We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food, lovely warm ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diligence

Diligence
Hoogstraat 5, Bruges 8000 , Belgium
32 50 33 16 60
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Spotslyvania VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great local food, lovely warm ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just up the street from our hotel, this little gem was recommended by the reception clerk. Warm and friendly people own it, made great recommendations and served us delicious local specialties. I loved the rich vissoeppe, fish soup.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great casual restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Based on the good reviews, we went here (it did hurt that it was across the road from our hotel). We weren’t disappointed. My girlfriend and I shared traditional shrimp and cheese croquettes, which were excellent. She then had cod in a mustard sauce, which was one of the nicest pieces of fish I have seen and she really enjoyed. I had a steak with pepper sauce, which was very tasty. Overall great food and service, and very reasonably priced. Bruges makes you realise how expensive London is.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on trip advisor reviews and was glad we did!
It is a lovely, homely, traditional restaurant run by a really nice and friendly husband and wife team. They were extremely welcoming. It felt a little like going home!
The decor is old fashioned and it feels very warm and inviting. The lighting is nice, not too bright and the wooden bar and tables add to the ambience.
We started with Cheese croquettes which were surprisingly light and fluffy and my wife had the smoked salmon which was very nice. Main course I had the Sole which was a very generous 3 pieces and my wife had warm goats cheese salad which she said tasted very fresh and the cheese was nicely melted. My sole was delicious.
Really great atmosphere, I would recommend reserving a table as they were full when we went. She also said that they were closed Tuesday and Wednesday so worth checking.
If you are looking for nice food and atmosphere with no frills but very authentic, then go here and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, Iowa USA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been returning year after year to this particular restaurant for over 10 years (We will see you back in May 2013) :-) The cozy restaurant is ran by an awesome couple and as far as I can see, they do it all themselves. Providing great service,exceptional food- on our annual vacation to Belgium this is ALWAYS a must!!!! I highly recommend the Deligence. l have been here with children as well ---very accommodating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner at Diligence, Bistro Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Friendly owners, efficient service, excellent food, good value.
Optional choice of two set menus (20 or 30Euros). Lots of fish choices. Highly recommend fish shop and delicious goats cheese salad starters. Generous portions.
We had two courses each and a bottle of house wine for 80Euros.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diligence also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Diligence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diligence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.