only 30 mins drive away. The good thing about this Guesthouse is that it has a spare garage for your car - essential for us. Lovely people. No restaurant but breakfast good and if you ask for something extra, I'm sure they would accommodate. Full wi-fi. Tip - Bruges has only a few ATM's. Second tip - go to the so-called "Trenches of Death" on the Isper Canal - its not in the British Guide Books because the Belgians were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Beautiful accommodation in great location, right in town, charming hosts in an exquisitely decorated restored classic building. Comfortable bed, beautiful outlook, in a beautiful town, very quiet. Everything you could want and a great breakfast. The owners even gave us their garage to park our car. Bruges is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A nice enough B&B with comfy beds and large rooms but very smelly drains in the rather small bathroom. To be fair the whole of Bruges has a bad drain smell coming from, I assume, the canals.
Unlike some reviews, I found the smell as you enter the house entirely cloying as it comes from an electric diffuser which sprays every time someone enters the front door. Not great for asthmatics!
The place however is spotlessly clean and the young couple who own it are helpful. The property is very well placed for walking around Bruges and it is close to the bus stop for getting to the railway station etc.
Continental breakfast was good although a little early for my liking.

Room Tip: Only three rooms so no real choice but one seemed slightly larger as it had a small corridor to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It's a girls trip needing to balance the luxury taste of my friend and the small budget of mine. I settled on guesthouse 17 as the perfect marriage from the options on the Internet.

It exceeded both of our expectation.

A wonderful sweet smell greeted us when we entered the house and the room was huge with a well appointed bathroom done tastefully. The free wifi works well and everything is very clean and comfortable.

The location is unbeatable and just mins from the market square.

Highly recommended and definitely amazing value for money

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in this stylish and beautifully decorated B&B. We had a spacious room (no.3) with a large and very comfortable bed. The bathroom was small but well appointed, featuring a walk in shower (no bath).
Breakfast was continental in style and held in a peaceful dining/breakfast room which included all (and more) of what we expected - with ample and varied choices.
The B&B is well located and situated just off one of the most picturesque corners of Brugge, making it an ideal, central location for all the attractions Brugge has to offer.
Stefaan and Barbara were most welcoming hosts, always available when needed. Stefann came to our assistance on the day we left when we ran into a problem - he couldn't have been more helpful dispite being busy.
We would have liked to offer some constructive criticism, however after much thought we could not find any fault with this delightful, peaceful and smart B&B and should we visit Brugge again, we would certainly want to stay here.

Room Tip: Well worth requesting a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guesthouse 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse 17

Address: Pandereitje 17, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guesthouse 17 to your Saves list