We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing start.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vivaldi Restaurant

Vivaldi Restaurant
Wijngaardstraat 24, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050/34 44 68
Improve this listing
Ranked #428 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A disappointing start.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Having gone to Bruges at the start of our holiday specially (as everyone had suggested we should), this was a disappointment. The set menus would have been reasonable value if they hadn't been served ruthlessly at break-neck speed; the "dessert course" was grainy Chocolate Mousse and nothing else; and, the white wine liquor which accompanied the mussels was a watery celery stew. However, the steaks were good. Overall, a disappointment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    47
    37
    34
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent menu, loads of choice, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Dined here whilst staying in Brugge, it was 2 minutes walk from our hotel, The Academie, and recommended by our Tour Manager. The menu was extremely varied, from set price menus to a la carte. I opted for mussels in white wine although there were many other variations on offer, they were superb and a very large portion. The speciality beef stew was equally nice. Would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“NIce restaurant 100 metre from Acadamie Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

WE had been recommended to visit this as it had good reviews on Trip Adviser. Food very good although a little 'pricey'. The 'rabbit speciality' was disappointing but the other meals were very good, including the mussels.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very fast service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

As others have mentioned we were recommended this restaurant by our tour guide on the Brussels City Tour trip to Bruges. There was obviously an arrangement to give us the fastest service possible to have us out in time for the next part of the trip and I have never experienced such fast service! Our starters came as the waiter was taking the order for the next table! It's nice to see such efficiency. In most places when a coach trip lands it sends the place into chaos. These guys had it to a fine art. We had our deserts on the table before we'd eaten our main course! I don't know if service is as good without the coach trip incentive but it seemed as though it would be. The food was also really good and compared to the prices we'd experienced in Brussels was pretty good value. They have typical Belgian menu options which were great. It's been the best meal of our trip by far.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Flemish beef stew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our tour guide. The service was prompt. The beef stew and the frites were delicious. I would definitely return they to try their other Belgian specialities.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivaldi Restaurant also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Vivaldi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivaldi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.