We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay of 3 days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sint Andries Cruyse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sint Andries Cruyse
Save
You added Sint Andries Cruyse to your Saves list
Verversdijk 15a, Bruges, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 213 Bruges B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delightful stay of 3 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Luc picked my two daughters and I up rather late at the train station, welcomed us, then showed us some city landmarks on the way back to his home. Gave us a tour of the home and oriented us to the shared bathroom and shower and our lovely room. He then offered a late night snack and drink and asked what time we would like to have breakfast the next a.m.~ Our room was well appointed, quite large, and charming. And, there was a view of a canal from our upstairs window. Beds were dressed with high quality linens and comfortable. Breakfast next morning included eggs, cheese, ham, fresh fruit, and yummy pastries. Also, juice, coffee,milk, and cereal. It was fun to meet other guests while we enjoyed breakfast together. Took us about 15-20 minutes to get to the center Market Square ( I am a fairly slow walker and had to make brief stops along the way ). My girls made it in about 10 minutes. The only downside was having the communal bath and shower, but must say they were both scrupulously clean and we never had a traffic jam to use them. We would happily return to enjoy the great hospitality and lovely accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We missed the B&B the first time down the street. It's on a canal with a one-way street - just go slowly or make another pass around the block if you miss it. We had arranged for our car to be parked in the on-site garage, but it was a bit too long so we were obliged to pay for street parking. Make sure you find the parking machine on the street & leave the ticket in your window.

It was a fairly short walk into the main square & to the main attractions - (the longest walk was maybe 20-30 minutes to the Church of Our Lady which housed the Michalangelo statue). Luc was very nice but seemed to be late for a function. He helped us up to our room (up a tight spiral staircase) and showed us around before leaving. Our internet did not work which was a little problem - we had planned on this. Luc said that he'd been having problems with it. I overheard another guest ask whether he could use his personal computer, which he had allowed.

Breakfast was very nice. The floors were really squeaky particularly if trying to quietly tiptoe to the hallway bathroom in the middle of the night. It was a nice old canal house - it looked very historic. The shower was pretty cool - numerous jets and music - but in a shared shower room. Overall a really nice, comfortable stay. Bring your raincoats & umbrellas, though - we had really chilly, wet weather in Sept!

Room Tip: The family room had 2 double beds & was quite spacious for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton. Ontario
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September 2012 . This is a great location, close to the center of town but far enough away from the noisy crowds. We had a large room with a view of the canal and a large comfortable bed.
Luc is a wonderful host who is very friendly and helpful. He picked us up at the train station and the whole way back to his lovely home he kept pointing out places we should see , shops we should visit and some history of the town. The boat tours of the canals pass right in front of his residence. When we departed he dropped us back off at the train station and wished us good luck on the rest of our trip. We felt like he treated us like one of his family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Sint Andries Cruyse in Bruges for one night in July, what a charming guesthouse! The location is perfect, overlooking the canal, close to the main square, yet away from the crowds. Most places in Bruges require a 2-night minimum over the weekend, but since our schedule only permitted one night, I was referred to Sint Andries Cruyse by another hotel. I am so glad we were introduced to this lovely spot. Luc responded promptly to my many inquiries by e-mail, and called me when he was at the train station to pick us up. Unfortunately we had missed our connection in Antwerp, but he was very understanding. (Tip: Tell the train manager if you have a connection, so they can hold the train for you. We learned this too late.) We took a cab from the train station, and he met us at the guest house.

We stayed in the family room, which is huge and overlooking the canal. It has a separate bath, but it is dedicated for that room. The giant bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful - coffee, juice, fruit, breads and sweet rolls, cheese, meats, eggs, yogurt, plus a variety of spreads including speculoos! There are complimentary sodas and beer, as well as fruit, snacks, and chocolates for during the day. There was a TV, puzzles and games in the room, and guidebooks and information about attractions are available as well.

Luc was really welcoming and even takes a picture of all his guests. When he drove us to the train station, he pointed out buildings, city entrances, and told us more about the history of Bruges. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in May. Luc and Marie were incredible hosts -- very friendly and eager to please. We stayed in the family room which was very comfortable and more space than we needed. Four people would be very comfortable there. The only negative was the shared bathroom, mainly because we didn't expect it and because we had a full house on the nights we stayed. The location is really fantastic -- only about 5 minutes to the main square and away from all the tourists. The oldest bar in Bruges -- Cafe Vlissinghe, which has been continuously operating since 1515, is just steps away. Other good restaurants are also very close as well. The breakfast was great and on our last morning, Luc took us to the train station and gave us a little tour of Bruges along the way. All in all a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: I would ask if any of the rooms have a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife, son (10), and I spent two night here in late June (26 and 27), and we very much enjoyed our stay. The location is very nice; right on a canal and a very short walk to the Burg and the Market Square. Our room, the family room, was extremely spacious, with two queen or king sized beds. There was also a little sitting area, a nice TV, and windows overlooking the canal. Our private bathroom had a very nice shower, with it's own stereo and body jets. We were the only people staying there at the time, so the house was very quiet. We looked at the other rooms, and they were as nice as ours, but perhaps not as large.

Luc, the proprietor, was an excellent host. He served breakfast for us each morning, chatted with us some, but generally left us to be on our own. Breakfast was croissants, ham, cheese, eggs, toast with jam, fresh juice, etc. There were always snacks available, and Coke and beer were there for us whenever we were thirsty. As we did not have a cell phone, we did not take Luc up on his offer to pick us up at the train station (the cab ride was short and inexpensive), but we did have him take us and our extensive set of luggage to the station when we were moving on. It was a very nice perk.

If we return to Bruges, I would not hesitate to stay here again. It met all of our needs beautifully.

Room Tip: The family room is very large, but there is some street noise when the windows are open. It overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

From Notes: easy to locate by taxi; close to town square; quiet; shared bathroom, but not inconvenient as only two other guests; excellent breakfast; very personable, interesting host (Luc); fairly fluent in English; cash only; he was nice enough to bring our bags to train station at no cost; quiet upstairs room; good sleep; interesting history to home; competitive price to other options in Bruges; brochures and maps available in lobby; comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of baggage, get a lower floor room; stairway is a bit tricky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sint Andries Cruyse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sint Andries Cruyse

Address: Verversdijk 15a, Bruges, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sint Andries Cruyse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.