We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of de Verbeelding

de Verbeelding
Oude Burg 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 82 94
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Surrey, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Was recommended to come here by the hotel and glad we did.

It's run by a mother (great cook) and her son who's very friendly and runs front of house.

We went with our 19 month daughter. They were so accommodating and would make anything we wanted in any size for our daughter, even making suggestions for her!

My husband had pasta that was plentiful and tasty and I had cod with a shrimp and white asparagus sauce which was great, so fresh with lovely flavours. There seemed to be lots of locals in here, which is a good sign.

Overall I'd definitely recommend going here if you want to eat good fresh food that's value for money instead of paying for overpriced average food in the tourist trap. Will come back if we return to Bruges.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    31
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Make time for a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Restaurant run by mother and son and recommended by the hotel and Gingerbread (an excellent
tea room).
Not a huge selection of meals but good portions and value for money given its location. The service was good, food tasty and all served with a smile.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

8 of us visited this restaurant and were so impressed with the warm welcome and superb food that we returned the following evening ! Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Unassuming but tasty food in a small restaurant frequented by locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you like eating early in the evening, say between 6.00 and 7.00pm then you're best to book in advance otherwise you'll not get in.
It tends to be friends after work and families out for an early dinner.
Meals vary from Quasi Italian to more local Flanders dishes with a range of tapas style starters.
My favourite main is the Witlouf - chicory rolled in ham in a cheese sauce and scaldingly hot. Just the trick on a Winter evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Yummy every time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We just love this restaurant: it's cosy, nice atmosphere, delicious dishes, lovely salads, good service... As residents of Bruges, we come here occasionally and enjoy it every time.
We certainly recommend 'De Verbeelding'. Good choice for an evening meal, quick bite or just to have a drink. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Verbeelding also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to de Verbeelding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Verbeelding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.