We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Gastro

De Gastro
Braambergstraat 6, Bruges, Belgium
003250341524
Improve this listing
Ranked #244 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $15 - $37
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Took a gamble with the three course set menu at about half the price of the nearby competitors, but the food here was suprisingly good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    65
    23
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bruges Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The market menu of Cheese Croquets, Steak, Frites and Salad and Chocolate Mousse was delicious and a bargain at under 25 euros. The house red wine was equally good and reasonably priced. Good service with time to relax between courses made it a very enjoyable experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A quick lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

On first arriving in Bruges, we had a quick lunch at de Gastro. It was OK, but not particularly memorable. Of course, we were a little tired and it was raining, so that might have dampened our mood.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

At 9.30pm we were having problems finding any restaurant prepared to serve us after 10pm, but our group of four eventually entered De Gastro expecting to hear the same story. However, the owner (Lan?) greeted us warmly, found us a table and made us welcome. We had Belgian Stew and Ossobuco (both excellent) with some good Belgian beer. The atmosphere was so pleasant, we didn't leave until well after 11pm and never felt rushed. As we left, Lan gave us all a complimentary Grappa which rounded off the evening of good food and jovial conversation (in excellent English!). On leaving, I promised to give them a good review.......and her it is.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The restaurant offers an excellent set lunchtime menu choice of Southern European dishes. The house wine is excellent and the food is hot and plentiful.
The proprietor is friendly and welcoming and the ambience is excellent. It is also notable that there were several parties of local people eating there - always a recommendation.
If you are staying in Bruges or just visiting for the day, this restaurant is worth a look.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Gastro also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Gastro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Gastro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.