We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diligence

Diligence
Hoogstraat 5, Bruges 8000 , Belgium
32 50 33 16 60
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 520 restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Crawley, West sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent meal again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We fell in love with this place last year when we were in Bruges and went back again this year as it was around the corner from the apartment we stayed in so easy to get to. Another wonderful meal. The goats cheese starter was delicious and the steak was done to perfection. The service is very good and a lovely cosy little restaurant. What more do you want?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    54
    29
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Diligence was located directly across from our hotel. We had walked around Bruges all day and after a stop at the hotel, we decided to eat nearby. We went early to assure that we could get a table without a reservation. It is quite a small place, but quite cozy and comfortable. We both enjoyed an excellent lasagna. There appeared to be only 3 employees in this small place. The hostess/server handled the dining area by herself, leaving only two to prepare all the food. We would definitely eat there again. Prices were reasonable for Europe.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quality little extra touches that make it special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Belgian cuisine is a well kept secret in the UK. This restaurant has lovely home-cooked food at a good price by Belgian standards (there are no buy one get one free or other offers in Bruges and eating out is around the same price at 40 euros a head by the time you have had a beer). Belgian service does not seem to be with a smile anywhere - it is functional rather than warm! At Diligence, they care for your personal needs and are recommended by Huis t'Schaep which is an excellent bed and breakfast so I think their standard must be consistently good. Vinaigrette lovely, a house special tapas whilst waiting, lovely goats cheese starter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Closest to Grand Hotel Casselburgh Bruges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived in Bruges late in the afternoon to stay in the Grand Hotel Casselbergh.

It was raining and we had to eat somewhere so asked the hotel barman who recommended the Diligence which is literally across the road.

This was good for us as we did not want to go too far in the rain as my wife is in a wheelchair.

The restaurant is fairly small and cosy and apparently run by a couple.

We were served by a friendly lady and ordered from a fairly limited menu.

My wife ordered a lasagne and I had chicken with a green pepper sauce washed down with the obligatory glass of Brugsie Zot.

The food was very good and the restaurant was about three quarters full at 7.30pm with a good atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pub/restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Restaurant food and drink in Bruges is generally expensive but the Diligence provides a good choice with cheaper dishes. We had meatballs and lasagne meals which were excellent value.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diligence also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Diligence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diligence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.